We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaldbaks-kot Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Husavik
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Hotel Laugar(Laugar)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Fosshotel Myvatn(Skutustadahreppur)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Reykjahlid(Lake Myvatn)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Ibudir(Akureyri)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Akureyri(Akureyri)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (232)
    Filter reviews
    232 results
    Traveler rating
    135
    68
    23
    4
    2
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    135
    68
    23
    4
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe cottageshot potamazing viewsfront porchthe kitchenfantastic placewhale watchingsnow capped mountainsdiamond circletwo nightsnational parkrowing boatsmall living roomtranquil locationhorse ridingnice hot tubmixed feelings
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    94 - 99 of 232 reviews
    Reviewed September 8, 2013

    Fresh from have stayed there for three nights. The cottages are small but lovely. Very well designed given the small space (and you might struggle with too much luggage), very clean, and nice decor, but best of all is the fantastic setting and wonderful views.

    Location couldn't be better. Great for whale watching ( we saw a few which was pretty great), easy journey down to the beautiful Myvatn lake area, and within comfortable reach of the amazing Jokulsargljufur National Park.

    The hot tubs are almost too hot, and plentiful, there is even a lovely little lake with a couple of boats to row out and admire the majestic scenery. The cabins are well spaced so you have a good sense of privacy, and our cabin had breathtaking views across Skjalfandi. As others comment - the owners are friendly and helpful - and it is beautifully peaceful and quiet. As far as being rustic? Well yes but pretty much is a very civilised European way.

    Oh and we saw the Northern lights which just added to the pleasures.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Chalky33
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 20, 2013

    Probably one of the most beautiful places I stayed in Iceland. Unfortunately, we could only stayed for one night. The Reception is in a house where the owner lives.
    The wooden huts are arround a lake and with view to Husavik bay and the snowy mountains. It is quite rustic, but confortable enough for some days. In our hut the were a small living room-kitchenette and a separated room with bathroom.
    I really recommend to stay here at least 2/3 nights. Price around 130€ per night.

    Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    2  Thank Joan D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 29, 2013

    Wonderful little cottages in an absolutely brilliant location. This is the ideal spot for peace and quiet. The cottages are cosy and well maintained. Make sure to bring basic provisions from the supermarket in Husavik and relax in the hot tubs.

    Plenty to enjoy in Husavik itself and reasonably good restaurants for evening supper.

    All in all well worth a visit and the cottages won't disappoint.

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank FellWalkers_10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 17, 2013

    We stayed here 2 nights, and would have been happy with two weeks. The cottages are cozy (and well equipped), but the view (especially from the hot tubs!) makes up for it! We saw whales spouting from our front porch the first night. Each cottage is set so that it doesn't have a view of the others, and they are far enough apart that we didn't hear the neighbors, just the amazing array of birds. We were gone each day before breakfast was served but I'm sure that was fine as well. The cabin was snug, but good for 2 people. The water comes from the aquifer, so you had to let it stand to get rid of the sulphur smell, but it tasted fine and made for a great shower after whale watching. The only surprise was being asked if we'd brought our own linens - that was a first! But it was still absolutely worth it for anyone interested in beauty and peace.

    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SueBee2011
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 16, 2013

    Now after 3 trips in 2 years to Iceland, we have come across somewhere quite different and wonderfully unique, Kaldbaks-kot Cottages. Read below the top easons why we liked it so.

    1. Location, Location, Location. Yes that is the #1 reason why this is such a fantastic place. Wish we could have stayed more than 1 night, they really cater to longer stays, with their fully equipped housekeeping cottages, but the views and the location are second to none.
    2. We needed a comfortable place. We were doing the circle road round Iceland, in 4 days! One of our days was to go whale watching in Husavik and this was our accommodation that we chose, a wise choice on both accounts. (check out our review of North Sailing which I rated as excellent).
    3. Our cozy quaint pine cottage. Was clean, spacious, well appointed and comfortable, and totally adorable! If you were staying for a few days or a week you would be very comfortable and have a great time.
    4. Our hosts. We had a cottage that we were given, but there was no gorgeous view. We had travelled thousands of miles to come here, and driven many many miles that day from Vik on the far south of Iceland to come to these cottages at Husavik, to not have the view they show would have been a let down and a crime, when I mentioned this they upgraded us to a superior cabin with a superb view.
    5. Iceland. It's all so just totally breathtaking! There is so much to say about Iceland, it is either the most enchanting, captivating, unique, beautiful and mystifying place you have ever been or not. For me, it is the former. Kaldbaks-Kot Cottages are a stunning representation of what Iceland is. We sat one beautiful early June night on our cottage's front porch. Before us lay a tranquil fresh water lagoon, ducks and water birds were paddling and splashing loons were singing in harmony giving us a beautiful chorus, white swans floating gracefully before us. For us after driving 14 or more hours to get here, this is a perfect end to a tiring day, already it is 10 pm, the sky is still fully lit and the rays of the sun are streaming through the clouds and shimmering against the fjord laying before us and the adjoining mountains across the fjord in the distance. The air is clear and pure, with a taste of the sea in it, we are only 60 kms or so from the Arctic circle, it's all just amazing and stunning, and then as if this wasn't completely enough we see about 4 riders on Iceland horses, gallop out around the edge of the lagoon as if suspended above the distant fjord as they chase each other in frolicking play. To us it is all so very magical and the serendipity beyond belief. You just wish that time could stand still and you could take this in for ages.

    Total price was approximately $200 US for one night.
    Great value for both the accommodation and the amazing location, view and ambiance.

    Highly recommended to anyone travelling to Husavik, we loved it!

    Room Tip: Book early. Make sure you have a cabin with a view of the lagoon and fjord, not all of them do!
    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Bleuemoon2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews