We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Olsen Olsen

Olsen Olsen
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Keflavik
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Fast Food
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews while staying in a wet and windy Keflavik. Food was very nice. Luckily we ordered one portion of chips and onion rings to share as when they turned up there were loads of each. I struggled to finish them on top of my burger. Clean and tidy with friendly staff

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgillett456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    102
    36
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A simple snack bar and Diner but..”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

They don't see many tourists in Keflavik, but there is no feeling of being an outsider when you turn up at this American inspired local institution!
With a low budget menu going from hot dogs via fish to lamb steak for around GB£10, and local beers on the menu too, I can't complain!
Classic conversation with the server (I accept that he spoke far better English than my Icelandic...) hmm, fish and chips please -
we don't do fish and chips but you can have fried fish and fries with salad if you like...
small low budget diner it might be, but the fish was fresh and service good, Black Death beer and other local beers too, perfect for a quick snack before heading over the road to Paddys bar.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DemonBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had spotted this place in our guidebook and searched the rather desolate and very windy Keflavik for it after visiting the Viking World museum up the road. Glad we made the effort as the food was good, hot and plentiful. We were the only visitors at the time and the young lad working there made us welcome and gave us refillable hot and strong coffee as we ate. We had fishburgers, chips, a huge bowl of onion rings and a vegetarian hoagie which was really cheap and tasty. This fed our family of four with ease and cost just under £30. Would recommend a visit here for food if you are in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFabFour18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Burgers and more”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place looks like it's been set up by someone who's spent a lot of time in the US. The decor is retro diner with lots of old license plates and Route 66 plaques and such. The burgers and fries were good sized portions and the condiments all look like they were procured from the US, so there is a mix of ketchups, hot sauces and mustards to add to the burgers. We didn't try a hoagie, but they looked pretty good, too. They were a little overloaded the day we were there, and with only two workers, the orders and dishes were backing up a bit, but our food still came out hot. We also enjoyed a bottle of a local IPA while we waited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KendraKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olsen Olsen also viewed

Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Olsen Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing