We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great cruise on a sunny morning”

Special Tours - Puffin Express
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.85*
and up
Puffin Express Cruise to Akurey from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Puffin Watching tours with Special Tours, Puffin Express, have been popular for over a decade! Special Tours is a pioneer in Puffin Watching in Iceland. Our expertise, 15 years of experience, and our especially designed boat, Skúlaskeið or “Old Skuli”, make us the leading expert in the area. The Puffin Express adventure starts at the Old Harbour of Reykjavík and they only take one hour. It is an inexpensive and charming option for everyone.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brisbane
Level Contributor
796 reviews
512 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“A great cruise on a sunny morning”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As Puffins are virtually the national bird of Iceland, we thought that we should see more of them than we had seen in northern Iceland. The cruise out of Reykjavik harbour (late morning)lasted for about an hour and circled a small island where they were known to nest. There were many puffins in and around the cliffs and the water and we were able to get lots of good photographs.
This particular cruise in the small boat was full and therefore a bit difficult to move around the boat. A different time slot earlier would have been better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for your review and for joining our Puffin Watching tour from Reykjavik Harbour!

The Puffins sure are cute - and the great thing is that you can see them just 15 minute boat ride from Reykjaviks Old Harbour, so the 1 hour is well worth it - and as you said its a great photographic opportunity:)

We have 4 departures per day so there should be plenty of space for everyone.

Hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and that you will get a chance to visit again.

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    55
    19
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No Puffery Needed”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Fun little tour of fun of fun little bird!! Tour guide Ewan knew and the birds. Great talk, fact filled with some heart. A winner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alverstone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We thank you for joining our Puffin Express Tour from Reykjavik and many thanks for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed the tour as well as our guide Ewan:) - We always try and put our heart into what we do, and working out on sea around the beautiful wildlife makes it easy to be extra passionate about what we do:)

We hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and that you will be back to visit us again!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent tour!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We saw numerous puffins on this trip (July 20). It is true you don't get right up next to them, but they are a wild animal! But you can see their bright faces and feet as they fly away (or tumble back into the see as they fail to gain altitude!). we also got to see a seal from a distance. This was a great one hour tour that you can easily fit into your day in the city. We also took advtange of a 10% discount coupon found in the magazine aboard Iceland Air.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manta_Ray_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We thank you for joining our Puffin Express Tour from Reykjavik and thanks for the review!

Great think about the wildlife, never know what will happen on the way - and seems that the seals are paying us a visit this summer:P The distance from the island does depend a bit on the weather, tide and such, but we have one of the best tours for getting extra close due to the shallow drought of the boat. We however have to respect the wildlife and the birds so we take caution when around the island as well:)

The puffins are so cute, especially when they are trying to fly - they can be a bit clumsy:P

We sure hope you had a fantastic time in Iceland and that we will get to see you again someday!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“puffins plus a bonus seal”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

You spend about an hour on a boat that cruises to an island puffins tend to frequent. Be aware that you don't get a chance to see the birds very close up, since the boat just pulls up near the island, but you'll get an OK view. On our tour, we were fortunate to spot a seal eating a catfish, which was actually far more exciting than the puffins. All in all, it's a pleasant hour spent on boat relaxing, which is a nice break in the summer if you've spent your other days hiking and kayaking. If you're lucky enough to get a sunny(ish) day, I'd recommend this tour as an after-lunch digestif of sorts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for joining our Puffin Express Tour from Reykjavik!

We are glad that you got to enjoy the tour and that you even got to see the seal on the way - that is whats so great about the wildlife tours, you never know exactly what will happen along the way:) The distance from the island does depend a bit on the weather, tide and such, but we have one of the best tours for getting extra close due to the shallow drought of the boat. We however have to respect the wildlife and the birds so we take caution when around the island as well:)

We sure hope you had a fantastic time in Iceland and that we will get to see you again someday!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Puffin Express Tour - Perfect Little Trip”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Puffins are fascinating and fun little birds, but like all animals, you can't really get too close without them swimming, running, or flying off. Therefore, to spend any more than an hour on a boat watching them from afar could become quite tiresome. I thought this trip was perfect...the guide was knowledgeable and funny, the boat was clean and well-maintained, and we admittedly also got very lucky with weather which undoubtedly helped our experience. This place is also a very short and easy walk from all downtown Reykjavik hotels so I think this was a great way to spend an hour or so on our last day in Iceland!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We thank you for your review and for joining our Puffin Express Tour from Reykjavik!

We are glad that you got to enjoy the Puffin Cruise and like you said its a great way to spend an hour just minutes away from Reykjavik centre - perfect for the last day or for a early start to a busy day, as we start as early as 08:30 in the mornings:) The island is so close, that we wouldnt need much more time for the puffin tour, 1 hour is the perfect amount we think:)

Hope you had a great time in Iceland and that we will see you again in the future!:)

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Special Tours - Puffin Express also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Special Tours - Puffin Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing