We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching during storm...”
Review of North Sailing

North Sailing
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.24*
and up
Original Whale Watching Tour on board a Traditional Oak Ship from Husavik
More Info
$144.65*
and up
Whale and Puffin Watching on Board a Traditional Oak Sailing Ship from Husavik
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Husavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Eco-friendly whale watching since 1995! Pioneers in whale watching and sustainable tourism, North Sailing is a dedicated family company with a great respect for wildlife and nature. Since the beginning in Husavik, in 1995, North Sailing has been awarded both nationally and internationally for innovation, regional development and sustainability. The Husavik original whale watching tour with North Sailing has been visitors' top pick for more than 20 years, placing the small fishing town on the map as the whale watching capital of Iceland. Now the tour is available carbon-neutral, a 100% natural experience on silent, green energy, electric boats with minimum disturbance to whales and nature. Also offering puffins and northern lights tours from Husavik. With the authentic fleet, highly qualified and dedicated crew with great sailing experience and wildlife knowledge, North Sailing seeks to inspire people to reconnect with history and nature.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whale watching during storm...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The crew did absolutely do it's best to track whales, but with a strong wind, it was not really fun being see-sick for the first time in my life...
It was quite surprising that we were not asked to wear life-vests, but only arctic suits and some kind of rain coat that did not really help.
Also, one of the benches was broken and we were asked to sit somewhere else.

I would love to see whales some other time, but not under these conditions..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anneke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Sorry to hear that you were seasick on the tour with us. It can happen to anyone, especially if the sea is rough.
Wearing life vests is not compulsory under current law, which is why you were not asked to wear them. I can assure you that there were vests available on board for all passengers and members of crew. The suits that we provide are for warmth, and they also keep you afloat, if needed.
We would be happy to welcome you back to Húsavík someday; and we hope that the weather will be more favorable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    229
    71
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Does it worth spending 3 hours ?”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are family of four. Took the basic 3 hours whale watch tour. The team is very welcoming, very professional. However, in a 3 hours tour we hardly saw whales, and from very long distance. I know it's a matter of luck, and they do not guarantee (and maybe the chances in August are lower since the whales are leaving the bay). I have no complains to the company. But from my personal experience, to spend 3 hours on a boat for the chance that you might see a whale from close look, it doesn't worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We're sorry you were not able to get a close look at the whales. As you correctly say, it is a matter of luck if the whales are easy to spot or not. There are still whales in the bay in August, and even later into the autumn, but it seems they were not willing to be watched closely on the day you and your family took a tour.
We thank you for your kind words about our welcoming and professional staff. we would be happy to see you again on one of our tours in the future.
Best regards from Húsavík,
Adrienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had an amazing trip and got to see a humpback whale fully diving out of the water and captured it on film. I know that we were very lucky to see this and this particular whale seem to like splashing and showing off his beautiful fin. It was wonderful and an experience I will remember for the rest of my life. Thanks

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vaughanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We're so glad you had a wonderful experience with us. Jumping humback whales are truly an amazing sight. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no good planing”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We bought tickets around one hour before the boat was leaving and arrive some time before to the boat at they told us when we bought it and exactly at the time we were supposed to start getting into the boat someone from the company came and told us that the boat is not departing because someone is ill and that there are just 20 tickets left for the next boat what created chaos in the selling point. The people from the selling point was attending the phone instead of the people who was in the queue.

They should tell us when we bought the ticket that there won't be boat departure and send someone from the company to the place where was supposed to be the departure to inform when the people was arriving.

Otherwise the experience was good and we saw whales. We also got warm clothes in the boat and they gave us a lot of information about whales

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingArr0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Tour Coordinator at North Sailing, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello, and thank you for the review.
I'm glad you enjoyed the whale watching tour with us but I'm are sorry that we had to cancel
the first tour.

We did receive the notice of the engineer being to sick to be able to work just some 20 minutes before departure and until then we were expecting him for the tour. I can insure you that we did our best to find a new engineer but about 10 minutes before the departure we saw we would have to cancel the tour.

We did our best to offer everyone a tour a soon as possible but since this was the biggest boat that we had to cancel the tour on was it impossible to fit everyone on the next tour (which was on a much smaller boat).

Best regards from Husavik,
Oddvar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go to Husavik”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Superb whale watching trip with North Sailing, as others have commented good commentary and whale watching (Humpbacks) along with dolphins. If I had been there longer would have gone out again it was that good.

I would not be tempted to go whale watching again from Rejkavik. Minke whales which seem very difficult to spot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Sailing, Ticket Sales at North Sailing, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your tour with us. We think that Husavik is the best place to go whale watching in Iceland, and we are pleased to know that you agree with us.
We hope to see you again on one (or more) of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Sailing also viewed

Husavik, Northeast Region
 

Been to North Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing