We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Practical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of the Spirits
Ranked #51 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location of this guesthouse is perfect! The kitchen area allows for a place to enjoy a quick breakfast before heading out or relaxing with a hot beverage after a long day of activities. The studio was quite large, especially comparing it to European standards. Gunnar's advice before arriving was extremely helpful. The money saved in staying here went a long way towards taking 6 tours over an 8 day vacation. We could walk all over the downtown area from here or catch buses from the nearby Metropolitan for our tours.

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow building in room #203.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved this adorable spot and plan on returning! Super cute area of Reykjavik and very comfortable and affordable studio apt! Also greatly appreciated all the help host Gunnar provided us before arriving, it made our trip easy and stress-free!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

If you take the shuttle from Keflavik to the Metropolitan hotel it's conveniently located across the street.
Great room, has everything you need.
Location is amazing, Reykjavik is a terrific walking city and you're super close to everything.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank wrldflightie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here this summer as a party of 4 adults and one young child. Gunnar and Thibeaux were extremely accommodating and communicative with us via email before our trip and we had an apartment that occupied an entire floor of the building. This worked out great for us, as well as for the varying budgets of our party (a married couple, a student, a budget traveler). One member of our party arrived early, and was moving to Europe (thus had a lot of stuff with her), and the staff were very helpful in making sure she could get in and have storage. The apartment had a spacious kitchen that came already equipped with some basic breakfast items, and we were located only a couple of blocks from a grocery store, so we were able to supplement quite easily. Making our own breakfasts (and sometimes picnic lunches) saved us a bundle! We were within walking distance of many attractions in Reykjavik and found it to be very well-situated as a base for us for our stay. Gunnar is quite a character and offers tours himself. We were quite tempted but that part, alas, did not fit into our budget. I would definitely recommend this lodging to families with children or budget travelers.

Room Tip: Email Gunnar--he sent us a pdf of the floor plan and it was very easy to pick out what would work fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyparkfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Clean, well-kept private apartment that couldn't be more convenient to all there is to see in Reykjavik. The proprietor Gunnar lives in the building next door and he and his staff are friendly, helpful and down-to-earth. They also provide breakfast items and coffee (and a fridge) which is a necessity if you're trying not to go broke on your Iceland vacation - he even took care of some of my special requests (soy milk, tea). Can't wait to go back again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank BTGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We, a family of three, stayed for one week in Iceland this summer. After a few days in Hveragerði, we stayed for five nights in House of the Spirits. This place is perfectly located in Reykjavik, in a short walking distance to almost everything.

We had the two-bedroom apartment in Ránargata with two spacious and clean bedrooms, a kitchen and a bathroom. We were warmly welcomed by Thibault. Unfortunately we never met Gunnar, but we mailed before our arrival and everything went smooth during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Very good, central location and Gunnar was very welcoming. Rooms are a little worn, but fair for the price. We had a very enjoyable stay - was useful having the kitchen for tea / dinner. Would recommend hiring a car to explore the area at your own pace.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Skolabru Guesthouse
Skolabru Guesthouse
#57 of 109 in Reykjavik
137 reviews
101 Down Town Guesthouse
#73 of 109 in Reykjavik
3 reviews
Aros Guesthouse
#18 of 109 in Reykjavik
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smaragata
#35 of 109 in Reykjavik
41 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Grimur
Hotel Grimur
#33 of 109 in Reykjavik
16 reviews
Heida's Home Center
#16 of 109 in Reykjavik
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Spirits

Address: Gardastraeti 8, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $146 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer elegant studio-apartments and bigger apartments for reasonable price in the centre of downtown Reykjavik. We also offer excursions with a private driver-guide, in a private vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your House of the Spirits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of The Spirits Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing