We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aurora Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$213
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$162
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
101 hotel(Reykjavik)
$424
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Klettur(Reykjavik)
$183
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$221
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$328
$295
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
66
144
80
31
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
144
80
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroombreadgreat locationthe busfamous churchsmall wardrobeguest housemain churchbudget accommodationbreakfast was includedhamseparate bedsminute walkpizza placecity centrebreakfast selectionnice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 332 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. This guesthouse is just a 5 minutes walk away from central Reykjavik boulevard and the church. The room was clean and the breakfast okay. The free WIFI network was reasonable fast and always working. The stuff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRY2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The guesthouse is located in the city center, close to the church and animated streets : perfect. But we have got 3 rooms, in fact cellars transformed into so called appartments !
low ceilings, small windows, and almost no way to get fresh air. Windows located at the level of the road, bringing much noise. No phonic isolation with upper flows ; this is what you can test when your neighbours come back at 2am. Sourroundings are not clean and bathrooms are far to be according to the islandic standard in term of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigurdur H, Owner at Aurora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Hello Fabien

I am so sorry that you didn’t like your stay in my house , you should have talked to me to tell me this.
If you come back to Iceland I would like to offer you free stay in my house and I hope that would change your opinion.

I have 1 problem regarding you review, that is the picture that you took in to closed and locked storages’ room and you call laundry room.(All laundry for the Guesthouses is washed and stored in Aurora)
That picture has nothing to do with guest staying in my house or your review, so I want to ask you to delete that picture.

Thanks in advance and hope to see you some day.

Best regards
Siggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in two different rooms, at the beginning (Andrea Building) and at the end (Aurora Building) of our road trip in Iceland. Both times the pros and the cons were the same. Starting from the positives, the guesthouse is located in the centre of Reykjavik, in a walking distance from the BSI Station and the main sights of the town. The room was clean and the breakfast was more than satisfying (although the space was small for such a big guesthouse). The owner was very friendly and helpful and despite our late (at 02:00 A.M.) arrival in the first time, everything was organized correctly.
The main disadvantages are two: the noise and the bathroom. Due to the difficult locks and the lack of sound insulation, a late arrival can wake up all the building. The steps are narrow and this makes it even harder. On the bathroom issue, during our first stay, the wash-basin was located in the same space with the shower so you definitely didn’t want to have a shower barefooted. Finally, there is only one shower/wc room in each floor which has 6-7 rooms, so in the worst situation 14 people will need the bathroom simultaneously and the queue will be long, especially in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Great location a few minutes from City Centre and just around the corner from Hallgrímskirkja - you can't get lost. Basic but value for money. Clean, good beds, many of the rooms have wash basins. The owner was very helpful, first by letting me in early (it wasn't high season yet) and later by making phone calls to sort out a booking problem with a tour company. Although this guest house is not on the list served by the Flybus, you can take a ticket to and from guesthouse Sunna, which is just 50 meters away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wasdaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Let's forget the (short) queue for bathroom, and the small breakfast area... this is a very lovely place, very clean, and offering warm, oven cooked bread for breakfast. The owner is very nice too, and it's 5 mins walk from the main street. I will go back there !

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank FredDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews