We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and a great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Keflavik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Keflavik
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and a great hotel!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Keflavík for a weekend with my boyfriend and I can honestly say that we had a great weekend. It was very cosy, the people who work at the hotel are all extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is very tasty, a lot of variety, something there for everyone.
The bed is very comfortable and the room is clean! Always very important in my opinion.
I give this hotel a top mark!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    272
    116
    27
    25
See reviews for
193
354
63
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I’ve just completed my fourth stay at the Hotel Keflavik and I look forward to my next visit. The staff is friendly and professional, eager to help arrange anything from a dinner reservation to a tour. The breakfast buffet, included with the room, is as good or better than any I’ve enjoyed in Europe. The room is extremely comfortable, clean and well-appointed. I love this hotel and can’t wait to return.

-- Mitchell Zuckoff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is a great value for money!! The location is great and specially for those traveling early in the morning. The airport is 4 min drive and you get a taxi to airport included in the price! We were amazed by the breakfast, the variety and quality where excellent !

Rooms are classy and cozy and the staff helped us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sucyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Keflavik -- also the name of the neighborhood, and the airport -- for a one-hour layover between Iceland Air flights from Helsinki to Boston. (The taxi was about $20 from the airprort.) The hotel is fine, everything you could want, although the bath is a little strange, the shower door only halfway covering the tub. The staff was very helpful and the accommodations clean, appealing in their homeyness.

Three things not to miss:

1. Walk out to the water's edge and look across the bay to the mountains and sky. With the fishing boats tied up and rocking back and forth, you will come to understand Iceland a little.

2. The restaurant attached to the Hotel offers exquisite multi-course dinners. During my visit, the somewhat rough-around-the-edges Brits who constituted the majority of guests were happy with hamburgers and beer -- but if you order the real food with wine, from the friendly menu, you will not be disappointed. My dinner there was among the top five I have enjoyed anywhere, even eating alone. Everything was natural, everything fresh, and everything delicious.

3. There is a balcony on the second floor with great views of the bay. Keflavik itself is a rather quiet place in the fall (which comes early) and winter, but I hear it revs up in the summertime. Plus, you can get a taxi with a call and in 15 minutes be in the Heart of Wildest Reykjavik.

Because Iceland is still recovering from the predations of the international and local bankers who fled when their jig was up, prices are reasonable and quality of products and services high. I definitely will fly Iceland Air from now on -- great flights, incredible onboard multimedia, well-coifed and appointed crew -- and stay at Hotel Keflavik.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay, second floor and above. All the rooms are quiet because the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Jacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was extremely good to stay at Hotel Keflavik. Great rooms and friendly service. Quit homey feeling. Fine restaurant at the hotel with reasonable price. Very good choice because of short distance from the airport and a taxi to there is included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Close to the airport---they'll either pick you up or drop you off free. You pay one way which is about $23.00 US. We had reserved a deluxe room but got upgraded to a junior suite. We saw a deluxe when it was being cleaned...pretty small. We had a jucuzzi tub....the jucuzzi part wouldn't work and since there is no shower, you must use the hand held spray hose in the tub to shower. Not the greatest.
The room has a fridge---and hot water pot and cups but no tea bags or coffee. BUT, there is a machine in the lobby that makes coffee, latte, tea, hot chocolate---it's really good and free.
Wifi is free and works good. Breakfast was excellent.
We ate at the hotel restaurant and we were happy with our meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stay at Hotel Keflavik quite often on business trips and the hotel always offers a first class service to myself and my work coleagues. The staff are always extremely friendly and eager to assist in anyway they possibly can, nothing is to much trouble. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic with a large selection that is always kept well stocked throughout the morning. The rooms that have been renovated are very nicely presented and very comfortable and they are working hard to get all the other rooms renovated just as quick as possible. The free wi-fi is very reliable and of adequate speed, there is a big fitness center in the lower levels of the hotel and the restaurant Cafe Iono has world class delicacies and would definetly rate it as the best restaurant to dine at during your stay in Keflavik.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
2.0 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keflavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keflavik

Property: Hotel Keflavik
Address: Vatnsnesvegur, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Keflavik 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keflavik is positioned in the heart of Keflavik. It is only 5 minutes from the airport, but still with all the perks of an downtown hotel, close to restaurants, shops and museums. We hope you will enjoy your stay at Hotel Keflavik, we want to provide you with the warm feeling of a family-run establishment but still the quality and service of a 4 star hotel. Please note that from the 1st of May 2017 our complimentary transfer from the hotel to the airport will be available every 30 minutes from 04:00-10:00 and every 60 minutes from 11:00 – 14:00. Transfer needs to be booked the day before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keflavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keflavik Hotel Keflavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing