We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai in Reykjavik”
Review of Krua Thai

Krua Thai
Ranked #131 of 483 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai in Reykjavik”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Like some of the other reviewers, our family decided to try this restaurant because we wanted some Asian food after a few days in Iceland. Krua Thai did not disappoint. We had the basics like fried rice, pad thai, beef salad, and green chicken curry. Each dish tasted as it would in other Thai restaurants in Asia. Prices were extremely good value for Reykjavik. Highly recommend this place for anyone craving Thai food in Reykjavik.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmomABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    122
    52
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Aroi dee”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Even if Iceland food is excellent in particular seafood and lamb I need sometimes some Thai food. Heavily spoiled by trips to Thailand and Malaysia I can inform all readers here that this restaurant can compete with places in Asia without hesitation. Dish , enough for a regular consumer, starts approx with 11 Euros. Free water. The interior is more like a cantina but not fine dining. Anyhow went there 3 times during my brief stay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Thai”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We love Thai. I would say it was very good, not amazing. The service was very fast and the food was hot and fresh. We went on a Monday night and the place was packed. Decent prices and we did not leave hungry. Would recommend if you are looking for something other than seafood!

Helpful?
Thank kmenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Portions”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place is modestly priced compared to many other restaurants. The prices range from 1500-2500 ISK for most meals. I got the Chicken in Cashew Sauce and really enjoyed it. My boyfriend got red curry and thought it was pretty good as well. I felt like I got a lot of food for what I paid! Definitely would come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 613melissai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food at very good value”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Reykjavik is expensive, we loved our Thai food at Krua Thai, and the value- prices were reasonable and portions generous.. 3 dishes easily served 4 adults. It is small and busy, so get there early. You order at the counter, and they bring food to table. So if you are looking for fine dining...this won't be a fit, but if you are goood with casual & comfortable setting near water, great food, cute place, you will like This restaurant. They also have a place in Akureyri .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thai also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Krua Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing