We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“likely the most personable stay in iceland and great location!”
Review of Hotel Keilir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Keilir
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Reviewed March 12, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Keilir in Keflavik last week and as I promised the lady at the front desk, if I enjoyed my stay I would post something on Trip Advisor on their behalf.

Hotel Keilir is owned and run by a family who really care about their hotel and their guests. Everything is very modern and chic, the rooms starkly white and well lit. The room my friend and I stayed in had 4 beds and was plenty spacious. It also had a balcony overlooking the main street, and the location of the hotel is right smack in the middle of the town. We were there on a Thursday and got to witness the actual runtur, which is so incredibly quirky and funny to behold. The same cars full of kids just driving back and forth continuously, kind of like cruising the strip, but at a considerably fast pace.

The hotel is right across the street from Paddy's, where everybody seemed to be piling into who wasn't engrossed in the driving back and forth. After drinking Thule and taking shots of Brennivin and Opal (which I think is a horrendous mixture between Jagermeister and Listerine) on the balcony, we hopped across the street to check out the local scene. A homely Irish pub, they were having trivia night, and every single question involved American pop culture. Some cute local girls invited us to join them in their booth and they translated what the announcer was saying so that we could help. Witnessing the Islanders guess at the trivia was a trip, I suppose I'm somewhat glad that my impression that people in Iceland watch a ton of American TV was partially wrong. The prize for winning each round was a six pack of beer and for winning all three rounds was a case of Heinekin. Luckily, it was the weekend before Beer Day so beers were half off.

The locals in Keflavik, as also the rest of Iceland, were awesome, fun people with great senses of humor and a love for partying. I don't suppose Keflavik is a big destination for people who go to Iceland, but as chance would have it, we stayed there after driving all over the Reykjanes peninsula during the day and planning on returning the rental car in the morning at the airport. As fate would have it, a spontaneous stay in Keflavik was one of the most memorable, maybe because of the more local, small town feel.

Back to Hotel Keilir, I really enjoyed talking to the lady at the front desk whose name I feel like a hoser for forgetting, who gave me probably the best insight into the psyche of the Islanders concerning the economy and politics. She was like a very sincere and concerned mom and they went out of their way to make sure the room was up to their standards for people who just walked in looking for a room without reservations. Apparently someone had written some negative comments about their hotel before stemming from a miscommunication involving a room in the process of being prepared and the guest commenting that the room was unclean. The lady told me that if someone did not like her, she was okay with that, but assailing the hotel which is the pride of her family's work is what was hurtful.

In the morning, there was the standard included breakfast that you find at all the Icelandic hotels, but the older gentleman attending the desk was all over making sure that everything was sufficient and adequate. Although we didn't get down to breakfast until nearly noon due to an unexpected wild night out, and most guests had already long come and gone, the man got fresh food out of the fridge, opened up new containers of juice and at one point even left the hotel to go to the store to buy more food even though we said everything was fine and enough. This is why I am writing this. My sincere thanks and kudos to the folks at Hotel Keilir and the fine business they keep. By the way, for the room with 4 beds and the balcony facing the main street, it was a very reasonable 10.500 ISK (about $94), which my buddy and I were allowed to split and pay for in halves.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 423 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2008

Nobody around when we tried to check in, there was a note to phone for service. But there was no phone and none on the street, none in the library/tourist info bldg. (We don't have a cell phone) Wandered around, no one in the building! So we came back a few hours later and a gentleman called the off site manager who instructed him to give us the room key. Room appeared new but seemed unfinished (bathroom light taped to wall) and not as clean as all the other Icelandic hotels we stayed in. Not sure what makes this a "luxury" hotel. Quite ordinary.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

An 11 hour stopover in Keflavik airport did not excite us and through your Iceland forum we received several suggestions for passing our time- one of which was "head down" in Keilir hotel - 5 minutes taxi ride from the airport. Having read the excellent reviews about his hotel we decided that this was it - and we were not disappointed.

Despite arriving at 6 o'clock in the morning we were greeted with smiles and allocated a room with 4 beds - one for each of our party, saving us the cost of multiple rooms. Comfy mattresses and cosy duvets had us snoozing within minutes. It wasn' t till we surfaced 5 hours later that we realised what a stylish hotel we had come across. Smart, chic decor - pristine clean surroundings and a delicious coffee awaited us when we managed to get ourselves downstairs. It was delightful to chat to the family and gain our first insight into Icelandic ways. The owners are truly dedicated to what they do - meeting and greeting and making their travellers as comfortable as possible. A family business with personal care made this stopover a joy!

We have decided to go back to Iceland for an exploration weekend and make Hotel Keilir our base, with advice promised from the owners on what best to see and do in the area.

Highly recommended. Thanks Trip Advisor! Thanks reviewers!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carolDunoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

After several weeks backpacking through the untamed expanses of Iceland, we spent our last night at Hotel Keiler. Its location a few short minutes from the Keflavik airport was ideal, and the price was noticeably more affordable compared to the alternatives in the area. We booked our room via email one evening while we traveled and were met with a response and confirmation the next day.

Our journey took us across the entire ring road of Iceland, as well as deeply into the Interior and West Fjords. After becoming quite familiar with the customs and personalities of Icelanders, we found the owners of Hotel Keiler to be enormously hospitable. While many bed and breakfast, hostel, and campsite owners throughout Iceland seemed to treat their endeavors as a formal business and little else, the owners of Hotel Keiler seemed to make it their personal goal to be open, friendly, and eager to share stories and conversation.

Our room was quite pleasant, with a large comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. The room was very clean and well lit via an expanse of large windows which stretched across the entire south wall, several of which opened wide to provide a comfortable breeze of cool fresh air as we slept. The location of the hotel in downtown Keflavik was also quite convenient, as the town's restaurants and markets were within short walking distance.

In addition to their good spirits, the owners of Hotel Keiler were quick to go out of their way to make our stay a positive experience. As an example, our flight was scheduled to leave at about 6:30 in the morning, meaning we had to leave the hotel at around 5 AM. While most hotels would simply say we were out of luck as far as breakfast goes, the owners of Hotel Keiler went out of their way to set up an Icelandic breakfast of cereals, meats, cheeses, breads, and fruits exclusively for our departure, even though it meant a very early morning for them. In a country where even a small sandwich can run 700 ISK, this service alone was immensely appreciated.

After weeks of traveling across Iceland and staying in all manner of places from hotels to houses to campsites to hostels, we can honestly say that our stay in Hotel Keiler was one of our most pleasureable, particularly as a comfortable and affordable final night before departing the country in the early morning. We highly recommend it as a marvelous and hospitable hotel, and one of the closest available to Keflavik airport. Truly a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyingSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed there for a night between flights after the owner found us at the airport wondering what we could possibly do at 2am when we had our next flight 8hrs later. She was extremely friendly and drove us there (5 minutes away) and back to the airport in the morning, all the while answering our thousand questions about Iceland. The rooms were very clean and modern, just perfect for a peaceful night's sleep. We got a taste of amazing Icelandic landscape from our window, experienced a little bit of the night life in the small town, and all in all will remember our layover! Really, great place.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank jggold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stayed in the hotel for one night as a stopover. It's new, clean and breakfast (included) was superb - just what we needed for a long day. However I must say we reserve our highest compliments for the owners, a husband and wife team, who were just exceptional in their hospitality.

We were met on arrival after midnight ( though it was hard to tell as it was still sunny!) Offered a welcome drink and helped upstairs with our luggage. Later that morning the proprietress kept breakfast waiting for us as we were late getting up. She then gave us several recommendations, including public transport schedules, for getting to and from the Blue Lagoon.

As were would then be travelling into Reyjkavik, she let us keep our luggage at the hotel past check out time without a single hint of hesitation. When we ran into difficulties with the rather surly bus driver who did not want to make an extra stop at the hotel, her husband willingly drove our luggage to another hotel to be picked up. We were just overwhelmed as without this we would have been put to quite a lot of extra expense. There's nothing quite as pleasant as a touch of human kindness :-)

Thanks again. Carolyn & Ole

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thethreeofus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Very friendly family run hotel. They drove me to the airport at 5am in the morning at no extra cost. Rooms are very clean and the hotel is modern and well looked after. Automatic light system in the ensuite to go on and off only when in use.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank SSTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
935 reviews
2.0 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keilir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keilir

Address: Hafnargata 37, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range: $115 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keilir 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keilir is a Family run hotel in the heart of Keflavik / Reykjanesbaer . Located on the city's main street, Hafnargata, shopping and other amenities are within easy walking distance and Keflavik International Airport is just a 5-minute drive away. Hotel Keilir is a fantastic place to serve as your base of exploration for Iceland, especially for passengers looking to make the most of a shorter stopover in Iceland. The view from Hotel Keilir is unique both from the street and oceanside. There are a number of quality restaurants in the vicinity and the Blue Lagoon spa and resort is just 15 minutes away. Reykjavik is 40 minutes by bus or car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Keilir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keilir Hotel Keflavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing