We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant and great service...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market

Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
Ranked #10 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $85
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and great service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

While on a short visit to Iceland, I stopped in this restaurant for an evening meal. The staff was great and very welcoming..
I got their tasting menu - which was a lot of food for one person… but it was great (didn't touch the dessert though)…
The fish dishes were very fresh and good.
The restaurant did a great job to mix flavours…
I didn't find it that expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,902
    514
    147
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The most interesting is the tasting menu but allow at least two hours for that and it is not exactly cheap. The quality is first class and the service is good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carabacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a tasteful dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were given recommendations for both Fiskmarkadurinn and Fish Company to get a taste of Iceland's high end cuisine. We opted for both. We did not go for a tasting menu but picked appetizers and entrees to share and were not disappointed. Our server was extremely attentive and had lots of great recommendations. We were not disappointed with the food or the wine. This is definitely not a cheap venue but worth the splurge!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
363 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“nice rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

good service, helpful waiters,
nice selection of local food including whale meat
located in the city centre
kind of expensive

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had the tasting menu, with the wine pairing . It's was one of the best meals I ever had. Service was also excellent . They served fish, meat, sushi , soup. All delicious

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank D0rinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing