We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Quiet”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Husavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaldbaks-kot Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
“Peace and Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Kaldbaks-kot Cottages was simply amazing. Our cottage was small, but cozy with all the amenities needed. The view from our front porch was simply spectacular. There was a beautiful bird sanctuary between the cottage and the fjord with walking trails throughout.

We stayed in many different places in iceland on our trip, and this by far was our favorite. We only spent two nights there, but wish we had stayed the whole week!

The Diamond Circle natural attractions were an easy day trip from the cottages.

Highly recommend if you love peace, quiet, and nature!!!!

Room Tip: Our cottage was the second to last on the property, away from the main building. We liked it becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    61
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Mans, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed to stay two nights in our two cottages (one for our 2 big children). It was clean and comfortable. We saw lots of birds around the lake, near the house. The hot pots seemed to be too hot for our children (but others people appreciate to stay in!). I keep this address if one day we come back in Iceland

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Laure-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were lucky enough to get two nights at the cottages on short notice. The place was easy to find, breathtaking on first sight, comfy all the time and will stay in our mind for long time! We will be back for sure!
Be sure to stay more than one night, be sure to bring your hiking gear and be prepared for an amazing view paired with such a soothing environment. We enjoyed really everything about the cottages (including the hot tubs and the BBQ) and were awestruck on the sailing whale watching trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in a cottage two nights in September, 2012. It was reasonably clean, though all of the furniture was quite dated and looking its age. The bed in particular felt old and was rather uncomfortable. You have to pay extra for linen - bedding and towels - and the linen is also quite old and rather threadbare. Since you pay extra for linen, you pick it up when you arrive and make the beds yourself. This is fine, but a bit of a nuisance if you arrive late (as we did). There was no one in reception when we arrived, or the next day when we wanted to stop by to say hi, or the following day when we wanted to pay. We had to call and wait around for them to show up to process payment. The cottages themselves are quaint and lovely, and the location is quite stunning, but the furniture, service, and linen charge did not impress me. For two nights in the smallest cottage in September, and this is discounted because it is not peak season, it was nearly $300. While a reasonably nice place, I question the value for this accommodation.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank chark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I studied the hotel map carefully before choosing this cottage and was not disappointed. It really has one of the best views over the lake and is more isolated/private that a lot of the other cabins. Only a hop distance away from the closest hot pot. We arrived much earlier than check-in time but the owner graciously allowed us to use our cabin. Most of the cottages were empty during the day and we really enjoyed the peace and quiet, relaxing in the hot pot in such a stunning setting. The cottage did not have the usual mildew smell that cabins usually have and was carefully maintained in a pretty pristine condition. There is not much going on in Husavik and Myvatn is an hour away at least. Gasoline in Iceland is way too precious to be driving back and forth every day. We were happy with our decision to spend one night in the cottage and three nights in Myvatn. I recommend you take Route 862 so you can see Asbyrgi, Vesturdalur and Dettifoss on the way to Myvatn. The route used to be 4WD only but is now usable for 2WD cars as well albeit at 10 miles per hour speed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theway02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Make no mistake: these are small cottages - but they are pristine and well-designed and thought out and very comfortable. Leave your suitcases in the car and you will be thrilled with this thrifty alternative to a hotel. Other cottages (elsewhere) are cobbled together with cast-offs but the Kaldbaks-kot cottages are thoughtfully outfitted and I appreciated the attention to detail. Moreover, the location is gorgeous and you can begin or end your day by following the trails around the fjord. Finally, the owners put on a breakfast that is worthy of their Viking ancestors!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAIL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We headed to Husavik for the whale watching tour. We booked the cottage in advance online and were glad we did because they were completely booked the night we were there. Unlike many online pictures and promotions, these accommodations are even better than how they appear online. When you go out on the porch for your morning coffee, you find yourself scheming how you can arrange to spend more time here. Yes, by American standards the cottages are small, but get over it. You're in Europe. Whoever did the site plan here, appreciated a sense of privacy. Cabin 15 seemed perfectly situated, but the two cabins beside it also seemed to afford great privacy and great views.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Psyberdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Husavik hotels
1.6 mi away
Fosshotel Husavik
Fosshotel Husavik
#2 of 2 in Husavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Guesthouse Arbol
Guesthouse Arbol
#1 of 14 in Husavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel & Guesthouse Raudaskrida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Guesthouse Brekka
Guesthouse Brekka
#2 of 14 in Husavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Husavik Cape Hotel
Husavik Cape Hotel
#4 of 14 in Husavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kidagil Guesthouse
Kidagil Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Husavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaldbaks-kot Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaldbaks-kot Cottages

Property: Kaldbaks-kot Cottages
Address: Kaldbak | Myvatn, Husavik 640, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Husavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Husavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful cottages with private facilities in Husavik, the Whale watching Capital of Europe. Excellent location on the scenic "Diamond Ring Road": The Husavik-Dettifoss-Myvatn-Husavik round-trip journey. The location is extraordinary as it has breathtaking view, abundant bird-life, spectacular nature and wildlife, country comfort and urban activities and service in town. A unique mixture of country comfort and urban live. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaldbaks-Kot Cottages Hotel
Kaldbaks Kot Hotel Husavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing