We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arnanes Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guesthouse Dyngja(Hofn)(Great Value!)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apotek Guesthouse(Hofn)(Great Value!)
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
66
114
38
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
114
38
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingthe ownerbedside lightingborder collieshort drivering roadhotel is locatedcomfy bedlangoustineswould stay here againicelandic horsesstayed two nightsbreakfast roomskyrnorthern lightscabindinner
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 240 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I used the hotel's online form to reserve a room a few days in advance of our visit. When we arrived, the clerk seemed surprised to see us. After asking to see my reservation, he spent several minutes looking through the phone book and placing calls. When we asked what was going on, he said the hotel was full. He gave us directions to a different hotel, then practically shoved us out the door with no explanation as to why they did not honor our reservation. The hotel he sent us to was expensive and dirty, and Arnanes Guesthouse made no effort to compensate our stay. I highly recommend other travelers avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank ensaimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

One of the best guesthouses we found in Iceland.
Sleeping bag accommodation is provided in the basement (so we would suggest to avoid it), there are cottages and four rooms in the main house.
We stayed in a double in the main house: the room was very large, clean, with a view from the balcony (shared between 2 rooms). If you are lucky enough, you can have a great view over glaciers, otherwise you see the countryside and the town in distance.
There are two bathrooms shared between the four rooms, they are as well very clean.
Breakfast is one of the best we had in Iceland.
There is no kitchen to self cater your dinner, but Hofn is very close and there are a couple of good restaurants there, or you can also have dinner in the Guesthouse (we didn't try it, so can't tell anything about it)

Overall a stop we would definitely recommend, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianmaria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The host is really wonderful. Although the basement rooms dont seem appealing at first, they are dark at night - a rare luxury during icelandic summers!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annelev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

This is a very nice guesthouse in a beautiful countryside setting that is close to Hofn's restaurants but still feels rural. It is pricey for what it is, but that seems to be the case for much of Iceland's accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tin_man_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Really nice rural setting with a sheepdog that always sits at the front door ignoring everybody, and a great big giant of a man who owns the place welcoming everybody.
Our room had a great view of the town in the distance in one direction and the edge if the glacier in the other direction.

The room was nice and had a TV (still quite a luxury for an Icelandic hotel) which had BBC1, BBC2 and ITV.

There's a fairly expensive dinner buffet in the evening, and a standard buffet breakfast.

It was a really good place, but by far the most expensive place we stayed in Iceland

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews