We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”
Review of Hotel Berg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berg
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I honestly think there is no better b&b or hotel in Keflavik area. This hotel is a perfect example of how fantastic accommodation should look/feel like; clean, friendly owners, good breakfast, great location, no hidden or nonsense charges, good size bathroom, comfortable bed, free parking, welcoming feel. We plan on coming back to Iceland soon and I shall definitely stay at this b&b again. While this hotel is an excellent option for travelers in/out of KEF airport, I would definitely recommend a stay here to explore other parts of Reykjanes peninsula or the Blue Lagoon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LBC3691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 817 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you need a place after flying in or before flying out, look no further. Hotel Berg is ideally located - only a few miles from KEF, the room are nice, spacious, clean and well equipped. The bathroom was by far the largest (and nicest) we had anywhere in Iceland. The staff is very helpful. They even prepare breakfast for you when you leave early in the morning (around 5 am in our case), and also drive you to the airport. Actually a shame we only stayed there for our pre-departure night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel Berg is a new hotel with excellent facilities. It is located a few minutes from Keflavik Intl. Airport and so is a good place to stay if you have an early morning departure. They offer tranfers to the airport.
The room was very comfortable and quiet. Nice common area and tea/coffee. The breakfast buffet (included) offers a very good selection of choices and is available early in the morning for those needing to leave for the airport early. Within easy walking distance to a variety of restaurants.
Recommended.
Price is a little high but is in line with Iceland prices.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crowhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I spent a night at the Hotel Berg before an early morning flight to Boston. We found the hotel to be very comfortable, and the breakfast was available by 6 am, which was very helpful. The location next to the boat harbor is pretty, and the town of Keflavik is pleasant. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, a good place to end or start a trip.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the boat harbor is especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet/George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Staff very friendly, close to airport, and comfortable accommodations. Just as advertised in Trip Advisor! Would certainly stay here again next time we pass through Iceland.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank derbyking98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hotel Berg is located not far from Keflavik Airport which makes it a perfect place at the beginning or end of a trip through Iceland. Although we arrived after midnight, there was someone at the reception to welcome us. Everything is very familiar and cosy. The breakfast room and buffet is connected with an open kitchen and there is a sitting area overlooking the small harbour. You feel as if staying with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had an early return flight back from a superb holiday in Iceland and decided that the most convenient thing to do would be to stay the night in a hotel in Keflavik. Having had an indifferent experience previously in Keflavik it was a true delight to find as superb a gem of a boutique place to stay as Hotel Berg. It is located right by the recently redeveloped harbour with a very pretty view out across the boats. It is a brand new (2011), small hotel that I discovered had been built by the owner, whose previous job was that of a professional house builder. This shows in the quality of the place and fittings with lovely, spacious modern rooms and a brilliant bathroom that was stylish, bright and spotlessly clean with an excellent shower and facilities. There is also a beautiful lounge and hallway with floor to ceiling views of the harbour, books and games and fantastic furnishings plus an iPad full of music and local information. Plus, to top it all, there is a bean-to-cup coffee machine together with a selection of decent teas and a free wifi connection so that you can properly relax on the comfy sofas and chairs. Our stay here was made all the happier by the extremely nice and helpful hosts. Indeed, we needed to leave for a flight at 0530h and the owner insisted on taking us to the airport!! This was truly beyond the call of duty, but greatly appreciated although I would happily have hired a taxi. You might also have thought that this early start would mean missing breakfast but, no, a great spread was set out in a dedicated kitchen area and I just feel sorry that with our limited time we could not do justice to it. Hotel Berg was the best place we stayed in Iceland. A true gem of a place that I hope does well, as it clearly deserves to. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keflavik
0.7 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
155 reviews
9.7 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
2.5 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#5 of 9 in Keflavik
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#8 of 9 in Keflavik
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berg

Address: Bakkavegur 17 | Bakkavegi 17, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range: $128 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berg 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berg is a newly renovated four star boutique hotel located by the picturesque marina in Keflavik. The hotel is decorated in Scandinavian style with furnitures from Hay, Norr11 and Icelandic design. All rooms have a private bathroom with an overhead shower and bathrobes. A warm sitting pool on the 2nd floor is available for all of our guests to use free of charge and is the perfect place to relax in and enjoy the view towards the marina. It´s only a five minute drive to the international airport, 15 minutes to the Blue Lagoon and 40 minutes to downtown Reykjavik. There are museums and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast is available from 3:00 AM for those who are travelling from Iceland and the hotel offers a free shuttle to the airport. There is a lounge where our guests can enjoy a drink by the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing