We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embassy Luxury Apartments
Ranked #6 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed in apartment 70. It is huge, beautifully furnished and well equipped. It was spotlessly clean and lovely and warm and very comfortable. We were only in Reykjavik for a weekend and were so pleased we were so centrally situated. It was a walk of only a few minutes to get to a very helpful excursion company who give us advice on how to make the most of our 2 days. We did 2 excursions with them and they picked us up at the apartment and dropped us off there at the end of the day. (Maybe the owners should go and let the company know of the existence of the apartments as the guide and the driver hadn't heard of them. That didn't stop the company though and we were picked up and delivered to our door safely when we gave them the address). Most of the others on the bus were dropped off at hotels and we realised how lucky we were as so many of the hotels were on the outskirts of the town whilst we were so central and within walking distance of the main shops and sights in Reykjavic. We ate out each evening since our stay was so short and there were lots of restaurants within minutes of the apartment. The food in each one was wonderful and we thought the prices were comparable with home - a bit more expensive but not horrendously so. Also, tipping is not part of their culture at all so you just pay for what you get so that should be borne in mind when comparing with home. Tipping here can mount the costs up significantly but it is just not done in Iceland at all. We loved everything about our stay - the accommodation, the trips, the kindness and friendliness of the people, the food and the level of service we encountered. We would happily return, maybe in a different season, and we would definitely stay at the Embassy Apartments again. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junesmith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 258 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

We recently stayed at the Castle House and Embassy Luxury Apartments, Suite 70, Gardastraeti 40 in Reykjavik, with own parking.
Quite a lovely flat (sleep 6) for a travelling family in a quiet area
Perfect location to visit Reykjavik.
Close to all amenities: supermarket, restaurants, coffee shops, city centre, etc...
We throurougly enjoyed being there and would certainly recommend it to other would be travelling families.
The flat was clean and everything went like clock work.
Father of the Bride
Nottingham, England

Thank FatherOfTheBride47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the Embassy Luxury apartments for 4 nights during our two-week trip to Iceland.

Location
Great location, not even a 5-minute walk to downtown Reykjavik. And at the same time, the street where it is located was very quiet, which we were very thankful for since we stayed during the very noisy (but fun) "Culture Night".

Room/apartment
Of course, pretty small, but I guess it's normal, especially when staying downtown like that. Beds were not comfy at all though - way too soft. The mattresses were old, thin and worn out - we could feel the bottom of it when we laid or sat on the bed. Nice kitchen with sink, fridge and plates and all. Some kitchen doors were nearly hanging by a hair though... Bathroom was very very small. Free wireless internet and local phone calls were included.

Service
We never actually met the staff, but they had well explained to us beforehand how it would work (how to enter, how it would work for payment, where to reach them, etc.). We didn't feel left out and knew we would have service if we needed it.

Cleanliness
This was a bit of a concern - mostly Ok but our hearts jumped when we wanted to make coffee only to discover that the filter and coffee left by previous visitors a long long time ago was all mouldy :( So we bought our coffee every morning in a coffee shop...

Food
No breakfast was included since this is more an "apartment" type of accommodation. Which was fine since we had the kitchen and there were plenty of alternatives closeby.

Value
We would definitely recommend as the location is perfect and the place very fine. Especially since we sent the feedback to the staff and they said they would definitely update and upgrade apartment 80, the one in which we stayed. They do ask a lot for feedback and follow-up with you to make sure you had a nice stay, which is great. So yes, it's a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sauerkraut80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyReyjavik, Manager at Embassy Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Thank you for your review. Guests comments help us get better.
This apartment, #80, has now been totally upgraded. It has a new and larger bathroom with a heated floor and seperate enclosed shower. It has an all new fully equipped kitchenette with new everything, including dish washer. It has a new bed, new flat screen TV. It was the least exciting of our apartments but is now top notch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This was our second stay at the Embassy Apartments. Our apartment was spacious,clean, comfortable and very well equipt. It's location is perfect only a 10 minute walk to Whale watching, Northern Lights tours and any other tours you may want to do. Shops close by too.
When we visit Iceland again we will fit our flights around the Embassy Apartments suite vacancies just like we did this time. Really can't rate the apartments high enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I stayed in apt#90 and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. Excellent location and also on a residential street which reduces the amount of noise you hear on Saturday nights. Note that you may not be to get an early check-in if the room is in use the night before (common for a building with a small number of units like this one). They let you keep your luggage in the hallway if you come early. Cancellation policies are unfavorable and there is no reception on sight (only by phone). However, there is a tourist information office that is very helpful and only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyReyjavik, Manager at Embassy Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2010

Thanks again for the great reviews. We do everything possible for our guests, including a
free early check in if the apartment was not taken on the day before they arrive. Check out is
at noon and after cleaning the apartment is is ready for check in no later than 3 pm when it
was in use the day before your arrival. We offer great value (say our guests in these reviews) and
this is possible because there is no staff on hand except for cleaning. Check in is very fast: You
push a button on the intercom and we open the door for you. In the hallway you find an envellope
with your name containing the apartment key, and everything has been arranged in advance, including payment. So you are inside your apartment 1 minute after you arrive. Check out is even
faster - you just leave your key in the apartment and go! The other reason we offer good value is
that our rates are non refundable. No cancellations allowed. If you ar not sure you will travel on
the dates you have chosen, take out a travel insurance. Then enjoy our very popular apartments at great prices !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Enjoyed a nice stay at the Embassy Apartments in Reykjavik in Aug 2010. Excellent location, large, well appointed room and reasonably priced (by Iceland or any other European standard). Easy to book and check in and out couldn't be any easier. Just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed in Apartment 70, while traveling through Reykjavik with small children. Spacious and clean, a thoughtfully and efficiently equipped kitchen, good location, courteous and prompt service. Location easily accessible. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim_boston60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,879 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Luxury Apartments

Address: Gardastraeti 40, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $125 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Embassy Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing