We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hereford

Hereford
Ranked #111 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The location is on the main shopping street of Reykjavik. If sitting by the window on the second floor can be watching the people below. The environment was snirtilegt but fremkar raw. Steak was good and the service was quick and decent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nonni29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    117
    43
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hereford Steikhus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

As first time Iceland visitors, we were drawn into the restaurant by the street sign, offering whale and puffin, in front of the restaurant. Staff was friendly and efficient. We'd selected both set dinners and enjoyed them very much. I guess price of the dinner was at par with the rest of the food items in Iceland, which is not cheap. Whale steak tasted like fish and the textures is like a steak. Puffin meat reminds me of duck, with a bit of fishy taste. Overall, I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leosja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø - Rovaniemi
Level Contributor
191 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Was at the Argentinian steak place a few days before, but they are not even close. The interior and stuff might be better in the Argentinian place, but its the food that counts.
I had the best steak ever, no kidding! My wife tried the puffin - it was... ok, but not our taste. She ended up sharing my steak. You can have puffin as starter if you want to taste it.
Steak was made perfect to the second, baked potato just yummy, oh my....

Would for sure go back if I visit Reykjavik again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frode R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
406 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

While in Iceland, my partner and I wanted to try some unique dishes. The only thing we didn't want to try was whale (which Hereford does offer). We saw their menu board located outside and the three course puffin meal sounded interesting. The interior is very nice. We had a view of the street and it was a pleasant place to eat. I ordered a lamb meal and my partner went with the puffin. I did try the puffin- it was okay but the lamb tasted much better to me! It's probably an acquired taste. They didn't offer sangria which was disappointing. You write your order down and then they take that with them so you can specify exactly what you want. The portions are not huge. The price, like most places in Iceland, is expensive. I'd only recommend it if you want to try one of the unique items on the menu, otherwise, you could find lamb at a better price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank quiet_wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid this tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The restaurant consider itself to be a fine one but it has several issues. The interior is worn out and the bathroom is what you would expect in a gas station (no paper towels and a hole in the door). I like beers from the many micro breweries Iceland has to offer but this place only has a handful of the big brands so I had water. I had to wait 10 minutes for a refill of my glass after I asked for it. We had the three course meal that was on offer. I didn't find lobster taste of the lobster soup but there was a fair amount of lobster in it. We where six and half of us discussed the the beef tenderloin wasn't cooked as each one asked for even though you write it down yourself along with your name. The meat was of a poor quality and was not easy to cut. In my opinion a baked potato should be cooked so the skin is tasty but I didn't like the taste of it. The Béarnaise sauce with the meat was good. The desert was OK but the description said "...with berries" and there was only a single strawberry cut in half. The waiters never asked if we liked the meal or if everything was ok, they where probably afraid of the answer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Siggi Smári
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hereford also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hereford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing