We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK, but probably better than the alternatives”
Review of Hof 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hof 1 Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Frost and Fire Guesthouse for one night in August 2010. Overall, this was not a bad stay by any stretch, but it certainly wasn't special either.

As many people have noted on Tripadvisor, there's a pretty significant difference between the main guesthouse, which is super nice and renovated, and the rest of the cottages/buildings scattered around the farm complex. We happened to stay in a building outside of the main guesthouse. A few observations:
1) Rooms were decently sized with comfortable beds and ample heating; the common room was nice and the two shared facilities bathrooms were clean.
2) There was a kitchen available that had absolutely nothing in it other than a hot water boiler, which really limited the ability to cook (my suspicion is that they do this intentionally to shunt you towards their dinner, which was about 4400 kronur or more than $35 US).
3) There was wireless available in the main guesthouse but not the other complexes.

The staff reception was mediocre - they didn't seem overly welcoming and warm, which was a change from all of the other places that we had been to in Iceland. Breakfast was decent, standard fare for Iceland hotels. I can't comment on the dinner because we were on a budget.

The main advantage of this place is location. First of all, the surrounding area is gorgeous (see some of the accompanying pictures). Second, if you want to stay near Skaftafell National Park, you have a very limited number of options. There's Frost and Fire, Litla-Hof (which is a similar property near Frost and Fire), and Hotel Skaftafell, which is right near the park that is uber-expensive. Based on what I've read from reviews, you don't get much more by staying at Hotel Skaftafell than by staying at Frost and Fire. So in that sense, Frost and Fire's price (about $180/night for our group of 3 adults and one baby) was a bargain compared to the alternatives. Having said that, we paid more to stay here than any other place in Iceland and this was by far the most mediocre of our accommodations.

Bottom line: if you want to stay near Skaftafell, this is likely the best value of your options. It's not a good value compared to other places in Iceland. You probably won't leave raving about the place, but nor will you leave thinking that you got totally ripped off. If you do stay here, try to get into the main guesthouse as the rooms are more recently renovated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveldoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here because we were unable to find accommodations elsewhere and wanted to be close to the icebergs of Jokulsarlon, but for $254 a night for a small room, it wasn't worth it. The hot tub was broken and the hot water in the shower didn't work. The furnishings in the lounge were nice but it was underused and who is there for the lounge anyway??? Of course it was the only place with internet connectivity. If cost is important to you, find another place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budget_conscious1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I agree with what had been said by others about the Frost and Fire Guesthouse: there is a big gap between the beautiful and inviting home-page - and reality. Only one part of the guest-house has the kind of rooms advertised, much of the rest is on the level of a youth hostel in scattered "Summer Houses", basically little huts. We had a "family room" with four beds, small, cramped, shared bathroom and shower, for 189€ per day! The food was below average, and the four of us (two kids) got at the the highest dinner bill we experienced during two weeks in Iceland. The beautiful swmming pools advertised on the home-page are nowhere near the hotel, but in another village. All the hotel has is a tiny indoor hot pot. Staying at the guest-house was the worst experience we had in Iceland, it felt like a real rip-off!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat58Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed two nights in a wonderful location. Yes there were shared bathrooms but they were really nice. The food was excellent, The hot tub was fine. The location and the small community was excellent. We found it one of the most relaxing and of best value of all the more expensive places we stayed. People will really like this inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rweis1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed for one night in june 2010.
This guesthouse seems to have a lot of different types of rooms in different buildings, so this may account for the very varied opinions on room quality in previous reviews.
We got a room in a brand new separate building very close to the main building. The building seemed to be completely new, they were still putting the finishing touches on the area outside the building as we arrived. The building seemed to be made up by prefabricated room units put together under a common roof, a concept that seems to be common in rural hotels in Iceland. The building had a common entrance into a hallway, so the entrance to each room is internal.
We found the rooms to be clean and neat, with a very reasonable standard for a "prefab container" type room. All in all a better room than the similar one we first got at Skaftafell Hotel.
There are no TV in the rooms, which did not bother us at all, others may disagree.
We did not see the other types of rooms (in the main building and in the cottages) so we can not comment on the quality of these.
If you book room here we would recommend that you try to get rooms in the new building, as the other rooms seems to be of more varied quality (possibly with a lower price).
The main building with the reception, dining room, lounge area and relaxation area is basically a rebuilt large farm building and is done in a modern style which we liked.
There is no internet access, but we were offered to use the internet connection in the reception office for shorter check of e-mails etc.
There is no restaurant as such, but they serve an evening meal. You have to order before five o'clock and there is only one choice each day. We found the food (soup and baked trout) to be very good, but not inexpensive.

As we also stayed two nights at the Skaftafell Hotel which is only a ten minute drive away, we could compare the two and the conclusion is that Frost and Fire offer much of the same as Skaftafell Hotel at a lower price. Differences are that the rooms at Frost and Fire are better (at least the ones we got), but they lack internet access and the breakfast and some other facilities is much more basic at Frost and Fire.
The Frost and Fire also has a spa / hot tub facility for their guests.
The price for the room at Frost and Fire may seem a bit high, but this is unfortunately not uncommon in rural Iceland and it was better value than Skaftafell Hotel. This area of Iceland seems to have a bit higher prices than some other areas.

The location is convenient for exploring the surrounding area.
For those not into Icelandic geography: please note that this is a very thinly populated area with only scattered farms and no villages. You have to drive for 1-2 hours to get to any village community. The hotel is located relatively close to the Skaftafell National Park Visitor Center (about 15-20 minutes drive with a car, definitly not walking distance).
In the immediate surrroundings there are a few farms with associated buildings, one smaller guesthouse, the old Hof church and also a building that seems to be some kind of school(?).


Liked:
Very clean and well maintained
Stylish interior of the main building
Helpful and positive staff
Location, convenient for exploring the Skaftafell and Orefi areas. The old Hof turf church is right next door.

Disliked:
No internet access
The spa / hot tub area only available after 4pm, would have been nice to use it in the morning also.
A bit basic breakfast (but not bad for a guesthouse type accomodation)
A little bit expensive. But better value for money than the Skaftafell Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jxxxixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We were late into town, so felt lucky to get a room and even luckier to be in time for dinner, which was delicious lamb, potatoes and vegetables, followed by chocolate cake and ice cream for dessert. What a treat!

We had vouchers from Icelandic Farm Holidays for category III and IV rooms, but they didn't have any available, so they gave us a room in a summer cottage and just didn't fill the other room, so we had it all to our selves. A very small space with little room to move around, but perfectly adequate and with a view of a field of sheep. I found it lovely, my husband didn't love it as much -- he was hoping for something nicer. I think it all depends on your expectation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hailish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

In the main building, 8 people share one combined shower and toilet. Rooms are very small and reminded me of a hospital.
Staff was not very helpful.
If you want to have dinner, you need to tell the staff well in advance and there are no choices to be made. Price like in a posh restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TowerMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
3 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 2 in Vatnajokull National Park
664 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
8.1 mi away
Hotel Skaftafell
Hotel Skaftafell
#1 of 1 in Skaftafell
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.2 mi away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
519 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
682 reviews
38.8 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof 1 Hotel

Address: Hof in Oraefi, Hofn 810, Iceland (Formerly Frost and Fire Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range: $100 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hof 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing