We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice place”
Review of Thai Keflavik

Thai Keflavik
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Keflavik
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice place”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had an extremely good experience at thai Keflavik. The kindest staff, great authentic food (almost as being in Thailand), really fair prices, and a great deal for take aways. I Will give This place my Best recommendations, and definetly be coming back to This small culinary gem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rune J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    83
    42
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The meal was reasonably priced. Service was attentive and manager was present and food was good. Would go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmcHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A warm haven on a wet Sunday night...”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Heading out to find food on my last night in Keflavik, I decided to give Icelandic Thai a try on the advice of a friend who lives locally.
Admittedly there is a cultural fusion going on here, but I mean that in a good way, spicy fish and scallop seafood soup to start, generous with the portion size, and certainly not tight on the very fresh tasting fish and shell fish in there.
I then went on to a fried fish served with tamarind sauce and fries on the side, a few cans of Gull to go with it - again obviously freshest fish was used and served by the very friendly Icelandic owner.
The interior was warm, clean and welcoming, the picture window gave a great vista to watch the weather attacking the high street while I sat in the warm and enjoyed some great food. I am looking forward to going again. About GB£27.00 for 2 courses and drinks, it gets my vote!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DemonBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The restaurant is really cosy. I had a selection of four dishes with my wife. The pork was really special. The restaurant gives you and good value for money - I would return

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkenberg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's absolutely worth every penny!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is definitely our favorite restaurant in Keflavik and we always go there when in town . It's owned and run by the family members from both Thailand and Iceland and that's a fact that can be tasted through their excellent food! We always start by ordering one portion of the deep fried vegetable dish while deciding on the main course from the menu ( my mouth is dribbling from writing this). No matter what you order you can not go wrong with this place. Staff is friendly but could do with extra staff during busy hours although the wait is certainly worth every minute. The interior is simple but nice and the prices are lower than one would expect and that goes for both the food and drinks. If in town this place is a must to try out but be aware you might get addicted.

One extra thing I want to mention that you would not expect to get in a restaurant is that they rent out bicycles to explore this wonderful town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Th_Jonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Keflavik also viewed

Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
Keflavik, Reykjanes Peninsula
 

Been to Thai Keflavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing