We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice, but Expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hof 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hof 1 Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice, but Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very nice, but expensive. Our room was in one of the connex boxes behind the main building. These are very common in Iceland. Window, two single beds, small bathroom. Very clean and cozy with curtains that actually keep the light out. The main building is very nice, it has internet, a hot tub, and a restaurant.

There is a super cute church right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ji79scoutii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    67
    102
    65
    33
See reviews for
41
167
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Options in this region of the south are limited. Location is quite good as it is between the glaciers of Skaftafell National Park to the east (20 mins) and the iceberg lagoon that many people visit to the east (30 mins). Hotel is quite clean, simple, and staff is friendly enough. We stayed in room with private bath; room was TINY leaving us puzzled as to where to put 2 suitcases (we each put our bag on the floor next to our side of the bed). There is room for Icelandic mini-twin beds, a very small wardrobe, two nightstands...uh, that's it. The radiator in the room did not work and we had to crank up the one in the bathroom in hopes of warming the bedroom. The bathroom was okay once they unclogged the shower drain, but some strange choices: a glass shelf just above the tiny sink made it impossible to lean over the sink to wash one's face; the soap dispenser was over the toilet, not the sink (because the glass shelf was there), so soap invariably dripped behind the toilet; the shower was raised up and had no lip to block the water from spilling out all over the place and almost flooding the room which would have been a disaster since our luggage was all over the floor for lack of anywhere else to put it.

The restaurant was quite good for dinner with meats and fishes cooked perfectly--someone in the kitchen really knows how to grill/roast. It was, however, on the high side even by Iceland standards (About ISK 4,000 for fixed courses fixed menu: soup, entree, coffee/tea--dessert was optional at ISK 900 ). Breakfast was simple--no fruit or hot food choices, no yogurt, one or two cereals. We were used to a bit more choice from comparably priced hotels in Iceland. But what there was, was fresh and tasted good.

Hot tub was nice but you could not enter it from guest house lobby--you had to go outside and around the house to the lower level. Not a big deal, but having to keep putting your shoes on and off got old (you cannot wear them anywhere inside the premises).

Wifi was available in comfortable lobby area of main house.

Overall: adequate and clean. But not a single amenity beyond the hot tub. Not one. No shampoo or bar soap, no alarm clocks, no TV in rooms, no space in rooms, no coffee/tea pot in room (there wouldn't be anywhere to put it anyway),no towels in the hot tub area, no offer of assistance to room upon check in, no offers of drinks or snacks outside of meal time. Staff does what is required in friendly manner--no more no less. We are not new to Iceland, and we love it here and realize hospitality is though of differently here than in the States. But that said, with just a little more thought to simple amenities and a tad more effort from staff, the experience here would easily move from adequate to very good or excellent. Given the price point, it isn't too much to hope for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varennes, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at the Frost and Fire Guesthouse in Hof for 1 night during our two-week trip to Iceland in August 2010.

LOCATION
It’s pretty well located, only a few minutes away from the Skaftafell National Park.

ROOM
Though quite small, the room was gorgeous. Decorated with taste, it was all red and white, very modern. The kind of modernity you expect to see when you are in a Nordic country. Very clean too. Bed was very comfy.

SERVICE
The man at the reception when we arrived was not rude, but he was not nice either. We felt like we bothered him. But after the first contact, everything was OK.

CLEANLINESS
Very clean. No problem here.

FOOD
They have a restaurant in the hotel that offers a nice dinner, which is a good thing considering that there is not much around. However, we found it quite pricey (4800ISK per person). Breakfast was included and it was OK.

OTHER
There was an odd practice: we needed to leave our shoes at the reception before heading up to our room. Though I understand why they did it, I found it annoying.

One great thing about this place is that there was an indoor hot tub (it was quite rainy the day we arrived, so we appreciated it).

VALUE
We thought that this place was expensive for what it offers. True, it is very nice and modern, but at 2400ISK a night, it’s far from being cheap, especially if you use your room only to sleep and rest after a long day of hiking. However, if you are looking for a nice B&B close to the Skaftafell National Park and don’t want to share a bathroom, choice is limited.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sauerkraut80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 for 3 nights and had a room in the main guesthouse. The guesthouse was lovely and the room was adequate, if a bit small for 2 adults and a baby. The guesthouse supplied a portable crib for us to use, which was nice. The shared bathrooms were sparkling clean and not crowded at all. The room was a bit warm and stuffy, but it was only as we were packing up to leave that we realized we could have opened up the windows!

The hot tub was lovely and spa-like with the shower/changing rooms right there, my only complaint was that the hot tub was only open until 8pm or something like that. It would have been nice to relax after dinner in the hot tub.

The included breakfast was great! We also ate dinner there one night and it was the BEST lamb I have ever had anywhere in the world. Yes, you have to tell them ahead of time that you are coming for dinner, and yes, there's only one choice of menu item, but who cares? Go elsewhere for dinner if you don't like the situation!

The location of the guesthouse is incredible, Hof is only 20 minutes from Skaftafell National Park and about 30 minutes from Jokulsarlon. The little 'village' (it's really only a cluster of buildings) is beautiful too, situated right at the bottom of the cliffs and featuring a turf-roofed church with sheep grazing nearby and views of the sea. Accomodations near the park were few, so this place is an incredible find. This was the most expensive place that we stayed during our entire trip to Iceland, but it's better than staying in a boring chain hotel which was our other option if we wanted to be close to the park.

We loved the location, the food, the hot tub, and the cleanliness of Frost & Fire.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I liked this guesthouse. Our room was in the main guesthouse, and I see from other reviewers that this may have made a difference.

It was very clean and had all the facilities needed. We had a room with a shared bathroom, and at first thought there were not enough toilets/showers for everyone on the floor, but found we never had to wait. We had the room next to the washroom which was noisy at first, but you soon got used to it.

The room itself was clean, the bed comfy and the view was great. They have hot tubs in the basement, but unfortunately we were too tired to use them and just went straight to bed after dinner.

They have a two course dinner on offer which you have to pre-book and it was tasty. Massive piece of chicken for the main course. Breakfast was also well stocked and was served buffet style so you could help yourself to what you wanted, with a range of breads, meats, cheese and salad. They also had a local beer to try which made a nice change.

The staff were very friendly and patient (especially with some rude guests) and made us up a packed lunch for our hiking trip the next day.

The location is great, being only 10 minutes drive away from Skaftafell National Park and 30 mins from Jokulsarlon Lagoon, and the town of Hof itself is peaceful and a lovely spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main guesthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapnHef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Frost and Fire Guesthouse for one night in August 2010. Overall, this was not a bad stay by any stretch, but it certainly wasn't special either.

As many people have noted on Tripadvisor, there's a pretty significant difference between the main guesthouse, which is super nice and renovated, and the rest of the cottages/buildings scattered around the farm complex. We happened to stay in a building outside of the main guesthouse. A few observations:
1) Rooms were decently sized with comfortable beds and ample heating; the common room was nice and the two shared facilities bathrooms were clean.
2) There was a kitchen available that had absolutely nothing in it other than a hot water boiler, which really limited the ability to cook (my suspicion is that they do this intentionally to shunt you towards their dinner, which was about 4400 kronur or more than $35 US).
3) There was wireless available in the main guesthouse but not the other complexes.

The staff reception was mediocre - they didn't seem overly welcoming and warm, which was a change from all of the other places that we had been to in Iceland. Breakfast was decent, standard fare for Iceland hotels. I can't comment on the dinner because we were on a budget.

The main advantage of this place is location. First of all, the surrounding area is gorgeous (see some of the accompanying pictures). Second, if you want to stay near Skaftafell National Park, you have a very limited number of options. There's Frost and Fire, Litla-Hof (which is a similar property near Frost and Fire), and Hotel Skaftafell, which is right near the park that is uber-expensive. Based on what I've read from reviews, you don't get much more by staying at Hotel Skaftafell than by staying at Frost and Fire. So in that sense, Frost and Fire's price (about $180/night for our group of 3 adults and one baby) was a bargain compared to the alternatives. Having said that, we paid more to stay here than any other place in Iceland and this was by far the most mediocre of our accommodations.

Bottom line: if you want to stay near Skaftafell, this is likely the best value of your options. It's not a good value compared to other places in Iceland. You probably won't leave raving about the place, but nor will you leave thinking that you got totally ripped off. If you do stay here, try to get into the main guesthouse as the rooms are more recently renovated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here because we were unable to find accommodations elsewhere and wanted to be close to the icebergs of Jokulsarlon, but for $254 a night for a small room, it wasn't worth it. The hot tub was broken and the hot water in the shower didn't work. The furnishings in the lounge were nice but it was underused and who is there for the lounge anyway??? Of course it was the only place with internet connectivity. If cost is important to you, find another place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budget_conscious1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hofn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
0.0 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Skaftafell
Hotel Skaftafell
#1 of 1 in Skaftafell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fosshotel Nupar
Fosshotel Nupar
#2 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
Icelandair Hotel Klaustur
#1 of 2 in Kirkjubaejarklaustur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof 1 Hotel

Property: Hof 1 Hotel
Address: Hof in Oraefi, Hofn 810, Iceland (Formerly Frost and Fire Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hof 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing