We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
328
94
26
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
94
26
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier tour northern lights lava cave thermal pools head waiter deluxe room fine dining hotel restaurant is hiking trails lovely hotel great hiking bad weather wake up call course meal remote location booked this hotel three nights
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 455 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2017

This is a new and modern hotel situated about two and a half hours from the nearest major city. It was convenient for our glacier excursion. The staff and food were wonderful. Our room was modern, and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B8595PAmargareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We had two adjoining rooms for us and our children staying for 3 nights over Christmas. Whilst the hotel is in a lovely position and the rooms modern and clean, we were met with a welcome that almost felt we were an inconvenience. I had to re-arrange the room furniture to access the adjoining room door, and was met with a puzzled look when I asked for the children's beds to made into two singles, until a more friendly lady receptionist overheard and jumped to the rescue and offered to sort it out. There was no effort made to give the hotel a Christmas feel and although the restaurant staff were friendly and the food good, no change at all on the limited menu, not even for Christmas eve or day, which is frustrating as you are a captive audience there. On departure, barely a thanks for the custom from a different set of reception staff, so the approach is consistent. In summary, an expensive stay for very mediocre and disappointing service.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank amacle0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

A lovely hotel. We had an amazing experience here. The facilities are very good. The staff are excellent, friendly and care. We stayed over New Year's Eve and had the most memorable night. It is a little way out of the capital but it is well worth the trip. You will need to hire a car but the drive here is worth it. The scenery is breathtaking. We got to see the Barnafoss and Hraunfossar waterfalls which are close by but the main events are the Northern Lights (you have a very good chance to see them here as long as you come in Winter) and Into the Glacier which was a true once in a lifetime experience.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank KrishnaK253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016

We stayed here for one night, as the next morning we were booked on an early 'Into the Glacier' tour. We drove directly from Keflavik airport, and the journey took about two and a half hours in total (clear roads, no snow).

The hotel is in a beautiful remote location, and after having driven many miles it was the haven we really needed. Everything is beautifully designed in the highest quality materials. The rooms are a good size (for Iceland!) and the beds amazingly comfortable. We particularly liked how the hotel left little bag of Christmas goodies on our door handle during the night.

The breakfast buffet is quite limited but more than good enough to fill you up with hearty food before a trip onto the glacier. And that's the good thing about the hotel's location...it is only a 1 minute walk to where the buses of the Into the Glacier tour company depart.

When we drove back to Reykjavik it was blizzard conditions and the roads were covered in thick ice and snow. So, if you are driving yourself, you need to be experienced in driving in winter conditions.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016

We visited in late November for just one night and stayed in a guest villa. The villa was really lovely, with 2 good sized bedrooms with queen beds, and one very small room with a narrow single bed. The bathroom was really large, the kitchen, living, and dining area very cozy. There was also an upstairs little sitting area with a flat screen TV. There was a good sized deck (which we didn't use much b/c it was pretty cold and dark when we visited) and a large hot tub. There was a lovely view of a nearby river. I'm sure in the summer it would be delightful to sit out there and enjoy the view.

We used the hotel as a stopping off point to visit the Cave at Vidgelmir, and to to the glacier tour at Langjokull, both of which I strongly recommend. The hotel was really convenient to both.

There are also a few swimming pools on the property which we did not use.

My only issue with the hotel was the restaurant, which had a very limited, and very expensive menu. As there is literally nothing else in the area for at least an hour, you are stuck eating there unless you have a villa and bring your own food.

I would absolutely come again and stay in the villa, but would be sure to stock our own supplies!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews