We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for our purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a long lay-over in Reykjavik and needed to sleep. The hotel is so close to the airport, you can easily pull your luggage across the parking lot to their front door. They had a room ready for us in the morning. The room was simple, very clean, somewhat sterile. The bed was very comfortable. The friendly lady from the front desk brought us a pizza and beer, and we were happy. Nice shower, and we slept all day. This was exactly what we had hoped to find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nurseintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 528 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a modern, if somewhat characterless hotel right next to the airport. The rooms are simple but this is fine for an airport hotel. The breakfast wasn't extensive but there was enough to keep me going.

The best thing is the convenience of being able to drop the hire car back and then it's just a short walk to the airport terminal. We visited Iceland a couple of years back and the nearest hotel then was in Keflavik centre, which involved a taxi ride out there and a shuttle bus back. I don't think you'd want to stay here for the duration of your holiday but as a stop off point after a late flight or before an early one, it does the job.

It was noisy, but then again it does overlook an airport! There isn't much around the airport so we had an early dinner in Reykjavik then checked in late, there was no drinks facilities in the room but you could get drinks from the reception.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We landed at 2am from barcelona. The easiest thing was to stay close to the airport, and start our journey the following morning. It took us 6 minutes by walk to reach the place. Clean room, clean bathroom and comfortable beds. Just what we needed. Breakfast was also ok. We could rest and eat something before starting our holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bio_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Keflavik Airport is not convenient airport to arrive in - there is nothing around without taking a taxi. There are no hotels with airport shuttle like we are use to... that is the main reason we chosen this hotel. The hotel is simple - contemporary and minimalistic. The room is pretty big - but it had one desk chair and upholstered chair. TV is mounted above the fixed desk, thus, if my husband is using computer at the desk I won't be able to see the TV. No place to store anything - no cabinet of any kind. No restaurant on site - but able to order pizza, sandwiches at the dining area by the lobby. No other facility like gym or pool. No ice... no coffee/tea in room.
Breakfast is simple - coffee,juices, breads, meat and cheese.
The manager was super and enjoyed the conversation. He will try anything possible to please you - but there are many things to re-think and improve.

Room Tip: I did not hear much noise at all - Airport is next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A strike in France left us in Iceland with a canceled flight. Iceland Air gave us a voucher for this Hotel until we get get a flight out to Paris the next day. The young cheerful staff is very welcoming. The simple efficient rooms are extremely clean. You can walk from the airport and they even let you take the luggage cart. Free no hassle wireless internet. We had a pizza and a beer for dinner and they have a small tasty breakfast buffet. I saw the staff trying to help numerous other stranded people with phone calls and rides to the airport.

Room Tip: We had room 212 had a good view of the airport if you like to watch the planes come in and out. I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed in this lovely property with my family in the month of May and we all were happy to book this accommodation. The hotel was fabulously decorated. The service was exemplary, food very delicious and elegantly presented; the rooms were big and airy with clean sheets and large pillows on good beds. Not only the staff members, but the owner too pays a lot of attention to every detail to make sure that guests are looked after well. Throughout our stay we were looked after in the most courteous and friendly manner. I will love to come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

First of all the hotel building looks not nice as you can see on there on pictures but that is not all. I stayed in Hotel Smari my first night and the sound from the airport is simply to high if you want to sleep in longer than 5am. The rooms are new but simple and the worst part is they do not have bar or restaurant and the breakfast is limited. I will go to Keflavik or Reykjavik on my next vist.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor away from the runway - the airplaines make to much noice on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancineLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
2.3 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
144 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
778 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
130 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Aurora Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Aurora Star

Address: Blikavoellur 2, Keflavik 235, Iceland (Formerly Airport Hotel Smari)
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range: $146 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Aurora Star 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airport Hotel Aurora Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing