We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect price, location and space” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of the Spirits

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of the Spirits
Ranked #41 of 106 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect price, location and space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed with my husband in a studio at House of Spirits in the first week of July. Great location, just a couple of minutes from the old harbour and shopping streets.

The apartment was very spacious and we appreciated the well stocked fridge at breakfast time. The bed was the most comfortable I think I have ever slept in. There were a couple of items that needed work (one of the light fittings was broken) but our host Gunnar apologised and said that it would be fixed soon, as it was the height of summer the last thing we needed was light anyway! Other than that the apartment was spotless and modern.

Gunnar and the other member of staff, Thibault (sp?) were very welcoming and helpful. I hope that when we return to Iceland we will return.

All in all a great place to stay for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    42
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
85
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom with shared bathroom apartment. The apartment was newly renovated (still had a few more items pending), but was clean and well-appointed with more than we needed. A full kitchen, living room, and small balcony made it feel like our Icelandic home away from home. The location is perfectly situated a couple blocks from the main downtown drag of Laugavegur. The only drawback was the post-bar singing and shouting in the streets by locals stumbling home after a night of drinking; but can you really escape that in downtown Reykjavik?

Overall, I'd recommend House of Spirits in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Garðastræti 8 is the address of our 2-bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls City, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the "Extra Luxurious Studio Apartment" for our honeymoon and we loved it! This particular room is located in a different building than the main guest house, but is only half a block down the street. It was very private and any tenants of the building we passed were very nice and friendly. You could see the water, the Church of Iceland (Hallgrímskirkja), The Pearl, and a very large part of the city. We spent a lot of our time just looking out and taking in the view. There is also a washer and dryer in the bathroom which is very nice if you're packing light. When we come back to Iceland we plan to stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My boyfriend bought me flights to Reykjavik for Christmas, and although I was really excited for us to go, I'd heard such horror stories regarding the cost of, well, everything, that I was concerned that we wouldn't be able to afford to stay somewhere nice, and be able to do all the trips and activities that we wanted to do.

After weeks of searching around for deals in hotels, we were almost at our wits end when we came across Gunnar's place. We emailed him directly to enquire about availability, and received a helpful, friendly email back straight away.

The price (especially for Iceland!) was spot on, and the location could not have been better. Within just a couple of minutes walk you can be at the harbour (Seabaron, Icelandic Fish and Chips and Burger place all highly recommended by us!) and a couple of minutes more will take you to the main street with all the bars, shops and restaurants etc.

Because of the handy location, popping back to the apartment to get changed, get something to eat, or to have a rest was totally feasible- something which you don't always get with a hotel.

We stayed in the first floor studio apartment, which although small, was clean, and well appointed. We didn't really cook there, but it would have been possible to really save money by preparing your meals there. In any case, it was nice to be able to make a hot drink in the morning, and Gunnar provided basic breakfast materials too. My only tiny complaint about the room was that the blinds were quite thin, which in the time of the midnight sun meant that the sunlight just streamed through. I took an eyemask, so it wasn't such an issue, but if I hadn't I probably wouldn't have slept so well!

The main thing was the location, as we were so busy with trips to the blue lagoon, whale watching, golden circle tour and generally exploring this cool city that we didn't spend too much time in the apartment itself, so it didn't matter that it was small.

Big thanks to Gunnar for being a very welcoming, friendly but not an overbearing host!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We came with a group of six, rented 3 apartments in the house and were delighted! The house is centrally located and a bit old, but with character. The apartments are recently renovated, clean and purist in IKEA style. The website is extremly informative (almost no question left unanswered) and the host Gunnar answered all our emails on the same day. We arrived at 2 am in the night, but Gunnar was still welcoming us in person! We left at 10 in the evening, but were allowed to stay in the apartment until our departure for free. The fridge was filled with all breakfast basics (also for free). Excellent value for money and great staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friends and I just got back from an amazing trip in Iceland. The trip was amazing partly because we picked the House of the Spirits.

The guesthouses were located within 5 minute walk to many of the key sites in Reykjavik. Gunnar provided very detailed directions to the house and so it was very easy to find upon arrival. Despite the central location, parking space was quite adequate.

We originally got a small apartment for the four of us. However, when Gunnar saw us with our luggages, he decided to let us stay in the larger apartment without extra cost. The apartment was clean, quiet, and well equipped. The kitchen was very helpful. As some other reviewers have noted, food could be quite expensive in Iceland. Gunnar even left milk, orange juice, cereal, coffee, and tea in there for us. But if you prefer dining out, there were quite a few great places for food around the guesthouse. Gunnar would also provide detailed recommendations on where to find what in Reykjavik.

The House of the Spirits was actually two different houses linked by a common courtyard. Perhaps because of the number of rooms, Gunnar seemed to be constantly renovating the place (not that we heard any noise at all). As a result, it was not hard to find him when we needed him. We were free to use the laundry facilities in either of the houses. That was a great help, as we were in the middle of a long journey.

Most importantly, we were in Reykjavik in the beginning and the end of our stay in Iceland, and Gunnar was generous enough to let us keep our luggage in the guesthouse so that we did not have to drive everything across the country and back. In addition, he provided us with detailed recommendations on what to see along the way of our road trip. Those turned out to be some of the most special places that even our reliable travel guides left out!

In sum, the House of the Spirits was a great base when traveling in Iceland because it was more than just a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

my then fiance and i stayed in Iceland from December 12th to january 4th of this year, this was our second visit to the country and our second stay with Gunnar and also our wedding

he is amazing and he was our witness at our very traditional Viking Wedding, he took care of everything before we came to iceland and once we arrived we only had very minimal things to do

we are going again this Christmas and i will always stay at the House of Spirits, Gunnar is more than a host he becomes your friend and we will consider him our life long friend

the place is always clean and the location is incredible and he is amazing

do yourself a favor and stay with Gunnar, you will never find better

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icequeen_lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#4 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
#11 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Centric Guesthouse
#39 of 106 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flying Viking Guesthouse
#21 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Miõborg
Brattagata Guesthouse
Brattagata Guesthouse
#23 of 98 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Reykjavik Light Apartments
#76 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Spirits

Property: House of the Spirits
Address: Gardastraeti 8, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer elegant studio-apartments and bigger apartments for reasonable price in the centre of downtown Reykjavik. We also offer excursions with a private driver-guide, in a private vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your House of the Spirits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of The Spirits Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing