We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay in Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of the Spirits
Ranked #49 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2012

nice guesthouse in the centre of Reykjavik with a friendly and helpful host.
A part of the building has been renovated, one of the badrooms is quite old and basic, but there is a fantastic rain shower

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annika1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

we stayed the first and last night of our trip and is was a good beginning and end :-)
We arrived in the night and that was not a problem for them.
The location is superb and very close to the city centre. Price/quality a good choice.
bakkery/supermarket is found at the first square to the centre if you don't choice the breakfast.
Some rooms are being renovated, it didn't disturbed us. We stayed 1 night in a very lovely studio and the other night, it was I guess the older version(witch was also very ok, but still the new one was nicer :-) )

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

when we (my 2 friends) and me arrived in Iceland we spent the first 4 nights at the House of Spirits. We totally enjoyed our stay!
Our room was supercute, very clean and provided with cereals, milk, coffee, tea...

Gunnar is a lovely host and because we liked his guesthouse so much and we felt so "home" we came back at the end of our roundtrip in Iceland to spend 2 more nights there.

If we are ever coming back to Reykjavik, we will definitely stay at Gunnar's guesthouse again!
WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Although another member of our group made the reservation for our post-hiking stay in Reykjavik and can rave about Gunnar and his helpful service, I can rave about the lovely, light-filled top-floor apt. Close to the harbor and central Reykjavik, clean, comfortable and a balcony!

Room Tip: Ask for the top-floor studio at No. 17 Gardastraeti (down the street from blue and yellow houses).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNTwinsFan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It's not easy to get good value for your accommodation spend in Reykjavik. But House of the Spirits can do it for you. A top location, between the centre and the Old Harbour, but out of earshot of the revellers taking advantage of Reykjavik's endless summer nights (although it is under the flight path of Reykjavik's domestic airport), House of the Spirits offers comfort and a friendly welcome. In fact, Gunnar and Florent make you feel more like a guest in a cheerful home than a paying customer. The rooms are basic and well equipped, wireless internet is available, and you are less than a minute's walk from great coffee, bars and restaurants, a small supermarket, a bakery, an autobank, the tourist information centre, and the best design and gift shop in town (Kraum). House of the Spirits does not strive for high style, thereby avoiding the Ikea sameness of a lot of Iceland's guest accommodation. You will find basic provisions in the fridge and on the shelves, and they may well be fresh leftovers from recently departed guests. If you are happy with the slightly unconventional, and can put up with the occasional small plane flying over, you will be comfortable with House of the Spirits.

Room Tip: Renovations are in progress to create extra rooms upstairs (July 2012) but ask for the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmareeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Other reviews here have made reference to Gunnar, the owner of the House of Spirits being a fabulous host and they were not exaggerating. We visited Reykjavik from 20 to 22 July for a wedding and Gunnar greeted us around 18:30 on the day of our arrival and for the two nights we were there, we kept on bumping into each other and he was always very friendly and helpful, answering our questions and being a great host.

The House of Spirits in located extremely central to the city where everything happens - restaurants, bars, shopping etc. It is roughly a 2 minute walk down the hill to the nearest supermarket, which sells all your daily needs, such as bread, milk, eggs etc. However, our studio apartment on the ground floor of the yellow building was fully equipped when we arrived. The fridge contained fresh milk, cheese spreads and the kitchenette had muesli, coffee and teas which we were told to help ourselves to.

We needed an iron and a hairdryer, which Gunnar happily provided free of charge for our use. He even gave us an ironing board!

The room itself was adequate, with fresh towels, a flat screen tv and black out blinds (essential especially for July where there is 24 hour daylight!!). The price of our stay was fantastic and Gunnar even offered to drive us to the Flybus bus terminus when we left for the airport. Flybus requires you to call them to book a seat on their coach one hour before you need them and they will come and pick you up. Gunnar was not able to get hold of anyone as their phone was constantly engaged. He then drove us there, making sure we were not late to get to the airport. This is beyond his call of duty - what great service.

Gunnar and his assistant, Florent were both super great. We would definitely stay there again if we visit Iceland.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor by the front door was in a great location. We did not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MummyDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A bit of a mixed picture here. Location is perfect, only minutes to walk to city center, and very little street noise for that. Gunnar (the host) is very nice and helpful, especially accommodating our 2 am arrival. On the negative side are the extremely small ensuite bathroom, the very narrow separate beds, and especially the noise from other guests (there were 2 more rooms next to ours with a kitchen, bathroom and hallway shared among them). It just seems to target fairly young, budget-oriented people (nothing wrong with that), and reminded us a bit of student housing. Also the fact that the room wasn't cleaned (at least beds made or new towels offered) during our 3 night stay was a little disappointing, but then again, it's not supposed to be a B&B I guess. So, I'd still recommend it in general, but maybe not if you're looking for something a little more upscale or if you usually stay in B&Bs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,236 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
Miõborg
Skolabru Guesthouse
Skolabru Guesthouse
#57 of 109 in Reykjavik
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Grimur
Hotel Grimur
#38 of 109 in Reykjavik
12 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Studios
Alfred's Studios
#33 of 110 in Reykjavik
47 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#12 of 109 in Reykjavik
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Spirits

Address: Gardastraeti 8, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $141 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer elegant studio-apartments and bigger apartments for reasonable price in the centre of downtown Reykjavik. We also offer excursions with a private driver-guide, in a private vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your House of the Spirits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of The Spirits Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing