We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”
Review of Restaurant Salka

Restaurant Salka
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Husavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cozy family owned restaurant offering steaks, seafood, pizza, pasta or burgers made with passion. Our food is not off the shelf, but homemade from scratch. We offer typical icelandic dishes like lamb and cod or catfish in a fresh, modern style. In the summer time it is great to sit outside in our plaza and enjoy delicious food, snacks and cocktails. Housed in one of the oldest buildings in Husavik and in the city centre you can't miss us.
Reviewed October 10, 2015

We wanted local fresh fish for dinner after driving and sightseeing all day. As we entered Husavik from the north we saw Salka in a charming building on the main road, Gardarsbraut 6. We each ordered a soup, mine was seafood soup and his was tomato basil. Both were perfect, hot, rich and flavorful. The seafood soup was a langoustine broth with plenty of shrimp, mussels and scallops. The fish special was Artic Char and was prepared perfectly, baked with a light, well seasoned bread crumb. It was served over rice, with sautéed vegetables and potatoes. Fantastic!!! Fresh and flavorful. Great cold beer, too. I noticed that their pizza was popular and looked good,too. Casual setting.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SpgEATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
salkarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Salka, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Isn't it nice if you get "Just what you wanted"?
We are glad that we could meet your expectations. As I am sitting here, writing the responses, I have to think of our shellfish soup, and yes, it's delicious. I´ll have some tomorrow, thanks for reminding me.
Thank you also for taking the time to write such a nice review on us, we appreciate this a lot. We hope to see you again in the future!

Salka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 331 of 795 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2015

We chose this restaurant at random, and we were glad we did. The food and service are excellent with reasonable prices.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 520robertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
salkarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Salka, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Good food, good service, good prices...? What more can you ask for? Maybe you should have mentioned the seaview. Anyhow, thank you a lot for this nice review, this really means a lot to us!
Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2015

I went twice to Salka while staying in Husavik. First time, it was quiet and I had fish of the day. Very good quality of the fish and well cooked and delicious. Second time I had lamb and the lamb and the sauce could not have been better.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank JoninaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
salkarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Salka, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Dear JoninaMaria,

thank you very much for your nice words. Please come again, when in town!

Salka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2015

Salka Restaurant, in the Husavik port, is one of the good Husavik restaurants ..... seafood (including wales and puffin), chicken, have a very nice view from de sea, looking for the North Pole. Nice place, nice food.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Luiz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
salkarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Salka, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Dear sguissardi,

thank you for you review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. However, there is something we have to point out:

We have NEVER had whale meat on our menu, nor can you buy whale dishes in ANY restaurant in Húsavík.

We have all agreed not to sell /serve it. Húsavík is world famous for whale watching and we find it much more intelligent to present these creatures alive, in their natural habitat just in front our door, rather than on your plate.


The puffin is also gone from the menu (this we actually had, but we decided to change that).

Greetings from Iceland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Travelling on the South African Rand our budget is stretched quite a bit in Iceland but Salka was a nice surprise - deliciously tasty food at a reasonable price. Not to mention the friendly service. Our waitress was very helpful, she even looked at the Aurora Borealis forecast for us.

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank Camillaocosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
salkarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Salka, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Dear Camillaocacosta,

we feel honoured to welcome guests from the other end of the world. Nice that you found our restaurant. Good, that you liked your stay, but one question remains unanswered...did you get to see the Northern Lights??

Curious, Salka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Salka also viewed

Husavik, Northeast Region
Husavik, Northeast Region
 
Husavik, Northeast Region
Husavik, Northeast Region
 

Been to Restaurant Salka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.