We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around Husavik
from $86.48
More Info
from $158.36
More Info
from $92.10
More Info
from $146.01
More Info
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveler rating
358
257
51
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
358
257
51
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue whale skeleton free coffee whale museum on display whale bones whaling history whale watching tour whale hunting gift shop interesting place life size full size different types interesting exhibits entrance fee worth a stop great whale
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 673 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2019

Though not huge by any means, this museum offers the visitor a rich portfolio of documentation, photographs and artefacts on the world's largest mammal. Very child friendly with a separate room where children can learn about whales through play and visual education, it is definitely a must. The adjacent souvenir shop offers a good selection of literature and gifts without being overloaded.
Pricing is within the average for museum tickets.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank DuschanT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HusavikWhaleMuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Husavik Whale Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Thank you for reviewing the Húsavík Whale Museum.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the visit.

Kind regards,
The Húsavík Whale Museum staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

We visited in April and were the only ones in there, so spent a lovely hour wandering around. Good info on each whale species. Some excellent skeletons, and interesting videos. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Jude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HusavikWhaleMuseum, Front Office Manager at The Husavik Whale Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear Jude
Thank you for the visit to the museum and the good review. We're pleased that you liked our skeletons and the information. We agree that a visit to the museum is always a great choice :)


Best regards,

Heiðar Halldórsson
Húsavík Whale Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

My husband, 4-year old, and I visited the museum yesterday and we had a great time. Like all of the museums we have visited throughout Iceland (this is our 4th time), we found it highly informative - hubby and I concur “academic” in a good way. One needs to be willing to spend some time reading and delving into the material. Our little guy loved the Yellow Submarine kiddie feature. The current Rena Ortega exhibit is fantastic - I fell in love with her work (see some photos below). Nice guy working at the front counter. We spent ~1.5 hours here.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank AliceL221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HusavikWhaleMuseum, Front Office Manager at The Husavik Whale Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Hello Alice
Thank you for your great visit and the awesome review. So good to hear that you enjoyed our exhibitions so much and that everybody in the family could be entertained during the visit. We agree that if one really find him/herself interested in the subjects, spending 1,5 hours in the museum is really easy.
We were very lucky to get Rena Ortega in our squad. Her drawings are brilliant and no wonder we have decided to use the design on serveral of our souvenirs.

Thank you and welcome again.

Best regards,
Heiðar Halldórsson
Húsavík Whale Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

Awesome place to see if you're into whales or after/before going on a whale watching trip! We had a discount after going on a whale trip so this was an amazing deal!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Chrisbrkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HusavikWhaleMuseum, Front Office Manager at The Husavik Whale Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear Chris
Thank you for the visit to the museum and the good review. We agree that a visit to the museum is always a great choice :)


Best regards,

Heiðar Halldórsson
Húsavík Whale Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019

I honestly didn't expect this museum to be as good as it was. Originally going expecting to kill a bit of time, we spent a good hour in this museum, learning so much about all the different types of whales and the whaling history of the region. I found it especially interesting that they told you the story of how they acquired each whale skeleton (i.e: not through whaling!). A great, informative museum and well worth a visit when you're in Husavik.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HusavikWhaleMuseum, Front Office Manager at The Husavik Whale Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear Simone

Thank you for visiting the museum and the extra positive review. It's always feels like a energy boost when we here about the museum exceeding one's expectations. The stories of how we acquired the skeletons is important in the whole picture as a) we want to point out that we didn't get our skeletons by whaling, and b) upon the museum's establishment naturally we didn't know how many skeletons we could on display, or when. Luckily we were able to collect various skeletons in a time span of a few years. The story of how we got each one is unique and it's pleasant to see that you noticed it.
Thank you again for coming. Always welcome back.

Best regards,
Heiðar Halldórsson
Húsavík Whale Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews