We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hornstrandir Panorama tour

Last time I was in Ísafjörður I didn't have enough time for a full-day detour to Hornstrandir. This... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kim T
,
Cologne, Germany
One of the best trips!!!

Paddle in the Wild We had 6 very fantastic days in kayak, seeing lot of whales and some of them... read more

Reviewed August 2, 2020
erik584
,
Lejre, Denmark
Read all 217 reviews
  
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
165
29
7
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
165
29
7
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arctic foxes base camp day trip nature reserve panorama tour green cliffs professional guide second half great weather ski tour mountain bike fantastic food rocky terrain boat crew an adventure packing list beautiful nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 217 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2017

Bad weather, but great fun! Fast and exciting boat trip, going to shore with a zodiac, then hiking up a valley up to a fantastic panorama and down to the next fjord, where I saw a female polar fox very close - wow! Jonas, our nice guide, told us many interesting facts about flora, fauna, geology and history of this remote area. In the cozy atmosphere of Kviar farm we all got warm and dry again (it was raining all day). He also proved to be a very talented chef de cuisine, serving us a delicious dinner - thanks again, Jonas! II had a great day!

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank gabrielef151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Thanks Gabriele for a nice review.

The Panorama trip is a great tour with a well deserved ending with dinner while watching arctic foxes out the window in the old farmhouse in Kvíar.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We had the pleasure of experiencing the three day Hornstrandir Traverse trip earlier this month and had an unbelievable time. The Hornstrandir Nature Reserve is possibly the most spectacular part of a country that is already ridiculously scenic and was well worth the time and effort it took to reach. The trip started with a scenic 2.5 hour boat ride to Hornvik Bay where our gear was dropped at the basecamp while we started our first hike up the Hornbjarg bird cliffs. We were lucky to have a sunny day and the views of the cliffs looming sharply over the ocean defied belief. Beautiful wildflowers covered the green slopes and thousands of birds swarmed over the ocean. As we continued up the cliff edge, we saw two separate arctic fox dens and had an amazing time observing and photographing the cubs at very close range. At the top we had spectacular views of the fjord below framed by sheer mountains on either side. I will say without hesitation that this was the most dramatic and beautiful view I've ever experienced. The trail wound down the slope to a small lake with whooping swans and other birds and we then descended to the shoreline and made our way to the basecamp at the head of the fjord. The camp was extremely comfortable with a cook tent and Arctic Oven tents with cots as sleeping quarters, and arctic foxes prowled through the camp inspecting us through the night. The food was very good and very ample and our guide Raguel was an amazing host.
Day two consisted of a 6-7 mile hike up and over a snowy pass to a lighthouse on the far side of the bird cliffs. The view up the coastline was majestic with waterfalls dropping from the cliffs and huge promontories jutting into the ocean. We made our way back to Hornvik Bay where Raguel's family has a cabin (one of two structures remaining in this former settlement which emptied after WW II.) By luck, his father, great-uncle, and brother were visiting the cabin and we got to see historic pictures (including a polar bear that drifted over from Greenland in the sixties and was stranded) and have tea. Afterwards, Raguel's brother took us in a dinghy to catch some cod for supper and we were able to pull in one for each of us in short order, which made dinner extra-delicious that night. The following morning we were able to sleep in a bit before starting our hike out. This was another gorgeous hike with long range views although we were up in the clouds as we went over the pass. There was lots of snow and we were able to do a little sledding on our rain jackets down the far slope of the pass. We arrived around 5 to meet our ferry back (only an hour or so this time) and sadly said goodbye to this magical place.
All in all, this was a definite highlight of our trip to Iceland. Perhaps the best thing about it, besides the incredible views and excellent service from Borea, was the fact that we saw no one else on two out of the three days we were hiking, and very few people on the first day. This kind of solitude in a place of such beauty is hard to find anywhere and we certainly didn't experience it anywhere else in Iceland, where tourism seems to be increasing very rapidly. I can't recommend this trip strongly enough!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank M8186AFbillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thanks Bill for a great review.

Very happy that you enjoyed the trip. Also nice to hear that you met some of Ragúel's family and managed to do some fishing...!

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

The trip was amazing. Starting with the boat and zodiac ride to the nature preserve. We spent ample time watching the Arctic foxes and hiked along the cliffs. Our guide was very knowledgable and adapted to the weather that was thrown at us. The last day coming over the pass we could see up the fjord and stood there in awe.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Thanks Candace for giving yourself time to write a review.

I'm glad you enjoyed the trip with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

All the best on your next adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

The crew on the boat was very helpful and professional. Would go with them again anyday as it was safe, clean and on time.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank gunnarfridriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Having previously had abysmal experience in kayaking I still went for it, and it didn't disappoint. The guide was relaxed and confident, which always is a plus.

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Iblischick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews