We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and over-priced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hereford

Hereford
Ranked #108 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Miõborg
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor food and over-priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff were friendly but the food was very poor. The steak was average at best, and arrived with oven chips and a sauce that must have been hours old and had separated. For the dessert we tried the deep fried ice cream which was terrible and came with squirty cream out of a can! Given the prices they charge, the cream out of a can sums up their quality! There are many much better restaurants in Reyjkavik I would avoid this one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    117
    43
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Big disapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The worst steak I've ever had and I have tried many. The steak was both chewy and over cooked, and not at all the way I requested. We complained and the waiter's reaction was a simple "Oh..." the waiter didn't really care.
I would not even give this steak to my dog. If you want a to eat a shoe sole, then this is the place for you. But a word of warning, you might want to bring a chainsaw with you, as you might need it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gylfi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food with good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We read differing reviews, but went on the recommendation of staff at our hotel. We found the service and food excellent. They mixed and matched the Puffin and Minke menus for me so I could sample both. The Minke is very good, like a mild beef, I would also recommend the deep fried ice cream. Yes it is expensive when you add a bottle of wine etc. but you're in Reykjavik!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davejmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Walk on the 'Wild Side'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We came to Iceland wanting to try some of the local food and what an experience we had here.

We both had the 'Wild Game Menu' - starters of smoked duck, goose and puffin. I was a little reluctant to try the puffin (not knowing what to expect), ohhh but it was heavenly - very melt in your mouth. The mains were reindeer and venison and again cooked to perfection. The pudding of gratinated italian fruits was the perfect end to a lovely meal.

The service was friendly and welcoming. We were seated quite close to the grilling area so we could see the chefs at work.

A really enjoyable evening

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great steaks and possibility of getting puffin and whale to have something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really enjoyable evening - food delicious and interesting and of course, different. Service was great even if we did try their patience with our party of 14 guys ordering difrent things but all was exelent and the service was spot on.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eirikur-Sig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hereford also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hereford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing