We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place.. But generally ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Egilsborg Guesthouse
Ranked #96 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I generally felt like being just walking wallet full of Euros in the eyes of people in Reykjavik and this guesthouse was not an exception, even though it was one of the cheapest places to stay in this city. It is better to stay at camps, it is much more cheaper and they even provide more facilities.

This guesthouse was run by one guy only, he was supposed to be there all day, as a receptionist, as a cleaner and he was quite tired, pissed of about his work and fed up with travellers. As I read in reviews before, he is not there all the time, he is running away to take care of his other business and dont care about the arriving travellers. We have substituting him couple times too, advicing to the newcoming what to do.. Our friends were supposed to arrive around midnight, we told the guy in advance at our reseravtion and then personally too, but he did not care, he just went to sleep and turned the bell of.

And, of course, they won´t give you anything extra for free - you pay for the breakfast, even for a tea, you cannot use the kitchen, even thou there is one. The only thinng you can use is microwave.

I am giving this place 4* anyway, because we got what we wanted, the rooms and bathrooms were simple, but more or less clean. And the guy - he was very strange, but we became kind of friends, thanks to our efforts, and he was interesting to watch. NICE THING - he gave us a present at the end (the barbecue kit someone left there) and we could have left ou baggage there for the whole day after check-out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Egilsborg Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We turned up at 4pm to find a note saying that they are out, to pay in the morning and then room names/keys left on the side. There was no one there all evening so we couldn't access things like the free wifi!! In fact we ended up being the receptionists for a bit as people came in. The hostel is in an ok location in terms of the fact it is a shortish walk to the main street but the building is down a dodgy, dingy street, which was disappointing as the advertise them selves as "family friendly".

Our room was large but there was a big dent in the door (??kicked in??) and the room was below ground level. Whilst we had windows it meant that every car's headlights shone directly into the room when they drove past and until about 2am there were people talking in the street - bring ear plugs if you have to stay here. When we turned up there was a note on the kitchen door saying that you could only use the microwave!

When it came to paying the next morning they never asked if we had a nice stay, and they did not apologise for not being there to check us in. Plus we had to pay by card (which I am sure many people need to) and they charged us a 5% service charge!!!! If you factor in the fact you don't get breakfast included it really wasn't good value. We paid about £85 for our one night but we have paid about £100 for places that were modern, clean, well staffed and with breakfast - so all in all very bad value. This was the worst place I stayed in my 16 days in Iceland (including the mountain huts when I went trekking for 6 days!!!). There is so much better out there

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eacheney2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

There's not much to like about that place except the walking distance to the city centre and the parking facilities right in front of the door. This guesthouse is run-down, dirty, noisy and without a soul. Toilets and showers stink and are full of DNA left by other guests. Like in most places in Iceland, walls are thin and the staircase is creaky, we definitely recommend earplugs to get a good night's sleep. We were not sure whether our bed linens and towels had seen a washing machine before they were put in our room. Although this might be a budget option in Reykjavik, think about it twice before you book.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kornhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very helpful and nice staff, a very good breakfast (it's only 1900 isk, or so...and it's as much as you can eat, therefore totally worth it), clean shared bathroom, and very affordable prices.

Unfortunately, our room was small and just in front of the ground floor stairway, and we could clearly hear people walking on the stairs or talking in the nearby room, so we must say that our room was not very soundproof. However the Guesthouse is placed in a very quiet street, and we slept quite well.

We booked through booking.com, and everything was as described on the website.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLissAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our first hotel on our week long holiday to Iceland and it was perfectly adequate. We checked in mid-afternoon and there were no staff there to greet us. Instead a welcome note with a list of rooms and guests, so we found our keys and put our bags in the room. Later we saw a friendly member of staff who advised us on the optional breakfast and making payment for our stay. The hotel is only a short walk to the main street and in a quiet enough location. The only downside to our stay was the room was quite small compared to the one we had at Pavi and the curtains were thin and didn't really darken the room from Iceland's eternal summer sun. The shared bathroom was clean though and facilities generally were adequate. We would consider staying again if we came back to the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilcharlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hostel was great! We booked through hostelworld, and on our way there saw some of these reviews on TripAdvisor and got worried, but with no reason. We were in a private room that was spacey enough, clean and very quiet although it was close to shower (we heard nothing). The entire place is quiet, private, but we had no problem finding it, it's clean and has good atmosphere and super-nice, friendly and relaxed staff.

The staff is something I would especially praise.

For those who are also worried by other comments:
- price - Iceland is incredibly expensive and this was great value for money. Yes, you have to pay 500 ISK residence fee (but you have to do that everywhere), and breakfast is not included, although it is cheap in comparison to prices in Iceland
- sulphur water - cold water is abundant in Iceland and very good for drinking, but hot water goes to Reykjavik by special piping system directly from a thermal power plant and it all has that kind of smell
- too many people and mess they make and so on - comm'n! if you are in a room for more than 4 persons (because you want to save money) this is what you can expect in your room. Book a private room! I was in hostels in London (20 people per room) and Lisbon that were more crowded by several degrees of magnitude.

Room Tip: book a private room, we were 1st floor and couldn't be more happier
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My friend and I were looking for affordable lodging whilst in Iceland and the Vikingur was the perfect place! Upon arrival, (which was 2AM) Max was extremely helpful in telling us how to get here and where the room was located. Throughout our stay, the bathrooms were consistently cleaned and hand towels were replenished. Max and Magnus were helpful and suggestive as to which attraction to check out and which to avoid. Being in our 20s we did party hard some nights and may have woken the couple up once or twice but they were kind about it. Needless to say, I will recommend this guesthouse in the future, as well as be staying there again in the near future!
Thanks again Max and Magnus!
- Cameron and Peter, Canada

Room Tip: Double room is perfect when you're traveling with a friend.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cameronggrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#47 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,091 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#31 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,611 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 54 in Reykjavik
657 reviews
I Sleep Reykjavik Guesthouse
#64 of 108 in Reykjavik
24 reviews
Laugardalur
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#38 of 108 in Reykjavik
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egilsborg Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egilsborg Guesthouse

Address: Thverholt 20, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Vikingur Egilsborg Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $113 - $852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Egilsborg Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Egilsborg Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing