We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Good Simple Meal”

Hali Country Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Hofn
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

After many very expensive over priced meals with mediocre food, we finally had a meal worth writing about. The lamb is raised Hali Farm and the trout is also from the same backyard since the farm backs onto the ocean. The lamb was amazingly tender and flavorful, the trout was cooked just right with mango chutney on top. The prices was not cheap, comparable to what you pay every where else but the food was simply prepared and cooked and flavored just right !

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank jopyEdmonton_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 468 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

We wanted to try the local food once during our trip and we had to do it in this part of iceland because of a birthday, it was the only one restaurant around and it doesn't look like a fancy or excellent restaurant but it was absolutely awesome ! Expensive but it's everywhere similar in Iceland so....

We ate the char fish which is a local fish and their way of cooking it was delicious !

Thanks a lot for the warm welcoming as well !

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank jeromet353
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 16, 2016

Very nicely cooked locally farmed Arctic char and the best lamb my husband has ever eaten. Not too expensive considering high prices in Iceland generally.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank phoebegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 1, 2016

Nothing to complicated about this place but it was great for us after the glacier tour and before a long drive back to our hotel with an uncertain arrival time.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Safemach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 1, 2016

I ate here everyday while staying at the hotel. The hotel is a fantastic stay and the restaurant has amazing food! I highly recommend this to anyone in Iceland or anyone thats visiting!

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Hali Country Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hali Country Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.