We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
One of the best trips!!!

Paddle in the Wild We had 6 very fantastic days in kayak, seeing lot of whales and some of them... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
erik584
,
Lejre, Denmark
epic excursion 🤘🏻🤘🏻

We stopped here with Costa Cruise and had the best time ever with our guide Steve. We took the bike... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2019
F8579TSelenab
,
Rome, Italy
via mobile
Read all 215 reviews
  
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
163
29
7
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
163
29
7
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arctic foxes base camp day trip nature reserve panorama tour green cliffs second half great weather ski tour mountain bike fantastic food rocky terrain boat crew packing list hour boat ride local guide weather conditions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 215 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Thanks to Borea Adventures, our time in West Fjordland was the highlight of our 10 day trip to Iceland. Five friends and I hiked the Hornvik Heights and Sights with Runar, words and even photos aren't enough to describe the incredible adventure we had. The scenery was beautiful, the hiking wonderful, the birds more than plentiful, the camp comfortable, the food fabulous, and best of all, the crew from Borea was entertaining and totally accomodating. Despite a spell of bad weather, the time spent in the backcountry with Borea was truly remarkable. The day after we returned from the hike, we went to Vigur Island with Runar. Although not as adventurous as our time in Hornvik, it was definitely a great day in the outdoors spent watching wildlife and enjoying te serenity of the island. I highly recommend both trips. Actually, I'd recommend any trip offered by Borea Adventures. They are a top notch company, very customer service oriented and honest.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Debbie249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Thank Debbie for your kind words.

I really enjoyed the time we spent together. Challenging day where we hiked over the pass in whiteout and cold weather but you all pulled through like champs.

I hope our paths will cross again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

Isafjordur was repeatedly recommended to visit due to its beautiful location in northwest iceland. I am glad I listened! The activity I chose was ocean Kayaking. Borea Adventures set me up with "Two Fjords" kayak trip with an enthusiastic and energetic guide that pointed out not only the local recent history of the area, but also the tectonic and geological highlights, along with the local flora and fauna. I really enjoyed the discussions.
On my want list was puffins and we saw several by the kayak! We saw seals, eagles, horses, and lots of birds. The water was so clear in places you could see the bottom - beautiful emerald green, blues, with seaweed and urchins. Very nice.
We were lucky with clear blue skies and little wind, and the point had very minimal wave swells.
We stopped for the lunch on shore with delicious sandwiches and sweet bar from the cafe topped off with tea.
There was no hurry and no problem for repeated breaks to just enjoy the day. I would highly recommend this company to help you to better appreciate the Westfjords and the Isafjordur area in particular.
Borea Adventures was great and they also offer hiking and other Kayaking fun that is just right for what you want to see and do.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Theo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

We did theHornstrandir Panorama Tour today. It was a amazing tour. We saw whales on the boat trip to Hornstrandir, had a really nice hike and crossed Kvisrfjall with awesome views even to the glacier. As we got to Lónafjördur we had a brake in a nicely renovated former farmhouse. While our guides cooked the dinner, we had an other hour to explore the surrounding area where we could observe polar foxes. Carla and Jonas are the best guides, I would recommend honestly! Thanks for this unforgettable day!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank MurielT155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2017

Thanks for a very positive review Muriel.

We agree with that this is a great tour with lots to see and experience. So remote and wild.
I pass this on to Joonas and Ronja.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

We were lucky to have three days of guided hiking with Borea Adventures in the Isafjordur area and it was a great experience. Our guide, Max, had clearly given a great deal of thought to planning hikes that would give us what we wanted. The experience was personal, it was astoundingly beautiful, it was tailored to our capabilities and it was flexible as far as making last minute changes for weather and circumstances. I would return for more any time!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank frey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

The Coastal Kayaking Adventure with Borea was one of the highlights of my time in Iceland, as well as one of the highlights of 2016 for me. There were eight of us altogether with the full group and our guides, Sigrun and Orvar, were excellent. They were always quick to point out wildlife and help when needed. They cooked great meals both nights, with the lamb while camping on the north shore of Ísafjarðardjúp being a standout.

Mostly the weather was beautiful and the nature was gorgeous. We were lucky in being able to spot arctic foxes, the white-tailed eagle, a gyrfalcon, plenty of puffin, and we even got up close to a pod of humpback whales (made me a bit anxious at first, but is now ingrained as an extraordinary experience for me). Realize that the weather and frequency of the wildlife is all out of Borea's control, but this is the sort of experience that could happen if the stars align.

We did fight into some fairly heavy wind and swells on the last leg of the trip paddling from Vigur, but our wonderful guides were always close and keeping a watchful eye.

They even went above and beyond after we returned to Ísafjörður and I realized that I had written down the incorrect time for my flight that evening and I only had ~15 minutes until the flight. Orvar raced me to the airport and I was able to catch my flight into Reykjavik that evening. They did not have to do this as it was my mistake, but this really left a lasting impression on me. (Side note - I recommend spending a few extra days in Ísafjörður if at all possible. It is a wonderful town and I very much wished I would have planned another day or two there.)

All in all, 5 out of 5, would do again! Yeehaw!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank John_0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runar K, Owner at Borea Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Hi hi John,

and thank you for your positive review.

We're glad that you liked our Coastal Kayak Adventure, we do also love it :)

Sigrún and Örvar are two of our amazing guides, which we are proud of.

Hopefully we will see you again in more Icelandic adventures.

Best wishes from the Borea Adventures team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews