We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
146
75
26
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
75
26
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small boat puffin tour zoom lens small birds boat captain bring binoculars puffin season provided binoculars express tour their natural habitat great tour informative tour guide fun trip sea birds reykjavik harbor ticket office hour trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Guide was very knowledgeable ad tour on the small boat was very informative and maneuvered into spots making it easy to observe the birds and others that steal their food from them. Very entertaining and informative trip. We would recommend it to those looking for a way to see something important in a couple of hours time.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mark,

Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your Puffin Express tour with us earlier this year, and will pass the compliments along to the captain and guide. The puffins have now left Iceland for the winter and are living out on the open ocean until they return to land next year for the summer breeding season.

Thank you for sailing with us, and have a great day!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

I was very impressed with the knowledge of the guide, her sense of humor, and her obviously genuine love of the sea, the creatures that live in it and on it, and our responsibility to look after it all. The fact we saw whales so close to the harbor was a great surprise, and the puffins, as always, were impossibly cute and entertaining. I learned lots I hadn’t known previously about these birds, and the sunshine just was the perfect finishing touch. I had forgotten to call to confirm until pretty late at night, but my call was taken by a super-friendly helpful member of staff. Nothing was a problem. Absolutely wonderful afternoon!

Thank montybean8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Hello, and thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us to see the whales & puffins and will pass the compliments along to your guide. The puffins are only in Iceland for a few months for their breeding season, and we are always so happy when we get to sail out to see them.

We are running our Instagram competition so if you were able to get any good or fun photos from your tour just use the tag #AhoyReykjavik to enter. We pick one winner each month and that person gets their ticket refunded.

Thank you for choosing Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Easy to get too and Puffins are funny to watch. Difficult to get close up pictures of them. They have binoculars but bringing your own was even better because they had a stabilizer which makes it easier to view from a boat.

Thank _dmarven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Hello, and thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us to see the puffins. Puffins are well-known for being difficult to photograph as they are small and very fast. We recommend a long lens for photography purposes. We do provide binoculars on board for our passengers to get a closer look but of course you are welcome to bring your own with you!

While the puffins can be tricky to photograph, we would still love to see any photos from your tour! You can enter our monthly Instagram competition by using the tag #AhoyReykjavik to enter. We pick one winner each month and that person gets their ticket refunded.

Thank you for choosing Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

This small boat probably held 20-25. It was old and worn, but that did not detract from the experience (gave it character). The guide and boat captain were both very informative and went out of their way to please everyone. They both knew their stuff! We were fortunate in that this was one of the last days to go on this tour, as the puffins were all almost gone for the season. As an aside, this boat was the one that discovered two beached whales on this island the day before. Also, the captain of the boat maneuvered close to the puffins, but was careful not to disturb them. They obviously cared about the environment and the wildlife.

Thank johnmM754OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear John,

Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and will pass the compliments along to your guide and captain. Our boat, Old Skúli, was actually used as a ferry between Reykjavík and the island Viðey before she came to us. She's been with us since our start in 1996 and is the oldest ferry boat still in use today! She is perhaps not be as flashy to look at as the newer RIB boats, but she has a lot of character and is in perfect working condition - we love Old Skúli :)

The two beached whales that you mention were Northern bottlenose whales that had stranded themselves on Engey, a small island just outside of the Old Harbour in downtown Reykjavík. We are very thankful that our crew and passengers spotted them when they did. We have more info on our Facebook page, but the rescue mission lasted for several hours (from roughly 12:30-19:00.) Unfortunately one of the whales did not make it, but the other one survived and was seen several hours after being released, swimming north in open water. It's extremely unusual for these whales to be so close to shore, as they are deep divers and prefer deeper waters.

We are running our Instagram competition so if you were able to get any good or fun photos from your tour just use the tag #AhoyReykjavik to enter. We pick one winner each month and that person gets their ticket refunded.

Thank you for choosing Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

The guide was lovely and very informative, and you could tell she was really making an effort, so 3 stars for her. Unfortunately, it was the end of puffin season, so there were only a few “specks” off in the distance. The ride was choppy and the water a bit rough. Truthfully, our party of 3 felt it wasn’t worth the time, money and upset stomachs.
Perhaps when puffin season is in full swing and with calmer waters this would be a great tour.

Thank LizabethRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear Lizabeth,

Thank you for your review - we're glad that you enjoyed the guidance but sorry to hear that the sightings were not very good. We only operate this tour when the puffins are here for their breeding season. This season they started leaving a bit earlier than last year, so while there were still large numbers of puffins towards the end of August, there were fewer than earlier in the season. The puffins are also not always together in the same place at the same time, so some of the tours at the end of the season had lots of puffins and some had very few. They are wild animals and do not always keep the schedule we would hope for when they start to leave the islands.

We normally do not offer return tours for our puffin trips, but we would like to make an exception in this case. The next time you are in Iceland please send our reception team an email at info@specialtours.is and they can assist you with rescheduling.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

The company is great and they had a lovely crew and guide on the boat with us, but the tour was boring to my teen children and I. The puffins were cool to see but overall it wasnt worth the money spent, let alone the preparation to get there.

Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Dear Rick,

We're glad that you like our company and our crew, but sorry to hear that it was not a fun trip for you and your children. We love the puffins and our guides are puffin experts - full of fun facts and extra information about these amazing little birds. The puffins can be smaller than some people realize and this is quite a calm tour, but we think it's a great way to relax for an hour while seeing some wonderful wildlife :)

For people who want a bit more adventure we do offer a variety of other tours, including a high-speed RIB boat that makes a stop by the puffin islands.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

If you only have a little bit of time, this is the cheapest way to see real puffins — I’m sure developement will eventually drive these precious little birds out of the harbor— the croatian guide couldn’t be friendlier and the ride was easy — there are far better ways to see puffins , but not 10 minute boat road from downtown .

Like everything else in iceland it’s a bit pricey

Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Hello, and thank you for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your puffin tour with us and will pass the compliments along to your guide.

The islands that the puffins nest on are protected breeding grounds, so no one is allowed to step foot on the islands - we look forward to seeing them for years to come :)

We are running our Instagram competition so if you were able to get any good or fun photos from your tour just use the tag #AhoyReykjavik to enter. We pick one winner each month and that person gets their ticket refunded.

Thank you for choosing Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed this boat tour on a sunny, breezy day. Suitably rugged up (waterproofs, beanies, hoods etc) we sat on the sturdy boat and experienced the waves, wind and spray on the short journey to the puffin island. We saw plenty of puffins, gulls, skies and fulmars, then back to the wharf. Tour lasted about an hour. Staff were friendly and proficient. Recommended for kids and adults alike.

Thank FlyingEmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Hello, and thank you for the review! We're glad that you enjoyed your tour with us to see the puffins (and large variety of other birds). We will also pass your compliments along to the guide and crew.

We're running our Instagram competition so if you were able to get any good or fun photos from your tour just use the tag #AhoyReykjavik to enter. We pick one winner each month and that person gets their ticket refunded.

Thank you for choosing Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

This one hour tour left promptly and got us fairly close to the puffins on the islands near the Reykjavik harbor. Our tour guide Iris was informative, nice and very sweet. She gave us great background into the behavior of puffins and even sent out a mating call from the boat that attracted the birds closer to where we were. Lots of fun and an amazing opportunity to see these wonderful birds. My only regret - I wish I had brought a better camera - I was relying on my iPhone.

Thank Charl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Dear Charl,

Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us to see the puffins and will pass the compliments along to Íris. The puffins can be difficult to photograph, especially with camera phones - we always recommend using a long lens for puffin pictures.

While they can be hard to photograph, we'd still love to see any photos that you took! We're running our Instagram competition so if you were able to get any good or fun photos from your tour just use the tag #AhoyReykjavik to enter. We pick one winner each month and that person gets their ticket refunded.

Thank you for choosing Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Loved our puffin viewing cruise - lots of information from our guide, beautiful weather and lots of viewing opportunities. The birds are small, fast and very good at evading the attacks of thieving skuas and gulls! I was glad I had taken binoculars, as none were available on board.

Thank travelalways255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
specialtoursiceland, Front Office Manager at Special Tours - Puffin Express, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Hello, and thank you for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your puffin tour with us and will pass the compliments along to your guide. The puffins are small and fast - perfect for a speedy return to their 'apartments' while keeping their fish away from other birds. We should have binoculars on board for every tour, so we're looking into why this was not the case during your trip. We apologize for this and are glad that you had a back-up pair with you!

We are running our Instagram competition so if you were able to get any good or fun photos from your tour just use the tag #AhoyReykjavik to enter. We pick one winner each month and that person gets their ticket refunded.

Thank you for choosing Special Tours, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews