We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but missing charm”
Review of Hof 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hof 1 Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice location but missing charm”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Frost og Funi in Hof (ten minutes from Skaftafell) seems to have changed its name to Hof 1. The reception and restaurant buildings are quite modern and pleasant with a fair bit of art work. The rooms are small and functional, but not much more. The shower / toilet facilities barely allowed room to turn around. The 'rules' of the house are quite pronounced. Dinner is served at 7pm. Only. Flexibility seems lacking...and the prices for the meals seemed high, even for Iceland. The indoor hot tub was extremely popular, but was heavily chlorinated - very unlike most of the wonderful hot tubs we experienced in the rest of Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groverthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    70
    110
    76
    35
See reviews for
47
179
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were on a "round Iceland" tour and this is probably the closest hotel to the Jokulsarlon icebergs. That really is the best thing about it.

We stayed in a new block with 14 rooms. The "rooms" are actually converted containers with 2 really narrow beds and practically no where for luggage. The toilet is cramped in a corner, with a shower that leaked all over the floor. Noise in the corridor was loud and the fixtures (window blinds) were already broken.

Having said that the placed was packed, even late in the season, we saw at least 3 groups being turned away, so location is a biggie.

Dinner is limited, a set menu for 4,200kr, at a set time (7 pm) and you eat what you are given. We were not hungry and so only had the soup, for which we were charged an extortionate 2,000 and 900 for a beer, the most expensive he had come across.

Breakfast was simple and cold, but we the sheer number of people there meant that things went quickly and the line for the toaster was not worth waiting for. Eat breakfast early and get out quick as the line at reception to checkout was long.

Not a brilliant hotel,but
- location
- comfortable beds
mean it will continue to be full..

Room Tip: You get what you are given. A container.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJKMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hofn hotels

Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This guesthouse is actually in Hof, not Hofn. It's in a good location if you are visiting Skatafell National Park, about 15 minutes away. Buy groceries before you reach here, because there is not much here!

This place is a bit strange. It seems to be a prefabricated building with rooms attached like Legos. The red and black furniture is IKEA and there is a lack of wall outlets. We were there for 2 nights and I have to admit, I slept great. The blinds made the room quite dark.

Breakfast wasn't until 8 am. The breakfast was disappointing in that it was skimpy compared to everywhere else we've stayed. There was no fruit at all, and pretty slim pickings of everything else. I've concluded that this place is another of those places where the owner is trying to provide a minimum of service to get a maximum profit. They also ask you to take your shoes off inside their buildings. As best I can tell, this is just to save on their cleaning costs. It's a real nuisance since the bedrooms are in one building and the reception/restaurant in another.

We had dinner there one night. There are very few dining options in the area. Dinner was a fixed menu of vegetable soup, lamb steak, baked potato and mixed vegetables. The soup had almost no vegetables in it while the mixed vegetable side dish had been boiled to hell (Were these the vegetables that were supposed to be in the vegetable soup?). My lamb was tough on the outside and undercooked in the center -- an uninspiring meal, but at least it filled me up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location. Comfortable, with a nice hot tub and sauna and a large sitting area. Excellent breakfast and friendly, helpful staff. Don't miss the church with the grass roof, right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Within an easy drive of Skaftafell national park with some great walks and also Puffin Island with its magical bird life. We stayed in a "Portacabin" in the grounds which was small but cosy, clean with shared facilities. The restaurant was OK for breakfast and dinner but they did not accomodate late arrivals. The sauna and hot tub in the basement of the main building could have been cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This place is like an 80's art hotel in the middle of nowhere. Had a hot tub and decent breakfast. Good locale.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while traveling in southeast Iceland. The guest house is just a few kilometers south of the park entrance in a small village off Route 1. The facility sits at the base of towering mountains with sheep grazing on the property. Although rather small the room was like new with modern fixtures. Our room had a great view of the mountain above us. We had dinner in the dining room which included soup, main course and dessert. The food quantity and quality was excellent. Staff have been very helpful and anxious to please. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lounge. Limited bar service is also available. While not upscale by any means, Frost and Fire provided a comfortable, welcoming environment in beautiful surroundings.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
3.0 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
499 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Skaftafell
Hotel Skaftafell
#1 of 1 in Skaftafell
369 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.8 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
25.9 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
635 reviews
26.0 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Hofn
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof 1 Hotel

Property: Hof 1 Hotel
Address: Hof in Oraefi, Hofn 810, Iceland (Formerly Frost and Fire Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hof 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing