We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The best-kept secret in Reykjavik"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Egilsborg Guesthouse
Ranked #96 of 110 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"The best-kept secret in Reykjavik"”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed 8 days at this guesthouse and was very, very pleased. As a solo traveler it is important to feel welcome and "at home" and the owner Maggi did just that. He was extremely warm and helpful and gave me many good tips on things to do. He also rents cars at excellent rates right there from the guesthouse which is very convenient. I had a wonderful time at this guesthouse and recommend it unequivocally.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieChiariello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    11
    16
    31
See reviews for
8
32
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Within an easy 5 minutes walk from the main strip and 15 minutes to the BSI bus terminal you're in an ideal location for all amenities without the noise from the clubs and bars reveberating outside.

Outside the street was quiet and various computer firms were based here with a (virtually empty) car park on an unassuming street.

When we got to the guesthouse it looked like an ordinary b & b or hostel, nothing fancy.

We were greated by one of the staff (on crutches no less!) who was always attentive and asking us how our day was and helpful to us and other guests.

Rooms were basic, smelt a little musky and the windows were dated but the beds comfortable and the shower and toilet were simple but kept clean. The walls were a bit thin and was woken by our Danish? neighbours voices in the morning so I would bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

Breakfast was simple, toast, various types of crackers and spreads and ham and tomatoes and cereal but it was good. And these were refilled constantly by the young lady (I think the sister of the guy with crutches).

My gripes would be it would have been nice to have a computer (I think it has wireless internet) but I didn't bring my laptop. And maybe the windows need to let in more air (I couldn't open it to it's fullest).

Aside from these minor issues I had a great time here and would recommend it to backpackers. If you want parties then best to stay nearer the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Cheap guesthouse, breakfast buffet, car rental possible. Very recommendable for young tourists.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank Rahvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Egilsborg is a guesthouse at a very good location in Reykjavik - not far from the center, but in a very quiet street. However, if you happen to get a room on the ground floor, next to the washing room, it can be quite noisy. The owners of the guesthouse seem to wash their stuff at night, and they don't get up when the condense dryer is beeping / warning that the programme has finished. I had to get up to turn it off myself. The room and bathroom were clean, but the bed, pillow and sheets had a strange smell... Also, in our room there weren't any dark curtains (just a very light white-coloured voile curtain). When I mentioned to the owner that it was hard to sleep because of the light (well, I had an eye-mask with me, but my friend didn't!) she arrogantly told me that 'I had to close my eyes if I wanted to sleep, then it'd be dark'. Apart from that remark, the owners were OK. I guess we were unlucky to have the noisy room with no curtain. If you ever decide to stay there (I would not recommend though) ask for a room on the first floor, those rooms seem to look a lot nicer! (and hopefully less noisy)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I read the other English-language review of Egilsborg Guesthouse and disagree completely. First, potential guests should know that this is a fancy hostel, not a hotel.
Rooms are adequately sized, but not luxurious. Bathrooms are shared.
But, consider this: you are walking distance from downtown Reykjavik, the prices here are very reasonable, you get a decent breakfast and the owner is very cheerful, helpful and eager to please. We stayed here for two nights. We are a family of four and took two rooms. Our rooms were very clean, the bathrooms and showers were also clean, with excellent hot water pressure and we had flawless wireless internet throughout our stay. The bustle of downtown Reykjavik is only a five minute walk, but the street Egilsborg is on is quiet. This is a real plus when you consider how much drinking goes on in this exciting city at night!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famdoc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I dislike almost everything. The owners wasn`t very friendly. The rooms are very small and ugly. The pictures in the internet look very fine but its not the reality. Also the owners are boastful, as i told them that the window is broken and rain is falling on my bed they just laughed and said that they think about to repair it in 7 months.
I was there for 3 months so that this was not funny and they didnt change it so that everyday i take towels to make it tight.
Conclusion:
if its possible dont go there

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank wester1533535266176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,568 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
912 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 52 in Reykjavik
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
504 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
996 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egilsborg Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egilsborg Guesthouse

Property: Egilsborg Guesthouse
Address: Thverholt 20, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Vikingur Egilsborg Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Egilsborg Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Egilsborg Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing