We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Stay In Iceland-Again!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Husavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaldbaks-kot Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Our Best Stay In Iceland-Again!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Yes, Kaldbaks-Kot Cottages is truly a special place and now we have stayed here for 2 years in a row. I am traveling with my 90 year old mom, and she wanted to return to Iceland on our way back to Canada from the UK. Specifically she asked to stay here for a couple of days because it is located in such a stunningly beautiful location, plus it is clean, comfortable, relaxing and quiet. Additionally Husavik has some great whale watching.

There is understated warmth, adventurism and excitement here. This obviously is not big city adventure, but rather an encounter with nature, raw scenic beauty and wildlife. What a great mix, we are surrounded by beautiful snow covered mountains, enclosing a fjord that leads towards Arctic waters, beautiful lush greenery and flowering lupines, aquatic birds, Icelandic horses, and extended days and clean fresh healthy air. Oh gosh, I forgot to mention the chance to see the largest animals that have ever lived on this planet, whales.
Staying at Kaldbaks-Kot Cottages just makes all of this that much more enjoyable, warm and relaxing. We had a lovely 2 bedroom pine cottage overlooking a fresh water pond or lagoon with ducks and loons and swans drifting and paddling about, baby ducks swimming close to their mother and a balcony with chairs and a small table to sit and watch peacefully as nature unfolds in front and all around you. Nearby is a naturally heated pond that I am sure would be extremely soothing to bath in. ted to st

Inside, the first thing you notice is the warmth and comfort, because even if it is a bit cool or breezy outside, inside the cabin there is ample geothermal heating. These are fully equipped cottages with TV, kitchen cooking facilities, refrigerator, sink, dinnerware, a great shower and bathroom, sofa, dining room table and chairs, wi-fi, yes wi-fi. All this inside a cozy pine cottage, so relaxing, so cozy and so warm and comfortable. Really can't be beat in my books, or my 90 year old mom's for that matter!

Additionally we took advantage of the option to have breakfasts supplied by our hosts. It was just easier for us to do that, if we were staying longer, I am sure that we could have cooked our own breakfasts, but as we were only staying for 2 nights this made more sense. The breakfast dining room is very cozy, rustic and quaint. Cereals, hot coffee, vegetables, cold meats, fresh breads, tea, cheeses, lots of good and satisfying foods to eat in a comfortable relaxing setting. As this is a family run accommodation I must send a thanks to them for creating such a wonderful place and opening their lives and location up to travelers from all of the world. They are caring, warm, understated and most importantly very accommodating! Thank you to them.

Comfort, beauty, relaxation, adventure, nature, warmth, kind caring people. That might be a microcosm for Iceland. Truly a very magnetic location on the planet for those who like a little out of the ordinary, or who have an appreciation for natural beauty. We found a little of all Iceland and lot of enjoyment with our stay at Kaldbaks-kot Cottages. We loved it, again, it really was our best stay in Wonderful Iceland, and we looking forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleuemoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    66
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
133
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We, a family of 3, stayed at this fantastic place! Our wood cabin fronted the beautiful lake with plenty of wildlife, especially birds and ducks. Also, free fishing on the lake. We enjoyed the several hiking paths, especially the one around the lake. The cabin was a cozy and comfortable two bedroom with bath and kitchen. It was well maintained and very clean. It is so peaceful and tranquil there that you wish you could stay there for a month or more! We were only able to stay 3 nights. The owners are very friendly and helpful about sightseeing in the area. Down the road is a nice golf course, which you can rent clubs.

Room Tip: Get cabin facing the lake great wildlfe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eringobragh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

There isn't much choice in Husavik, and this technically isn't in town (it's about a mile outside). It is a collection of small cottages that are unnecessarily cramped. It is seemingly geared toward campers, because you pay extra for everything (bedding, breakfast, cleaning). Our reservation was confirmed for a double, but the bed is walled on three sides, so only one person can use it. They apparently know this, because there is a foam pad under the couch and extra bedding to use that for the other person. And of course we had to make up our own beds. Funny idea of a "double," and frankly, we felt deceived. There was no door on the bedroom, the bathroom sink was miniscule, no curtains for the midnight sun, no bath mat, cheap rubber foam (lumpy) pillows. In short, corners were cut everywhere. The lady who checked us in was curt and seeminly interested only in getting our money. All that said, the setting is terrific, overlooking wetlands filled with birds and the bay with mountains in the background from the windows or the nice front porch. Binoculars were provided, and there are hot tubs scattered on the property. Kitchen facilities included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May during our 12 day trip across Iceland.
It's no surprise that this place has great reviews, The cottages are very nice and comfortable and give you enough space away from the other cottages.
However, the main thing for me is the scenery and the wildlife that surrounds this place.
The amount of birdlife around here at the end of May was amazing (brought due to insects which oddly enough I didn't really notice).
There are a few restaurants in Husavik (Icelandic expensive) but we just decided to buy food from the local supermarket (very reasonable priced) a few mins down the road and have BBQ's every night, sitting outside and admiring the view (there's a BBQ at all the cabins I saw). I certainly wouldn't want to be eating in restaurants when you have, arguably (and I've travelled a fair bit) one the best views that I have ever seen. The sounds of the wildlife and birds incorporated into this view makes this place very special. I rarely go back to a place (as I always like to see new things) but this place may be the exception.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham07930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

beautiful location, cozy cottage, with good cooking facilities. I can't say enough about the setting - with such an amazing view across the bay.
The walks down towards the bay were very nice, watch out for those dive-boming birds though.
The town is a short drive away - whale watching, restaurants, and food shopping...very nice. I wish could have stayed more than 2 nights

Room Tip: all looked nice. Our cottage was a bit further back, hidden a bit in the trees, so we didn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent three nights in Cottage # 6 and it was lovely. The cottages are in a very good condition, absolutely clean and very cozy. We loved sitting outside on the deck for breakfast and dinner (we even did BBQ), enjoying the unforgettable views across the bay. The surrounding is pure, peaceful nature. Shops, cafes and a grocery store are nearby in the town of Husavik. We loved the free hot pot around the corner in which we sat in the evenings and during midnight sun. Our stay in the cottage was right at the beginning of our two-weeks roundtrip around Iceland, and it was the best and most relaxing stay during the entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elbsebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

we had a marvellous time in the Husavik cottages. We stayed in the two combined cottages next to eachother, one with a bed, the other with bed, kitchen,living and bathroom. Everything excellent equiped. It feels utterly luxurious to stay in a place so calm, sunny and peacefull. Whalewatching is round the bend. We dreamed of winning the lottery and buying the place...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Husavik
1.6 mi away
Fosshotel Husavik
Fosshotel Husavik
#1 of 2 in Husavik
319 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Laugar
Hotel Laugar
#1 of 1 in Laugar
11 reviews
1.5 mi away
Guesthouse Arbol
Guesthouse Arbol
#1 of 14 in Husavik
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Guesthouse Brekka
Guesthouse Brekka
#2 of 14 in Husavik
66 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tungulending Guesthouse
Tungulending Guesthouse
#1 of 12 in Husavik
50 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel & Guesthouse Raudaskrida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaldbaks-kot Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaldbaks-kot Cottages

Property: Kaldbaks-kot Cottages
Address: Kaldbak | Myvatn, Husavik 640, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Husavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful cottages with private facilities in Husavik, the Whale watching Capital of Europe. Excellent location on the scenic "Diamond Ring Road": The Husavik-Dettifoss-Myvatn-Husavik round-trip journey. The location is extraordinary as it has breathtaking view, abundant bird-life, spectacular nature and wildlife, country comfort and urban activities and service in town. A unique mixture of country comfort and urban live. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaldbaks-Kot Cottages Hotel
Kaldbaks Kot Hotel Husavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing