We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - good location”
Review of Krua Thai

Krua Thai
Ranked #138 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food - good location”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Krua thai has been one of my favorit Asian places for years. I go there for lunch and take away when im lazy after work.

The food is very good and if you dont mind the surroundings (its old and has not been renovated for years) and the deep-frying smell that sticks to your clothes (its just like i did the cooking on any Asian take away i go to) you are in for a treat.

The food is very very simple, tasty and the portions are good. For example i always buy two main courses event thou we are three and its enough.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HrefnaT783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    114
    47
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Near the Harbour, Krua Thai looks quite basic but the food is not. Very high quality food served in large portions, you will only need one dish per person as they nearly all come with rice. Although not obvious when you go in, you have to collect the menu, order and pay at the counter. The friendly staff will serve to your table. This is a great value restaurant with very efficient service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good budget place.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a nice place to get a quick meal. They had a large selection , quick service and plenty of seating. The chicken could have been better but it was still enjoyable especially if you are tired of Icelandic food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DenverAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Krua Thai is near the harbour area of Reykjavik. Although it doesn't look much, it is worth a visit. This is a self service restaurant, order at the counter and the food will be served to your table. The menu was extensive and it really was hard to choose. We finally decided on a chicken dish with chilli sauce and a battered fish dish with a hot curry sauce. The flavours of both dishes were authentic. The prices were more than reasonable too; two main meals and one beer was only £20. The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the meal were brought out of this kitchen around 5 minutes apart. Obviously food cooks at different rates but I would have expected the kitchen to hold both dishes back until they can be taken out together.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasgow1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
1 review
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very nice and friendly restaurant.The food is great and quick service. I recommend the chicken noodles.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thai also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Krua Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing