We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay near Keflavik airport!”
Review of Home Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 19 Keflavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near Keflavik airport!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here for only one night, as I was meeting a tour group the next afternoon, but this was a lovely place to begin my Icelandic journey. I arrived at about midnight, which was no problem. This typical Icelandic suburban house is very modern, stylish and absolutely spotless. In addition to your room, there is a nice kitchen/living room area where you can hang out. Wifi was very fast. Bathrooms are super modern and the larger one is extremely impressive. The next morning, I was able to walk into Keflavik town (approx. 30 minute walk) for a look around the harbor area and some lunch. The owner was very friendly and drove me back to the airport in the afternoon to meet my group for half the cost of a taxi. Highly recommended! Why stay in a hotel when you can make yourself at home?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirderNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Home Guesthouse was just fantastic. I stayed twice: the first time when I landed at Keflavik at 1am and the second time when I arrived at 11pm to take my 7am flight. It is 3km from the airport and very easy to find. The house is spotless, with two very clean communal bathrooms. Both times I had the smallest room, which was nothing special, but worked fine. Wifi was fast. You can hear traffic on the nearby road and planes taking off, but bring ear plugs and you won't have a problem. The host was lovely and met me at night both times, as well as on the first morning. There was a plentiful breakfast which was self service. I took a cab from the house to the airport which was a pricey 1700 ISK (USD14) and was simple to arrange.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChestnutMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This could possibly be the cleanest and best guest house in iceland. The landlady was easily reachable and always warm and helpful with any requests. A real pleasure to stay there in any of the nice rooms. We booked for our first night in iceland but on seeing the double room we directly made sure we could have it for our last night also.

Location is a bit further out of the town centre but still an easy walk and the blustery fresh air was a nice break after the flights. Very close to the airport and yummy home made bits and pieces in the kitchen was a lovely touch.

Will be the first place we book on returning to iceland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_hop_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This house is very stylish, spotlessly clean and the owners are the nicest people you could wish to meet. The house is also conveniently located for the Keflavik airport and ideal for your first or last night in Iceland. In addition, the town of Keflavik is attractive and particularly if you have a car, you may think of staying here for two nights.

I only regret that we couldn't stay here longer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat_9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

When I booked this place for our last night in Iceland, all I wanted was somewhere half decent within spitting distance of the airport. What we got was SO much more!!

This truly is a home away from home. It's impossible to fault Home Guesthouse in any way: the hosts were so welcoming, kind and helpful, our room was lovely, the communal areas squeaky clean and cosy, breakfast was plenty and authentic, and it only took us a 5 minute drive to get to the airport.

It was also lovely being able to chat with the locals (our hosts) and get a load of tips for places to visit, routes to take, etc. Such a shame we only stayed one night before our return flights!!

Home Guesthouse is a true gem and we are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joniko5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Your home-feel starts from the moment u book the guesthouse.
Having been picked up right from the airport, being concerned about every single bit of your stay... the owners were very nice n caring, like your granny at home...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The guesthouse is located in the northern part of Keflavik in newly built quarters. The house is quite new and beautifully furnished. There are three twin rooms and a very nice double room available. The house has even two bathrooms available for four rooms, such that you do not have to wait in the morning because bathroom is occupied. Breakfast is self catering, but as everything is available this is absolutely no problem.
Overall this is definitely THE guesthouse to stay in Keflavik!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are nice, but relatively small. The double room is absolutely beautiful and absolutely th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrysokomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
2.3 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ace Guesthouse
Ace Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Keflavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kef Guesthouse
Kef Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Guesthouse

Property: Home Guesthouse
Address: Thorsvellir 2, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within 5 minutes' drive of central Keflavik, Home Guesthouse is 3 km from Keflavik Airport. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and basic rooms with shared bathrooms. The brightly decorated rooms feature garden views and a wardrobe. All have access to a communal kitchen with dining area. A common room with a seating area and TV is available to all guests. Guesthouse Home serves a self-catering breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Home Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing