We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good.”
Review of Hotel Isafjordur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Isafjordur
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isafjordur
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Hotel Isafjordur was fine. It is centrally located. The Westfjords Folk Museum is only a 5 to 10 minute away. We ate dinner at the hotel and found it to be very good. The room was not very big, but it was adequate. And it was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Live_to_Travel_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I don't think there are any other real hotels in Isafjordur, so the Hotel Isafjordur doesn't really have much competition. But it provides clean, quiet, warm rooms. I wouldn't call the rooms spacious (especially the bathrooms, they are tiny compared to American bathrooms), but a double/twin room was fine for two friends - there was a little desk area, and enough room for both sets of luggage. The breakfast is included and is pretty good, especially the different breads/cakes/crackers.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ElleinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel at the backend of April. The room we had overlooked the fjord which was nice, it was spacious, very clean with comfortable beds. It also had lots of storage space which we found very useful and not generally found in the hotels we stayed in.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

We ate in the hotel’s restaurant on two occasions; the food was excellent with a reasonable selection.
Breakfast was very good with a large selection to choose from, including some very nice cakes!

The day we were to leave there was a raging blizzard and the ‘pass’ to Holmavik was closed first thing in the morning, staff at reception enquired with Vegagerdin (road administrators) later in the day to confirm it was open but in poor condition, I decided to go for it much to the concern of the management who insisted we contacted them once we arrived at Holmavik, which we did. I must add the drive over the pass was the worst driving experience of my life...we survived just!

We would be more than happy to stay again at Hotel Isafjordur.

It‘s mentioned in another review and I agree, there is a nice bakery called Gamla Bakariio opposite the hotel which sells excellent sandwiches and cakes. I recommend you call in to stock up because once you leave the town on a day of exploring there are very few places to eat – particularly out of season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking across the fjord if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. good breakfast. dinner is okay, eat at the Tar House if it is open. THe rooms are clean and spacious. feels like a European business hotel. I like this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arpromos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very comfortable night in the hotel and a hearty breakfast, seemed to have an oriental feels about the place, but well placed and pleasant. Would definitely choose this hotel again particularly as a stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShellDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here one night at the beginning of our week in Iceland. We arrived by plane quite early in the day and the staff was quite accommodating in finding a room for us to check into. I thought we would have to leave our luggage with them and check in later in the afternoon, but they immediately located a room that had already been cleaned and was ready for us. The location is convenient and staff continued to be helpful, calling ahead to Tjoruhusid and getting us a table for dinner in the evening. The view is beautiful and everything in the room comfortable. Breakfast was adequate in the morning. Only reason I didn't rate a 5 is the value. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and it wasn't comparably better than the others for the price.

Tip: there's a fabulous bakery in the square across the hotel. Nice for sandwiches to go for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emptynestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in a very scenic town. Our upper floor room faced the fjord and mountains. It was peaceful and relaxing. The bathroom is small and the floor did flood when we showered but we just mopped it up with the towels. The breakfast was okay and the one dinner we had on site was good but expensive. This is a good location to settle into for a few days to explore the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swimisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isafjordur
0.4 mi away
Edda Hotel Isafjordur
Edda Hotel Isafjordur
#2 of 2 in Isafjordur
83 reviews
20.1 mi away
Heydalur Guesthouse
Heydalur Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Isafjordur
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
GentleSpace Guest Rooms
GentleSpace Guest Rooms
#3 of 10 in Isafjordur
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horn
Hotel Horn
#2 of 10 in Isafjordur
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Managisting Guesthouse
Managisting Guesthouse
#6 of 10 in Isafjordur
55 reviews
6.9 mi away
Einarshusid Guesthouse
Einarshusid Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Bolungarvik
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isafjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isafjordur

Address: Silfurtorg 2, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Isafjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isafjordur
Price Range: $183 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isafjordur 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isafjordur is a three-star comfortable hotel in the center of Isafjordur. Thirty-five rooms are standard size and one deluxe. Restaurant Vid Pollinn is on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Isafjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isafjordur Hotel Isafjördur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing