We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money”
Review of Hof 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hof 1 Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Reviewed August 27, 2009

In the main building, 8 people share one combined shower and toilet. Rooms are very small and reminded me of a hospital.
Staff was not very helpful.
If you want to have dinner, you need to tell the staff well in advance and there are no choices to be made. Price like in a posh restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TowerMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

In general, this was a very good stop for us. The location is excellent, perfect for visiting Skaftafell national park and cape Ingolshofdi (which is gorgeous), near a nice church in a very peaceful and relaxing place.
You should know that there two kind of accommodation: rooms in the main building (as shown on the guesthouse's website) and cottages approx. 200mt away.
The main building is modern, clean and recently renovated. There's even a sauna and hot tub area which is brand new and very clean.
We stayed in a cottage. In every cottage there are a shared bathroom (again very clean) and two rooms: one has a gret view over the countryside through a large window (luckily our room did have a view!), the other faces the mountain / village.
Our room was large enough (even had a third bed / sofa), probably the lack of sound isolation could be a problem if your neighbors aren't quiet.
The set up dinner was so-and-so, maybe you can opt for cooking your own food in the shared kitchen.
Overall we enjoyed our cottage, the great view, cleanliness and the location very much, so we would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianmaria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We expected a proper room in main building in accordance with picture published in February 10, 2009 on Tripadvisor, but we received a summer cottage of which there were no pictures on the time of reservation the accommodation.

We were disappointed for the quality of accommodation. There were two rooms in the cottage and a bathroom. The room and the bathroom were very basic without any sound insulation. Luckily people in the other room went to bed same time we did and they left the cottage without noise in the morning. The price ISK 13,500 was nearly the same we got an excellent apartment with own bathroom and kitchenette in Reykjavik.

Public areas were renovated in the main building and they gave totally other picture from the accommodation.

The marketing was misleading. In website and in marketing procures there are only pictures of public areas in the main building, en suite rooms and pictures of rooms in Hveragerði which is their other guesthouse. They do not mention that room with share bathroom is totally different from room without bathroom.

Another weakness was lack of kitchen supplies in the kitchen. We had bought food and there were a kitchen we were able to use but there were no pot or other supplies. We were not able to prepare any food.

We only stayed a night and we were able to sleep well. That was the most important. We found out that prices are higher outside Reykjavik due to lack of supply. For that reason I give average total rating, not poor.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReikoSan_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I booked this hotel as I had read the reviews for the other Frost and Fire and have only now realised that the reviews I read were for the wrong location!
Never mind as this was one of the best guest houses that we stayed in during our 9 day trip to Iceland.
We found this hotel enjoyable, the room was standard size with twin beds pushed together but as this was our 6th night in Iceland we were used to that!
The decor of the rooms were a striking red and blue and the floors in the main room a lovely black marbled tile.
The bathroom was clean and the shower a good size.
The set menu did include fish as a main but it was some of the tastiest trout I have ever eaten...the soup was also delicious.
Being required to remove our shoes in the Icelandic tradition meant the floors of Frost and Fire were kept very clean.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the location was lovely, right next to the gorgeous Hof Farm with the turf covered roof church.
We were too tired from a busy day to make use of the hot tubs but my partner did relax in the loungeroom and read some of the books provided regarding the history of Iceland.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazz_Mino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

The guesthouse is in a beautiful location, with easy access to the wonderful hiking in Skaftafell National Park. It was especially fun to see all the frolicking lambs, pretty Icelandic horses, and winnowing snipe just outside our cottage. However, the room in the shared cottage is very small and had worn mattresses. Since you share a bathroom and hallway, you basically have to hope that the people next door are quiet. The continental breakfast was fine. The dinner was adequate, but we enjoyed our dinner at the Hotel Skaftafell the second night much, much more (and it was cheaper, too). The lady who checked us in was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We were a bit disappointed with the 'summer house' aka 'cottage' accommodation. It's basically a shared wooden hut, with barely enought room to swing a cat and completely lacking sound insulation so take a radio if you don't want to hear your fellow guests using the shared bathroom! The main building is much more impressive, but we didin't get to see the rooms there. This was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed at, but was probably the worst value. Dinner at the hotel was ok comprising a single option 2 course menu - adequate but nothing special. 1 night was enough for us, but I suspect en-suite rooms in the main building would make for much better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Shared bathroom (no separate toilets, so if someone is in the shower, you can't use the loo), small beds, no wardrobe or TV in the rooms and difficult to find. Yet we were asked to remove our shoes in reception incase we damaged the floor (I refused). Also, the receptionist spent about 10 minutes telling us about the 'famed' hot tub only to finish by telling us that it was out of order. However, she failed to mention whether there was a bar or not (I still don't know). Dinner was an option but it was set so we ate at the local petrol station.
Maybe it's just my age but sharing a bathroom with 20 year old backpackers is not my idea of fun.
If you want a good point it was clean but so are all the hotels in Iceland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodymark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
3.0 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
604 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Skaftafell
Hotel Skaftafell
#1 of 1 in Skaftafell
412 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.2 mi away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
511 reviews
52.8 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
25.9 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof 1 Hotel

Address: Hof in Oraefi, Hofn 810, Iceland (Formerly Frost and Fire Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range: $136 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hof 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing