We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely lovely guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse Steinhusid
Ranked #2 of 5 Holmavik B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“An absolutely lovely guesthouse”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Stein for one night in May as we explored the West Fjords. We went to the Finna Hotel to sign in, but the doors there were locked There were instructions to use an intercom, which we did and a woman came by car in about 15 minutes to sign us in. We were given the keys to the guesthouse which was down the hill. We were the only people staying there...so we had the house to ourselves. It is an absolutely lovely home and the kitchen is first rate. However, we actually had to find the instruction booklet in order to operate the stove as it was very modern. Our room, room 3, overlooked the harbor and was quite large with a very comfortable bed. The shower was the best that we used in our 17 days in Iceland. We loved eating our dinner and breakfast in the dining room with a great view of the harbor. We really enjoyed staying at Guesthouse Stein. The only negative that we found were the stairs to the bedrooms. They were very narrow and quite steep. It was a little difficult to carry suitcases up and down them. But, all in all, we would would definitely stay there agin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We actually stayed at Finna Hotel, which is affiliated with this guest house. There were 5 of us doing a tour of the Westfjords. We got to Holmavik around 9pm and the woman graciously welcomed us in at that point. She was interested in hearing where we were from and our plans for the next day. We were located on the top floor and shared that floor with another couple. Between the 5 of us we had two rooms, 3 beds and 2 beds (we were doing sleeping bag accommodation). Each room had a table and chairs and a sink. There were shared kitchen facilities for the floor, a cozy living area with couches and table and chairs for eating, and one spacious bathroom with a shower. We made dinner that evening (noting a curious lack of forks, which we think ended up on other floors). The next day we went to Drangsnes, about a 30min drive to the hot pots and came back to Holmavik to the Witchcraft museum. Both are highly recommended. This spot would be a great location if you wanted to do a day trip further North.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Probably the best gueshouse I've ever been, this house was really great: location is good, in the very center of Holmavik town, rooms and bathrooms, while small, were perfectly clean. The common spaces (kitchen and dining room) are really beautiful, with "ancient" furniture that make you feel like you are back in the '40. Guests have to check in and have breakfast in a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firestart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This guesthouse is directly opposite the Museum of Sorcery & Witchcraft close to the harbour, so very easy to find, and plenty of parking. You then have to find Hotel Finna up the very steep hill, to check in and get the key. We had tried to book the hotel but it was full. Both sites are run by 2 sisters. Breakfast is available here is you want it - 1500ISK per person, but reasonable choice and saves shopping and sharing the kitchen in the guesthouse if you prefer.
The guesthouse has been renovated, is very clean and well-maintained. There are books, games etc to pass the time if you wish to stay indoors, but this location makes a great base to tour. The room was quite compact, which is not great when you are travelling for some time and have more than minimal luggage, but our biggest problem was that it was situated next door to the upstairs toilet, and the walls are only made of wood-panelling. This made us rather more familiar with our fellow guests' bathroom habits than we would have liked (Gentlemen, it is possible to pee quietly!)

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank half-full55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The limited reviews on TripAdvisor made us slightly skeptical of what to expect for this accommodation. We booked a small apartment as that was all that was available for our dates. When we opened the door to our apartment, we were absolutely blown away. The apartment was nothing short of a home. Although tiny, it was everything we could have wanted. It was cozy, well decorated, incredibly clean and modern, and with all the necessary amenities for your stay. The bathroom was lovely, clean, obviously recently renovated. The bed was extremely comfortable, with great linen. Kitchen was great (there is even an oven for those so inclined!), although the cork screw didn't work, so we went next door to the guesthouse and borrowed theirs (guesthouse looked lovely too! Nice communal area with lots of afternoon sun). But probably what we loved the most about our apartment was the lovely tiny red couch by the window which was doused in sunlight all afternoon, where we leisurely sat reading, enjoying the sun, and the views on the bay and street. Holmavik is a tiny, adorable town (small grocery store near petrol station), and an excellent base for a day of exploring up and down the Strandir Coast (a must do in our opinion!).

We could not recommend the small apartment any more. It was fantastic.

Room Tip: Go for the small apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTLbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Steinhusid is a really lovely little guesthouse, with a very well-equipped kitchen, and a big living dining/space with great views over the harbour, all on the ground floor. It has some incredibly cool, kitsch furniture in there, which makes it a really memorable place to stay. It's very peaceful - there's no wifi - so you can really relax.

We stayed in the largest bedroom, at the front of the house, which was very comfortable, although there were no cupboards or drawers to put things in if you like to unpack a bit. There was only one other guest staying while we were there so we didn't have any problems with the bathrooms, but there are only two toilets and one shower in the place which I can imagine might be a bit problematic if it's full of people.

The owner was very friendly when we went to collect the keys, although we had to go for a short walk (5 mins) to do this and meet her at her other hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3 - it's the only one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JmayL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmavik
16.7 mi away
Hotel Djupavik
Hotel Djupavik
#1 of 1 in Kjorvogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Bjarkalundur
Hotel Bjarkalundur
#1 of 1 in Strandabyggo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malarhorn Guesthouse
Malarhorn Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Drangsnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iceland Visit Hostel
Iceland Visit Hostel
#1 of 2 in Holmavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Ljosaland
Hotel Ljosaland
#1 of 1 in Budardalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
23.2 mi away
Reykholar Hostel
Reykholar Hostel
#1 of 1 in Reykholar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Steinhusid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Steinhusid

Property: Guesthouse Steinhusid
Address: Hoefdagata 1, Holmavik 510, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Holmavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmavik
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing