We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olsen Olsen

Olsen Olsen
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I went there to eat with my boyfriend on date night and we have eaten better food in Iceland. I ordered bacon sub and all the meat was on one side and his burger was flavor less and the bun was too big for the burger. The atmosphere was fun and different as it was a 50's kinda feel, and they also had an arcade game there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    92
    33
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews while staying in a wet and windy Keflavik. Food was very nice. Luckily we ordered one portion of chips and onion rings to share as when they turned up there were loads of each. I struggled to finish them on top of my burger. Clean and tidy with friendly staff

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pgillett456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A simple snack bar and Diner but..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

They don't see many tourists in Keflavik, but there is no feeling of being an outsider when you turn up at this American inspired local institution!
With a low budget menu going from hot dogs via fish to lamb steak for around GB£10, and local beers on the menu too, I can't complain!
Classic conversation with the server (I accept that he spoke far better English than my Icelandic...) hmm, fish and chips please -
we don't do fish and chips but you can have fried fish and fries with salad if you like...
small low budget diner it might be, but the fish was fresh and service good, Black Death beer and other local beers too, perfect for a quick snack before heading over the road to Paddys bar.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DemonBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had spotted this place in our guidebook and searched the rather desolate and very windy Keflavik for it after visiting the Viking World museum up the road. Glad we made the effort as the food was good, hot and plentiful. We were the only visitors at the time and the young lad working there made us welcome and gave us refillable hot and strong coffee as we ate. We had fishburgers, chips, a huge bowl of onion rings and a vegetarian hoagie which was really cheap and tasty. This fed our family of four with ease and cost just under £30. Would recommend a visit here for food if you are in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFabFour18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Burgers and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place looks like it's been set up by someone who's spent a lot of time in the US. The decor is retro diner with lots of old license plates and Route 66 plaques and such. The burgers and fries were good sized portions and the condiments all look like they were procured from the US, so there is a mix of ketchups, hot sauces and mustards to add to the burgers. We didn't try a hoagie, but they looked pretty good, too. They were a little overloaded the day we were there, and with only two workers, the orders and dishes were backing up a bit, but our food still came out hot. We also enjoyed a bottle of a local IPA while we waited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KendraKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olsen Olsen also viewed

Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Olsen Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing