We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very functional.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel is barely 200m away from the main departure terminal. Its location was brilliant. I returned my car to Thrifty car rental which is just behind the building and walked back to the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and minimal, very functional, everything works fine, just dont expect it to be a world class leading hotel. Its sole purpose is for early flights/late flights into or out of iceland.

We had room 302, it was facing the terminal, that night the wind was howling and we could hear the wind noise and aircraft noises from the airfield, it was noisy, but we werent too bothered by it, we slept through it. So for those light sleepers, pls ask them for another room that faces away from the airport, preferably rooms with odd numbers.

Breakfast was served from 5am onwards to 10am, which was good of them as our flight out was at 730am. We paid 99 Euros a night for the stay, it was well worth it considering how early our flight was and it took us to drag our lugggages across the road and we took 3-5 mins to walk to the departure terminal.

Good location, dont forget, dont expect more than a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms faces the airfield which could be noisy for some light sleepers. Choose odd numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volvoc70m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 542 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night in October. It's all very basic, Ikea furniture, neon lights in bathroom and really no frills. Breakfast very basic too. There don't seem to be any places to eat in the area - not even in the terminal - so ordered a burger which was fine.
It's very close to the terminal but it's not very evident which way to walk.
All in all, not in any way luxurious but it does the job.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the most convenient hotel to the airport.

The hotel is clean. The decor is a little sterile. The WiFi on the 2nd floor wouldn't connect to our android devices but worked fine with the apple phones. We could connect to the 3rd floor WiFi but the signal was pretty weak.

The restaurant serves a small offering for dinner. Mainly snack items - we all had pizza. It worked for us. Pizza, beer and wine, and we didn't have to drive anywhere on our last night in Iceland.

The hotel is the perfect place to stay if you don't want to drive before or after your flight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeInPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel doesn't promise you the moon,but it delivers what it promises. The room was basic but had all amenities,spacious , clean and functional . They are considerate enough to serve breakfast at 5 in the morning. And finally it couldn't be closer to the airport . Hardly 300 metres from the airport . Ideal if you have to catch a morning flight and saves you the 1 hour drive from Reyjkavik .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Walking distance from the airport terminal and the airport car hire headquarters, this is the most convenient choice of hotel for early or late connections. The hotel is clean and modern and of good quality, but you do pay a premium for the location.
Pros: close to airport, good bathroom with clean showers, good breakfast.
Cons: staff could not give clear directions for walking from the airport (it looks like you need to cart your luggage along a highway unless you find the pedestrian path by chance) and it is a long way on rough ground if you have a lot of luggage, the curtains do not block out light, expensive.
I give this an average rating because the price matches the location and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatfishcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location if you need to hop on your plane early in the morning. You can almost throw your luggage to Keflavik Airport, so near is it to the airport building. That was also the reason why we chose this hotel; you can hand in your rental car the evening before and walk to the airport the following morning. The hotel is brand new and so everything is spotless and clean. I was pleased to see that unlike a lot of hotelrooms in Iceland these rooms come with curtains so you can have a good night's rest even if the midsummer sun is shining outside. The decoration is minimal, but that is also quite typical of Icelandic rooms. We even thought the rooms were, to Icelandic standards, quite lively. Although we asked for a queen bed, we got twins. However, the beds were most comfortable and we were not disturbed by the nearby airport. The staff at reception was very friendly and helphul. On the other hand, the guy who was in charge of the breakfast was fairly rude. We witnessed several people asking for things that were missing at the 'buffet' and he gave them very rude replies and made each of them wait "because first he wanted to finish something else". Most people left without the extra cup of coffee or juice because by the time this guy felt like getting it, their plane had already taken off. Not what I call professional behaviour. All in all, Hotel Smari is an acceptable deal: good bed, basic breakfast, close to the airport, but the room comes with a considerable price (we payed +/- 175 euro per night).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Smári is located a very short, easy walk from Keflavik Airport - just a few hundred feet. The rooms are clean and quiet, although somewhat stark. The beds are comfortable. English speakers will be glad to know that language will not be a problem. The desk clerk when I was there was Polish; she spoke English and Polish, but no Icelandic. Breakfast, which is included, is typical fare.

This is a great place to stay for a quick layover, but lacks both character and a good location for anyone who is visiting Iceland for a longer stay. Note bene: the airport is open overnight, so travelers with a few hour layover in the middle of the night need not get a hotel room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EFFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
2.3 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
161 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
805 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#8 of 9 in Keflavik
429 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
143 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Aurora Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Aurora Star

Address: Blikavoellur 2, Keflavik 235, Iceland (Formerly Airport Hotel Smari)
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range: $142 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Aurora Star 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airport Hotel Aurora Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing