We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food as art”

Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
Ranked #11 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $85
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Grand Ronde, Oregon
Level Contributor
133 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food as art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My first visit to Reykjavik years ago had me convinced Icelanders liked their food bland. This experience changed all that. This is not a cheap place, but if you want great food, cool setting, and use of local ingredients including, yes, mink whale, this is your spot. It was packed, and I understood why.
A must for anybody who likes food and has a few days in Reykjavik.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,936
    523
    151
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best food I have ever eaten ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Simply the best food I have ever eaten. We had thw taster menu. The salted cod was so utterly amazing we could have eaten it all evening long.

Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service, food and drinks + friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We started our dinner at Fishmarket with a drink in the upstairs bar while waiting for our table. The drink menu is quite interesting, with a lot of classic drinks with a (local) twist. Great cocktails! We were seated downstairs, which was also very cozy. The staff were attentive and friendly, food was delivered fast and the mains portions big, very satisfying and served beautifully. As we hadn't finished our wine as they had another company waiting for our table, they offered us a complimentary glass upstairs in the bar, which was a very nice way of moving us. All in all - great experience and it's not cheap, but worth every penny!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesmyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We ate here twice - once for lunch and once for dinner and both times we had fish and were delighted with our meals and with the service. The bread has to be the best in Iceland! Wow! It does get noisy when full but worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank getaround28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Everything was very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel's staff and by our Iceland guide. There were 4 of us, and between us, we tried several different courses. The langoustine soup was outstanding. The others were: salmon tartare, blueling, salmon and cod, all great. We also enjoyed the white chocolate cheesecake and the warm chocolate cake with caramel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenGS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing