We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Keflavik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Keflavik
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. We arrived very early from a overseas flight. we had a rental car and had hoped that maybe they would offer us a room to clean up and have a quick nap but no such luck. They may have been full.
The hotel does look typical older european style but the rooms inside have been done up very nice, clean and modern. We had no complaints of our Family room which was 2 bedrooms seperated by a little entry way. bathroom was very modern and functional. Shower pressure was great.
The morning breakfast was exceptional and the coffee was just what we hoped for every morning. There is a gas station next door. We were les than 5 minutes from airport. Did not hear the planes departing until 8am each morning. never a noise issue.
Front desk staff were helpful and soke good english.
Wi-fi reception in the bedrooms was sporadic but in the little common area down the hall was fine.
If you have an early morning departure then this is a great bet since Reykavik city centre is a solid 40min drive. Nicely located also for Blue Lagoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spurgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    276
    120
    28
    26
See reviews for
198
356
63
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is bland but practical if you have an early flight out. The decor is quite dated, but the place is clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is served from 5 am and the hotel has a free shuffle bus to the airport (5-10 minutes away).

The breakfast selection was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oslo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

An OK hotel that is a 5-10 minute drive from the airport. Certainly nothing special, the place feels slightly 1980's but it is clean and the breakfast was good. I would not recommend staying here unless you are desperate to be near the airport but for function (our flight landed at 00.30) it does what you need it to, just unspectacularly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finbar_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for a night before driving north and it was exactly what we needed as the location was very convenient to the airport. We booked a junior suite which had plenty of room, a very comfy bed with a big whirlpool soaker tub. The decor in the room was slightly dated but it had all the amenities including a fridge, safe and tea and coffee facitlities. There is a free coffee machine in the main lobby that serves up a fantastic hot chocolate.

The restaurant was unfortunately closed because we were there on Boxing Day but the front desk staff were helpful in suggesting an alternate location to eat. Breakfast was exactly what you needed with lots of options. I would definitely recommend this if you are looking for somewhere close to the airport for a stopover.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I had a lovely stay here, although it was only for one night (an airport stopover). I stayed in a single room, which was tiny but very comfortable. You can't walk here from the airport, but it's just a short taxi ride. The hotel is located in the centre of Keflavik, walking distance to nearby shops, restaurants, and bars. Breakfast was great and service was very friendly. It would be a good base of exploration for the Reykjanes peninsula and the Blue Lagoon. I'd happily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Although the room was quite small, it was very well equipped with Tea and Coffee, Radio, TV, nice en-suite, and it was comfortable and cosy. The breakfast was excellent, great choice, nice coffee, and lots to choose from in Pastries and Meats.
There was plenty of parking, and the staff were very courteous.

Room Tip: The top floor has balconies so if your a smoker, ask for one up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed for one night prior to our return flight to London which left at 8:30 in the morning. We wanted to be close to the airport because of the early start, and also wanted to visit the nearby Blue Lagoon on our last day.

The Hotel fulfilled our expectations given the room rate and quality of accommodation. The room was nicely furnished, warm and clean. The fact that breakfast is served from 5am is brilliant for those with early flights. The hotel has on-road parking outside and a car park opposite

We walked into town to eat in the evening – there were a few restaurants but nothing really suitable for vegetarians. We settled on the ‘Panda’ which is a Chinese take away/restaurant – very pleased we found it as the food was excellent with a good veggie selection!

We wouldn’t visit Keflavik other than as an airport stop over, but would use this Hotel again if we had an early or late flight

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sham63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keflavik
2.0 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
100 reviews
21.3 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keflavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keflavik

Property: Hotel Keflavik
Address: Vatnsnesvegur, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Keflavik 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keflavik is positioned in the heart of Keflavik. It is only 5 minutes from the airport, but still with all the perks of an downtown hotel, close to restaurants, shops and museums. We hope you will enjoy your stay at Hotel Keflavik, we want to provide you with the warm feeling of a family-run establishment but still the quality and service of a 4 star hotel. Please note that from the 1st of May 2017 our complimentary transfer from the hotel to the airport will be available every 30 minutes from 04:00-10:00 and every 60 minutes from 11:00 – 14:00. Transfer needs to be booked the day before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keflavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keflavik Hotel Keflavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing