We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edda Hotel Isafjordur
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Isafjordur(Isafjordur)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flokalundur(Patreksfjorour)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laetrabjarg(Orlygshofn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Westfjords(Patreksfjordur)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Latrabjarg(Latrabjarg)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Djupavik(Kjorvogur)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breidavik Guesthouse(Patreksfjorour)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
5
27
39
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
27
39
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother hotelshotel is locatedschoolbathroomcurtainstowntv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 83 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We personally think that staying in Edda Hotels was the best choice in Iceland - better than private accommodations. The rooms are big and so are the bathrooms, simple furniture,
very clean - excellent breakfast. If you stay for several nights in Edda-Hotels, remember that
you get a free breakfast for the third night and the fifth night is completely free.

In this particular Edda-Hotel they don't have a restaurant, but there are plenty in town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have been quite disappointed by this hotel: it looks more like a students dormitory than a normal hotel. There is no free internet connection like in many other structures in iceland, toilet and showers were not enought in number for all the rooms. All the hostels and guesthouses that I have been in Iceland were cheaper and better than this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto_Chieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Edda Isafjordur for 4 days. We booked a double room with a private bathroom and were not sure what to expect as Hotel Edda was significantly cheaper than the price we were offered from Hotel Isafjordur.

Any concerns we had were completely unfounded - we could not have been more pleased with the hotel and the service provided by the staff.

The room was a really good size and the bathroom was also a great size and very clean. The view out of our window was of the fjord and mountain, what a gorgeous thing to wake up to each morning! The location was perfect for both the town and walking off into the back of beyond. There was no TV in the room which might have been nice when we returned exhausted at the end of each day, but we didn't miss it at all.

We originally weren't going to have breakfast but from the second day we did have breakfast at the hotel and we were really pleased as there was lots of choice and it was really tasty and good value.

Hotel Edda Isafjordur was fantastic and we would happily stay there (or at any other Edda) in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snoops30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

What a fantastic hotel, I stayed here over solstace in June 2008, in a very very beautiful part of the world Isafjordur.
I stayed here for 3 nights and throughly enjoyed my stay.
The choice of hotels are the 4* Hotel Isafjordur and the 3* Edda. They look the same when there and prices are similar. Edda is a school for most of the year and a hotel and campsite in the summer. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, there is internet, a TV room and the rooms with a camping ground outside.
The rooms are average size, clean and comfortable, bed was very soft and had a very clean bathroom with shower and 3 piece suite. The room had a TV and a desk and stunning views of the hills opposite.
I loved Isafjordur and would recommend anyone to go, a beautiful little town. I cant put anybody off staying at this hotel, if people whinge on here it will be because of their own travel problems/attitude or expectations. This hotel is a great choice for Isafjordur and I cannot recommend it enough, cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davekools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Like all Edda hotels, this place is normally dormitory accomodation for the many Icelandic schoolkids who live in isolated communities. During July and August they let tourists stay in the rooms instead. As such, this place, like every other Edda hotel has a very institutional feel and you'll certainly feel like being back at school again.

We decided to opt for camping on the grounds, which in this case meant finding a spot of grass directly behind the school sports hall. With a tarmac playground on one side and the brooding concrete box of the "hotel" on the other side it wasn't the most awe-inspiring of views, but luckily the tent could still be pitched to face the impressive fjords and mountains. Toilet and washing facilities were in the school sports hall, whilst a couple of sinks and outdoor taps with cold water only were laid out next to the playground. The sports hall area was heated, good for drying out clothes and tents ! The overhang from the sports hall roof also provided a small degree of shelter from the incessant rain.

The hotel itself had pleasant staff and a small but not exactly homely reception area. The place is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Isafjordur, its an appealing place with not a lot to do, but it feels like the end of the world. The place to go is the Lanki Manki, the town's only pub/café, with very friendly locals and open until beyond 0400 at the weekend, though it doesn't tend to get busy until after midnight.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews