We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gamla bakaríið”
Review of Gamla Bakariio

Gamla Bakariio
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Isafjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed November 21, 2017

Lovely old bakery downtown. Have been many times for a quick bite and will revisit. Nice selection of tea.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Florists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

The place is cosy, and comfortable. I like the dedoration and of course, enjoy the cakes, the cinamon roll with gale is good, and take some tea. Good choice. Beautiful city.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank AnaCarina986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

This is a wonderful local bakery right in the middle of town. They have a little decorated van with their name on out front so you can not miss it when you arrive in town. You know you are in sweet goods heaven as soon as you walk in the front door. The display cases are filled with every sort of goody, especially chocolate you could want and at reasonable prices. We spent time here enjoying our choices and a hot coffee while we used their free wifi to check our emails. Very friendly service. Don't miss this shop.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Very good pasteries and cakes. A delicious treat after the Fossavatn ski marathon as they provided treats for the famous post-race cake buffet.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Right across from my hotel. Excellent baked goods. Quaint atmosphere. I waited for about 45 minutes for my van to the airport, and I enjoyed the time sitting in the bakery. After paying Icelandic prices for a week, I was shocked at how inexpensive this place was! Every time I went in there I paid $3-4 for a baked good and a soda, which was unheard of in other parts of the country. Very nice spot. Don't forget to check out the antique car outside.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mfolech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamla Bakariio also viewed

Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 

Been to Gamla Bakariio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing