We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest place in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Berg
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Jensen Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nicest place in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everything about this small family run place is wonderful. It is a home, with beautiful rooms, a sitting area and kitchen - not a hotel. The owners are thoughtful, gave us great advice, and more than accomodating. It is located on the outskirts of town, which is nice, right next to the old marina. It also is only about a 5-10 minute ride to the airport and they will give you a ride. When I offered a tip, I was told 'no' this is part of our service. The bed was so-o-o comfortable, the breakfast extensive, and our stay too short.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    165
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
120
440
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staying here after getting in on a late flight was a great decision. This place is top of the line. A spotless, beautifully decorated, professional hotel (with the charm and character of a great B&B). The rooms to stay in are the suites (rooms 1 and 2). Breakfast is more than sufficient with waffles, eggs, cereal, smoked salmon, fresh bread and juices. The rooms are well decorated and pleasant. The only negative is that the walls are a little thin and you can hear your neighbors as well as activity in the hallway - but luckily the guests here seem to be on the quitter side. I would not recommend this property to families with young children. On a personal note, I am rarely surprised by new hotels I stay at - most adhere too closely to the adage "you get what you pay for" - but Hotel Berg surprised me because of the attention to detail and the number of amenities. This is a property that pays attention to the details more than the bottom line (a dying breed in the hotel world). By far the best value I experienced in Iceland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We headed straight here from our late night flight, so arrived at the hotel at midnight just gone. It was chucking it down with rain and windy outside, so we were extra pleased to be greeted so warmly by the lady at reception. The hotel itself was full of character, especially all of the ornaments and pictures on the wall. Also the bulldog behind reception on his little leather bed was very sweet! The room was stylish and comfortable.

Breakfast was a help yourself affair as with most hotels in Iceland, with access to a waffle maker, yoghurts/cereals, bread, cold meats/cheese, cakes and biscuits.

It's just a shame that our stay here was so short as we left the next day to start touring around Iceland! Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky8985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel situated less than 10 minutes from the Airport but you wouldnt know it. Landed at Kevlavik and rang the hotel 15 minutes later we were in our room. Very friendly family run hotel great seafood restaurant 2 minutes walk. We wanted to rent a car and the hotel sorted this out for us having the car delivered and picked up from the hotel. Great location for exploring the south of Iceland.

Room Tip: We choose a room at the front of the hotel with fantastic view over the Mariner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandjchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after the evening arrival of our flight from the UK. The owner collected us from the airport and the hotel is located a few minutes drive away on the edge of a small town. The town itself has a few small bars and restaurants, so good for a night. It's a small hotel with a few rooms and lounge areas and a breakfast room. The rooms are comfortable and some overlook the water, ours did not. The next morning they helpfully arranged a hire car and we were off.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

we were moved here beacuse the hotel we had reserved was overbooked. This was a great move. what a nice hotel! Clean and stylish. I had a modern suite with a loft. nice stereo and tv. great bathrooms. Breakfast was wonderful. would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arpromos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose Hotel Berg viewing the great reviews online at Tripadvisor.

The hotel did not disappoint in some ways. The location, the view, the staff and the service were great.

However, this may not meet the conveniences of a traveller who is spoilt by the facilities of a full service hotel like the neighbouring Hotel Keflavik.

Facilities like laundry, room service, etc. are not available here as this place is not full service. A buffet with limited choice is what you have for breakfast.

Since I would like a full service hotel,for all those spoilt by full service like me, I would suggest the neighbouring Hotel Keflavik instead.

For whatever is available here, it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prjayachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keflavik
0.7 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.5 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
21.3 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berg

Property: Hotel Berg
Address: Bakkavegur 17 | Bakkavegi 17, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berg is a brand new hotel beside the small boat harbour in Keflavík. It stands above the promenade, which is floodlit from 6 September each year then throughout the winter season.Our guests awake to the sound of birdsong. Fishermen sail colourful small vessels in and out of the harbour. The views from the hotel windows are magnificent, with stunning natural vistas in all directions. The sunsets over Garðskagi, just a short distance from the hotel, are one of the most delightful sights Iceland has to offer.At Hotel Berg, we do our very best to provide you with all the comforts of home. We will attend to your requests in a relaxed, personal manner as we seek to create a pleasant atmosphere, while at the same time meeting your requirements for high-quality furnishings and facilities. We run the hotel as a family – a mature couple and our grown-up children – and we live on the premises.Hotel Berg has eleven rooms with accommodation for 22 people. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, wireless Internet, a safe, high-quality bedding, a fridge, a hair-drier and other conveniences. You will find further information by clicking the Rooms link above.Enjoy a breakfast buffet between 07:00 and 10:00. Early breakfasts are available when ordered in advanced.A fire burns in the sitting room hearth, casting a warm glow over the elegant Icelandic furniture. The stunning view from the window looks over the harbour and the town to the ocean and distant mountains.Take a soothing dip in the hot tub outside on the patio. When the sky is clear on a crisp winter evening, you may even catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing