We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paddling to Vigur Island.”
Review of Borea Adventures

Borea Adventures
Ranked #4 of 13 Tours in Isafjordur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Borea Adventures is based in Isafjordur, the capital of the Westfjords, and offers great selection of outdoor adventures. The company started in 2006 operating sea kayaking, hiking, sailing, skiing, wildlife and mountain biking trips in the pristine wilderness around Isafjordur. Borea adheres to the principles of low impact, sustainable tourism. Our priority is to guarantee our guests enjoyable wilderness experiences in perfect harmony with the environment that supports us.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

A few weeks ago my wife and I were traveling around the West Fjords. It was our goal to go kayaking in the Fjords and this trip far exceeded our expectations. Even though the weather was overcast it made the scenery even more dramatic. Our guide Raguel was both knowledgeable and fun. He led us out to Vigur Island were we were treated to up close encounters with Eiders, Puffins and Arctic Terns. This was rounded out with a fantastic lunch and hot coffee. I am a Sea Kayaking instructor on the coast of Maine and in my opinion Borea Adventures is a top rate guiding company. We are looking forward to our return....

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank sprak5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thanks for a very positive review.

Glad you enjoyed your day with Raguel.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"arctic foxes"
in 19 reviews
"day trip"
in 14 reviews
"three days"
in 6 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 11 reviews
"boat ride"
in 14 reviews
"base camp"
in 4 reviews
"curious seals"
in 5 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 5 reviews
"sunny weather"
in 5 reviews
"wild camping"
in 3 reviews
"delicious dinner"
in 3 reviews
"sea kayak"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"pod of humpback whales"
in 3 reviews
"panorama tour"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 5 reviews
"midnight sun"
in 5 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2017

Bad weather, but great fun! Fast and exciting boat trip, going to shore with a zodiac, then hiking up a valley up to a fantastic panorama and down to the next fjord, where I saw a female polar fox very close - wow! Jonas, our nice guide, told us many interesting facts about flora, fauna, geology and history of this remote area. In the cozy atmosphere of Kviar farm we all got warm and dry again (it was raining all day). He also proved to be a very talented chef de cuisine, serving us a delicious dinner - thanks again, Jonas! II had a great day!

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Gabriele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Thanks Gabriele for a nice review.

The Panorama trip is a great tour with a well deserved ending with dinner while watching arctic foxes out the window in the old farmhouse in Kvíar.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We had the pleasure of experiencing the three day Hornstrandir Traverse trip earlier this month and had an unbelievable time. The Hornstrandir Nature Reserve is possibly the most spectacular part of a country that is already ridiculously scenic and was well worth the time and effort it took to reach. The trip started with a scenic 2.5 hour boat ride to Hornvik Bay where our gear was dropped at the basecamp while we started our first hike up the Hornbjarg bird cliffs. We were lucky to have a sunny day and the views of the cliffs looming sharply over the ocean defied belief. Beautiful wildflowers covered the green slopes and thousands of birds swarmed over the ocean. As we continued up the cliff edge, we saw two separate arctic fox dens and had an amazing time observing and photographing the cubs at very close range. At the top we had spectacular views of the fjord below framed by sheer mountains on either side. I will say without hesitation that this was the most dramatic and beautiful view I've ever experienced. The trail wound down the slope to a small lake with whooping swans and other birds and we then descended to the shoreline and made our way to the basecamp at the head of the fjord. The camp was extremely comfortable with a cook tent and Arctic Oven tents with cots as sleeping quarters, and arctic foxes prowled through the camp inspecting us through the night. The food was very good and very ample and our guide Raguel was an amazing host.
Day two consisted of a 6-7 mile hike up and over a snowy pass to a lighthouse on the far side of the bird cliffs. The view up the coastline was majestic with waterfalls dropping from the cliffs and huge promontories jutting into the ocean. We made our way back to Hornvik Bay where Raguel's family has a cabin (one of two structures remaining in this former settlement which emptied after WW II.) By luck, his father, great-uncle, and brother were visiting the cabin and we got to see historic pictures (including a polar bear that drifted over from Greenland in the sixties and was stranded) and have tea. Afterwards, Raguel's brother took us in a dinghy to catch some cod for supper and we were able to pull in one for each of us in short order, which made dinner extra-delicious that night. The following morning we were able to sleep in a bit before starting our hike out. This was another gorgeous hike with long range views although we were up in the clouds as we went over the pass. There was lots of snow and we were able to do a little sledding on our rain jackets down the far slope of the pass. We arrived around 5 to meet our ferry back (only an hour or so this time) and sadly said goodbye to this magical place.
All in all, this was a definite highlight of our trip to Iceland. Perhaps the best thing about it, besides the incredible views and excellent service from Borea, was the fact that we saw no one else on two out of the three days we were hiking, and very few people on the first day. This kind of solitude in a place of such beauty is hard to find anywhere and we certainly didn't experience it anywhere else in Iceland, where tourism seems to be increasing very rapidly. I can't recommend this trip strongly enough!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thanks Bill for a great review.

Very happy that you enjoyed the trip. Also nice to hear that you met some of Ragúel's family and managed to do some fishing...!

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

The trip was amazing. Starting with the boat and zodiac ride to the nature preserve. We spent ample time watching the Arctic foxes and hiked along the cliffs. Our guide was very knowledgable and adapted to the weather that was thrown at us. The last day coming over the pass we could see up the fjord and stood there in awe.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Thanks Candace for giving yourself time to write a review.

I'm glad you enjoyed the trip with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

All the best on your next adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2017

The crew on the boat was very helpful and professional. Would go with them again anyday as it was safe, clean and on time.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank gunnarfridriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borea Adventures also viewed

Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 

Been to Borea Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing