We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Husavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaldbaks-kot Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second trip to Iceland but it was our first time in the North. We loved our stay in the cottages near Husavik. The cottages are located on the water with a stunning view of the mountains and sea. We enjoyed watching the swans living in front of our cabin and the nice walking trails right out the front door. The three nights we spent in this cottage was the most peaceful, relaxing part of our ten day vacation. We were happy to be able to cook our own simple meals which helped with our travel budget but was also more relaxing and cozy than eating out. The cottage is small but very comfortable and private. We stayed in the one bedroom cottage. Both my husband and I say that this was our favorite place to stay in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 232 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

For three guys doing a more budget inclined trip around the island this was an unexpected gem. For the same price as we'd paid on the south coast for 3 bunk beds in a dingy cellar here we got two private bedrooms with very comfortable beds, a good sized living room, a small but functional kitchen alcove, our own bathroom and shower - and to top it off a veranda with one of the best views of the whole trip.
There are plenty of electrical outlets though the WiFi doesn't make it reliably to all the cottages.
Husavik is close by, but here you have much more privacy and quiet.
We could just stay the one night, but for someone looking to set up base for a few days this would be perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzyscanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful log cabin in September - The cabin was clean and cosy, had everything and you could need and more, carefully planned to maximise space while still being practical!
The setting was lovely, the view was fabulous - lake, sea and mountains topped with snow - the sunsets were spectacular and we even saw the Northern lights one night and as there were no street lights we had a fantastic clear view!
The only down side was that the internet connection only worked properly outside the cabin and nearest shop was a 40min walk - not too bad in the sun but not fun in the wind and rain - next time we will hire a car (the owner did offer her services but we didn't like to impose) we did go with the idea of just "chilling out" and someone from Reykjavk asked why Husavik - all I can say is - Beautiful Log cabin in perfect setting, wonderful views, seeing Whales up close and the Northern Lights - pefection! Will definitely go again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage no4 - which had a clear view over the lake and the Hot Tub was just a few secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited Kaldsbaks-kot Cottages in mid-July of 2012, and everything about the experience was fantastic. The caretaker and his wife received us promptly, the cottage itself was well maintained and stocked, and the little extra bits of attention to detail were well appreciated. The water here is all geothermally heated and smells a bit like sulfur, but it is perfectly safe to bathe in and wash dishes in (we much enjoyed the information cards explaining this, as well as the local insect life).

The sunset (or rather, the sun lowering closer to the horizon) was gorgeous over the bird sanctuary. Also available near pretty much every cottage were wooden hot tubs (also geothermally heated). Perfect for a relaxing dip after a long day of exploring the country.

This was by far the best accommodation we enjoyed in Iceland; excellent value!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walasavagephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Cozy cabins, excellent location near Húsavík and Mývatn area. Friendly staff. The hot tubs vere really hot:). Kitchenette in our cabin was a bit small, but we managed OK. The cabin was very clean and fresh and it was easy to keep that way. Olny thing that did not work was the internet connection. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Cabin #7 has a great view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have spent 4 days in a cottage near Husavik during our tour around Iceland. We have tried 9 different places to sleep, and hosnestly this is by far the best of our tries:
- a cute cottage, with a wonderful view on the fjord with some snow on the mountains. Good confort in the house, with a well furnished kitchen, and 2 good bedrooms for us and our 2 children.
- some appreciable hot pots where we enjoyed the sunset around midnight, with the sounds of many birds around.

We really like this place and we keep it in our mind for the next time we will come back in Iceland.

Just try it !

Marie-Anne et Jérôme from France (stay in July 2012)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerome l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

we really liked our stay in this place with a fantastic garden by the lake and close to the sea.
We were 8 friends that stayed in a cottage on our own. Very nice people owned this place in Kaldbakur near Husavik

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaA189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Husavik
1.6 mi away
Fosshotel Husavik
Fosshotel Husavik
#1 of 2 in Husavik
185 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Laugar
Hotel Laugar
#1 of 1 in Laugar
21 reviews
1.5 mi away
Guesthouse Arbol
Guesthouse Arbol
#2 of 15 in Husavik
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Guesthouse Brekka
Guesthouse Brekka
#1 of 15 in Husavik
79 reviews
0 mi away
Kidagil Guesthouse
Kidagil Guesthouse
#7 of 15 in Husavik
29 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Edda Storutjarnir
Hotel Edda Storutjarnir
#9 of 12 in Husavik
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaldbaks-kot Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaldbaks-kot Cottages

Address: Kaldbak | Myvatn, Husavik 640, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Husavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
Price Range: $86 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful cottages with private facilities in Husavik, the Whale watching Capital of Europe. Excellent location on the scenic "Diamond Ring Road": The Husavik-Dettifoss-Myvatn-Husavik round-trip journey. The location is extraordinary as it has breathtaking view, abundant bird-life, spectacular nature and wildlife, country comfort and urban activities and service in town. A unique mixture of country comfort and urban live. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaldbaks-Kot Cottages Hotel
Kaldbaks Kot Hotel Husavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing