We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always again”
Review of Hotel Keflavik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Keflavik
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Luzern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“always again”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Keflavik is our place to stay the night before we have to leave Iceland again.
We like the nice, clean rooms. Good service, the nice breakfast buffet at 5am :-).
This time we also tried the kitchen for a dinner. Not Millaut, but fair price / performance ratio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin_Stroppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinþór J, Owner at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review on our hotel. It's good to know that our guests are returning because they enjoy our service and efforts. If you'd like please post a review on to our Café Iðnó Tripadvisor listing (our restaurant on tripadvisor)

Thank you, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    272
    116
    27
    25
See reviews for
193
354
63
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a long layover on our way back to the US, so we booked a hotel close to KEF International. Hotel Keflavik is a great choice! We booked a family suite on the top floor and the beds were very comfortable and warm on a rainy, windy night. The view of the ocean in the morning is also a plus! Upon check out, we requested a taxi to be called. The manager instead put me and my kids into his own personal vehicle and drove us around the city and then to the airport (saving me 2500 Krona) . My kids got to see the Skessa House (Troll House) right by the ocean. It was truly an amazing moment and I'm glad he took the time to show us. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Iceland. I know I will use it again when I go back.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeMayM2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinþór J, Owner at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind word about our hotel. I'm really glad that you were able to enjoy our apartment suite on the top floor.

It was my pleasure driving you and showing you the Skessa house during our trip. I'm really glad you enjoyed all of this and we would be privileged to have you again as our guest if you'd return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Room was typical European size for 2 of us. Clean. Comfortable and quiet. Only negative was a smoker in the hall. They have a NO smoking policy. This Hotel is just next door to the Icelandair Keflavik hotel. Same quality, BETTER value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJackPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinþór J, Owner at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jack,

Thank you for your kind review. Concerning the smoker - we do, as you mentioned, have a strict non smoking policy. But for the smokers, we do have balconies that can be used for that purpose.. but smoking inside the hotel (including the rooms) is strictly forbidden - as with all hotels in Iceland.

I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and we would love to have you back at our hotel and show you why we give the best value in town! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were very happy with the Hotel Keflavik. We had a deluxe double room and it was clean and nice and a prefect size for the two of us. The complimentary breakfast featured several traditional Icelandic items such as lamb, smoked salmon and wonderful dark bread. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We lived in Keflavik for three years so we enjoyed being close to several "off the beaten path" sights that we liked to visit during our time there. (Check out the lighthouse at Gardur and the fishing villages of Grindavik and Sangerdi). Keflavik also has an outdoor heated pool and three hot pools for relaxing. The cost is 800 kronur to swim and towel rental for 600 kronur. It's especially fun to go to the pool when it's snowing or when you can gaze at the Northern Lights above. The Blue Lagoon is great for the silica minerals, but the cost is about $25 per person, so we enjoy the local pools. We've stayed in Reykjavik on previous trips but we found the convenience to the airport and the Reykjanes Peninsula strong points for this small jewel of a hotel. Would highly recommend a stay at Hotel Keflavik!

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe Double for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and really handy for getting early morning flights. They offer free taxis every half hour to the airport and it takes about 10 minutes to get there. The rooms are nice and the free wifi is great. There's not much to do around the around the hotel once you get there so try not to get there too early in the day! The hotel has two lounges which are spacious and comfortable. We ordered dominos and ate it in the lounge which was nice. The hotel definitely works very well as airport hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJF97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidjons, Front Office Manager at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for a kind review. I'm glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. I'm also glad that you found our free WiFi and airport shuttle convenient.

However - I disagree with you when you say that there is nothing to do in Keflavik :) on our website we have loads of information on what to do in the nearest surroundings.

If you'll ever be in Iceland again - please contact us as we'd love to have you as our future guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had the family suite which was HUGE - 2 bedrooms with a queen in one and 2 singles in other.
Room was clean, beds comfy.
Lobby has airport departures monitor to check on your flight.
Breakfast was included and had LOADS of different things from cereal, breads, pastries, cold meats, cheese.....probably best we've had on our trip.
Easy 5 minutes to the airport.

Room Tip: Family suites are HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAussieBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidjons, Front Office Manager at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad that we were able to exceed your expectations concerning the room amd breakfast.

If you'll ever be in Keflavik again please contact us directly and we'll put together something nice :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N U L
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

we spent 4 nights at Hotel Keflavik but wished we had stayed for more. the staff are very friendly and the hotel is very homely and kept very clean. we were upgraded to a junior suite which is larger than the deluxe double that we had booked and also had a whirlpool bath which was very relaxing, white fluffy towels were changed daily and hand soap and shower gel provided. I wished i could take the bed home with me as it was like sleeping on a cloud. David on the reception was very helpful organizing trips for us saving a lot of our time and money. the breakfast had an excellent choice and set you up for the day and after a day out in the cold to come in to a hot cup of chocolate or coffee free of charge was very welcoming. i am sure we shall return to Hotel Keflavik to see the friends that we made whilst there. the hotel provides a transfer to the airport one way which makes life simpler. Keep up the good work all of you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisparker216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidjons, Front Office Manager at Hotel Keflavik, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review,

I'm glad that you were able to enjoy your 4 night stay at Hotel Keflavik. As we have mentioned a lot of times, we always try to give our guests an free upgrade if the occupancy allows. Our Junior Suites are one of our most beautiful suites and I'm glad you enjoyed all the effort that we have put in them to make them as beautiful as we can. We have now been renovating a huge amount of rooms at the Hotel.

Thank you - again - for the kind review and kind words in the regard of me and Hotel Keflavik. Please contact us again, if you'll ever be in the Keflavik area again and we'll try to get you the same Suite next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
2.0 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keflavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keflavik

Property: Hotel Keflavik
Address: Vatnsnesvegur, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Keflavik 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keflavik is positioned in the heart of Keflavik. It is only 5 minutes from the airport, but still with all the perks of an downtown hotel, close to restaurants, shops and museums. We hope you will enjoy your stay at Hotel Keflavik, we want to provide you with the warm feeling of a family-run establishment but still the quality and service of a 4 star hotel. Please note that from the 1st of May 2017 our complimentary transfer from the hotel to the airport will be available every 30 minutes from 04:00-10:00 and every 60 minutes from 11:00 – 14:00. Transfer needs to be booked the day before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keflavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keflavik Hotel Keflavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing