We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Iceland”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hofn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hofn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Iceland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Hotel Hofn was definitely one of the nicer places we stayed during our weeklong trip around Iceland. Staff was courteous, hotel was very clean, rooms were a good size and we had a great view of the glaciers. Beds were comfortable and linens were clean. Bathroom was also clean although slightly on the small side. Seemed like a quiet hotel and had some decent places to hang out (lobby or tv room) in case you don't want to sit in your room all night. We didn't visit the bar as it wasn't open. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel and had a nice dinner. We both had a lobster dish which were decent size and good quality. Room and dinner were a little pricey but such is the case in Iceland. Only downfall was that it wasn't exactly within walking distance to anything of interest. Overall a great stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    172
    150
    40
    11
See reviews for
91
238
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for 1 night, July 29th.

It claims to be 4 stars but don't read too much into it. It's average by the level of all amenities + it has no elevator, although having only 3 floors and actual bath tubs (instead of usual showers only) does make up for it.

The location is perfect, the breakfast is filling, the stuff is friendly, the rooms are clean, simple but elegant. What else one could ask for? We were happy to spend there a night / morning and relax after the day of driving around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We booked this Hotel based on the other reviews here & found them to be accurate. Great location, lovely view of the glacier & friendly staff. Breakfast seemed better than average selection. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westerndh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, ND
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel is certainly not bad. However, given that it was the most expensive hotel on our entire trip through Iceland, I cannot give it too high of marks. Nice location and views of the surrounding landscape.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

A lovely hotel that is easy to find which offers spectacular views of the glaciers.

The area is really quiet and extremely relaxing.

The hotel owners are lovely, they knew that I was interested in the nortern lights and therefore called at 22:30 to inform me that the lights were starting and will be visable in 30 mins which was a lovely touch.

I ended up extending my stay for an additional night (primarily to blizzards furhter north), but i had no hesitation in staying another night.

The rooms are basic but very modern and very comfortable. I was lucky enough to have an amazing view of the glaciers so could watch them from the comfort of my room! In addition to that the hotel offers free wifi which is great to check aurora predictions (the site which the owner provided to me on check in)!

The hotel has a restaurant attached to it with food suitable to fill you up. I wouldnt call it gourmet food, but good enough to fill you up.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleme_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night after a long drive from Kef Airport, and we were impressed. The room was very pretty - beautiful wooden floors, a large shower, and a very comfortable bed. We went to bed pretty early only to be woken at 10:30 by the front desk, who just wanted to let us know that the Northern Lights were viewable. We thought this was so kind of them to do, as they could tell we were travelers looking for interesting things. During dinner at the in-hotel restaurant, the waitstaff was kind enough to mark on a map where we might find a car repair center. I slept 12 hours there, partly because I was so tired, and partly because I was so comfortable and cozy warm! Thanks for a great first night in Iceland!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alihanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

We booked the Aurora Adventure from the Icelandic Air website. This package included two nights at the Hotel Hofn (say "Hup" while you inhale). They guided us both evenings to the best spots to view the Northern Lights. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed; even made us tea a 2 AM after our Aurora viewing. They booked a rental car for us and arranged for the local museum to open one afternoon. It is a very clean hotel with a plentiful breakfast. Some of the rooms are small, but we had a beautiful view of the glacier. For dinner the lobster soup is a must! They also had wireless internet access at no additional charge!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
7.0 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
3.2 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
15.4 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Guesthouse Dyngja
Guesthouse Dyngja
#3 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apotek Guesthouse
Apotek Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofn

Property: Hotel Hofn
Address: Vikurbraut | Hornafjorour, Hofn 780, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in south-eastern Iceland, in the coastal town of Höfn, this hotel offers local cuisine and modern en-suite rooms with a flat-screen TV. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi and free private parking. All of Hotel Höfn’s guest rooms feature a work desk and cable TV access, and some also include a tea/coffee maker. Guests can enjoy glacier and sea views from most rooms. Höfn Hotel’s restaurant serves lobster and other specialities from the surrounding area. During nice weather guests can dine on the furnished terrace. The hotel is within 10 minutes’ walk of Höfn Harbour and Silfurnes Golf Club, while the Jökulsarlón glacier lagoon is less than 1 hours' drive away. Staff can help organise hiking trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hofn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofn Hotel höfn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing