We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & complete, welcoming & sweet!”
Review of Hotel Keflavik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Keflavik
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked this hotel to allow us some rest on our long journey home from Italy & to fit the Icelandair schedule. What a lucky find this was! Our room was comfortable with DVD player, TV, fridge, microwave & big bathroom. We literally fell into bed & slept soundly. Had we known what breakfast delights were awaiting us in the morning, we would have been dreaming of that, I'm sure. The buffet is set up in a warm, large breakfast room with space enough to seat all guests at once. It included Icelandic specialties made right on the property -- a salmon & egg salad on bread concoction, smoked lamb, breakfast "pizza", crunchy fresh bread, fruit jams, lots of hot coffee & sinful pastries with pecans sprinkled on top. That list is just a few highlights of what's available. The staff are warm & welcoming -- that's a very nice thing when the weather outside is shipping rain at 40 mph! We have landed here several times on our way to & from Europe but we are now planning a real vacation here to see the volcanoes, hot springs, etc. AND to stay at Hotel Keflavik again to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissKatieSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 953 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Late arrivals or early flights? The hotel is a welcome relief! Very short journeys to and from airport. Comfortable beds, reasonable quality meals within the premises, you could consider yourself self-sufficient in that sense. Yes, we did the road trip and visited exciting places and got ourselves amazed with the terrain and unforgettable views. I won't hesitate to recommend this hotel for its functionality and location ... Blue Lagoon isn't far so for us, this hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMomentHumansBlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for one night on arrival in Iceland. Very short drive from the airport and a warm welcome. Slightly dated in places and needing a little TLC here and there, but agree with others about a very good breakfast buffet. Overall, a solid if not overwhelming hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel when I stooped over in Iceland while flying back from London. It is close to the airport, so expected something functional, but spartan and perhaps a bit noisy. The hotel rooms are immaculate, the beds are very comfortable, the furnishings very Scandinavian. Breakfast came with the room, and it offered local foods and great coffee. The staff was incredibly efficient and helpful. Given its proximity to the airport, there could hardly be a better place to stay during a quick stopover in Iceland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felisbogartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinþór J, Owner at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive, five star, review on our hotel. We're glad that you liked our hotel, service, breakfast, rooms and staff. Please do visit us when you have the chance in the future.

Best regards from Iceland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Invited my wife to Keflavík for one night indulgence, everything was perfect about this hotel. Great service, nice beds in nice rooms and the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen in hotel. In the evening we walked in the city and visited great Reastaurant and bars in walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guðjón J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinþór J, Owner at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guðjón,

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you liked our hotel and efforts for the guest. Please visit us again, the next time you'll be in Keflavik and then you can perhaps try our restaurant, Café iðnó.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Keflavik is our place to stay the night before we have to leave Iceland again.
We like the nice, clean rooms. Good service, the nice breakfast buffet at 5am :-).
This time we also tried the kitchen for a dinner. Not Millaut, but fair price / performance ratio.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin_Stroppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinþór J, Owner at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review on our hotel. It's good to know that our guests are returning because they enjoy our service and efforts. If you'd like please post a review on to our Café Iðnó Tripadvisor listing (our restaurant on tripadvisor)

Thank you, hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a long layover on our way back to the US, so we booked a hotel close to KEF International. Hotel Keflavik is a great choice! We booked a family suite on the top floor and the beds were very comfortable and warm on a rainy, windy night. The view of the ocean in the morning is also a plus! Upon check out, we requested a taxi to be called. The manager instead put me and my kids into his own personal vehicle and drove us around the city and then to the airport (saving me 2500 Krona) . My kids got to see the Skessa House (Troll House) right by the ocean. It was truly an amazing moment and I'm glad he took the time to show us. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Iceland. I know I will use it again when I go back.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeMayM2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinþór J, Owner at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind word about our hotel. I'm really glad that you were able to enjoy our apartment suite on the top floor.

It was my pleasure driving you and showing you the Skessa house during our trip. I'm really glad you enjoyed all of this and we would be privileged to have you again as our guest if you'd return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keflavik
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
805 reviews
9 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#8 of 9 in Keflavik
429 reviews
2 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keflavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keflavik

Address: Vatnsnesvegur, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range: $137 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Keflavik 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keflavik is positioned in the heart of Keflavik. It is only 5 minutes from the airport, but still with all the perks of an downtown hotel, close to restaurants, shops and museums. We hope you will enjoy your stay at Hotel Keflavik, we want to provide you with the warm feeling of a family-run establishment but still the quality and service of a 4 star hotel. Please note that from the 1st of May 2017 our complimentary transfer from the hotel to the airport will be available every 30 minutes from 04:00-10:00 and every 60 minutes from 11:00 – 14:00. Transfer needs to be booked the day before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Keflavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keflavik Hotel Keflavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing