We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - would recommend”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tower and Perlan Guesthouse
Ranked #81 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This apartment looks like it would be very basic from the street and the outside of the building but it is excellent on the inside. Very clean comfortable and modern apartment with comfortable beds. The bathroom was a good size with a washing machine/dryer which was a bonus when travelling! Has small kitchen/dining area. There is a little timber deck off the apartment. The apartment is in a very handy position within very short walking distance to the main street of Reyjkavik. Felt very safe walking in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCATT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

We loved our stay in the Tower Guesthouse. We got an apartment - it didn't look much from the outside but it was great in terms of the design and home appliances (coffee maker, washing mashine, microwave, TV, etc.). It had Wi-Fi, comforable beds and was cleaned everyday. Maria, the host, was very hospitable and had the cutes dogs - Icelandic sheep dogs - but don't worry, she didn't impose the pets on the guests! The location is great - right in the city center but still very quiet. We'll definitedy return there!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaHaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Best location in town. Guesthouse is located on a residential street just one block south of Laugavegur (the main drag). This is close enough for easy access to the action, but far enough away for peace and quiet. Rate was reasonable (though not cheap) for summertime in Reykjavik.

There isn't any staff to speak of - just the manager (her daughter also helps out). She wasn't always on the premises, of course, but was always available by phone when she was out. She was friendly and helpful and took good care of our room (and even got my rental car back for free after it was towed!).

The rooms are more like apartments than hotel rooms - ours included a fully equipped kitchenette and a washer-dryer. The guesthouse looks slightly beat-up on the outside but the rooms are fine.

Beds were comfortable, furnishings were basic but nice (think IKEA), wireless internet access worked fine, everything was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This is the only place I'd stay in Reykjavik. Great location. Reasonable pricing. Very nice accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mereditherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed a week in apartment C (201), and this was just not long enough! The apartment was quiet, spacious and well-designed with classy furnishings, and an excellent cleaning service, provided by owner, Maria.
I cannot recommend these apartments highly enough. The price was reasonable for Reykjavik, and a much better option than a hotel, in my opinion. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

What a fabulous little place.

We were put here for one night after our booking at a popular apartment complex went wrong due to burst water pipe - I was devastated to leave - it was far better than what we had booked elsewhere.

I was initially put off by the fact we had to share a bathroom with other guests, but what a bathroom! Massive corner spa bath, low lighing, underfloor heating all very trendy. The bedroom had 2 double beds and a wardrobe - no views though, and the kitchen was well equipped.

I think my overriding thought was how clean it was - I mean spotless. It was good sharing the kitchen with others, we managed to get some tips on where to go and what to do which saved us some time. There was also a lounge area with comfy seats, cd player and TV - not that you would stay in all that much but still, its there to use.

It was 2 mins walk to the big church and to the main shopping/ bar area and I would highly recommend this place to other visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Chippyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2005

I stayed two nights recently at The Tower Guest house run by a very accomidating woman named Edda.

The suite was very clean and well appointed. It felt like home and we were even able to entertain guests that stopped by one evening. It was less expensive than the hotels and located in the center of the city. Edda even picked us up from the airport which cost only slightly more than taking the bus into town without all the hassles.

I would highly reccommend staying here and will do so on my next visit!

It should be noted that there are differing types of suites. Ours was a three bedroon suite and there was another person staying in the other bedroom. This didn't cause us any trouble and was not an inconvience but I know that some might not like that situation. All bedrooms lock so security is not an issue.

9  Thank grandpadeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
41 - A Townhouse Hotel
41 - A Townhouse Hotel
#32 of 54 in Reykjavik
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower and Perlan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower and Perlan Guesthouse

Address: Grettisgata 22c, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $81 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing